Institute of Social and Cultural Anthropology

Anthropology of Emotion

AddressThielallee 52
14195 Berlin
Telephone+49 (0)30 838 57847
DirectorProf. Dr. Birgitt Röttger-Rössler

About the research area

In recent years, the study of human emotion has become a subject of growing interest across diverse academic disciplines spanning the humanities and the natural and social sciences. Increasingly it is establishing itself as an important field of interdisciplinary inquiry, a fact reflected in the work of the DFG-funded Cluster of Excellence “Languages of Emotion” (LoE) at the Freie Universität Berlin.


The task of social and cultural anthropology within this broad interdisciplinary venture consists in investigating the culturally specific aspects of emotional behavior, centering on the fundamental question of the relationship between emotion and culture—the question, in other words, of the degree to which emotions are shaped by cultural and social factors. This entails a focus on the rich cultural multiplicity of emotional rules and semantics, which can be analyzed on the levels of language, performance or media, and illuminated through both inter- and intra-cultural comparison.



A special emphasis, particularly within psychological anthropology, is placed on the relationship between culture, emotion and the psyche. At issue are the ways in which psychological health and illness are constructed in various social and cultural contexts, as well as their correlation with specific models of emotional competence. A further focus consists in analyzing, from a firm social-theoretical perspective, the affective dynamics of social and political movements, in an effort to gain insight into the role emotions can play in processes of social disintegration and cohesion.


The activities of this research area currently center on the following topics:

  1. Emotion and socialization
  2. Emotion and migration
  3. Emotion, politics and memory
  4. Emotion in the context of social and ethnic marginalization.

Institut für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie

AdresseLandoltweg 9-11
14195 Berlin
Prof. Dr. Birgitt Röttger-Rössler
Telefon(030) 838 57847
E-Mailbirgitt.roettger-roessler@fu-berlin.de

Über die Arbeitsstelle

Die Erforschung der menschlichen Emotionalität ist in der jüngeren Vergangenheit in den Interessefokus einer Vielzahl geistes-, natur- und soziawissenschaftlicher Fächer gerückt und beginnt sich zunehmend als ein bedeutendes transdisziplinäres Forschungsfeld zu etablieren. Dies spiegelte sich vor allem auch in der Einrichtung des Exzellenzclusters »Languages of Emotion« (LoE) an der Freien Universität Berlin wieder. 

Die Aufgabe der Ethnologie innerhalb der fächerübergreifenden Emotionsforschung besteht in der Untersuchung der kulturspezifischen Besonderheiten emotionalen Verhaltens. Im Mittelpunkt steht die anthropologische Grundfrage nach dem Verhältnis von Emotion und Kultur. Es geht also um die Frage, ob und inwieweit Emotionen durch kulturelle und soziale Faktoren modelliert werden. Das Fachinteresse konzentriert sich in erster Linie auf die Vielgestaltigkeit kultureller Gefühlssemantiken und -regeln, die sowohl auf der sprachlichen und performativen als auch auf der medialen Ebene analysiert werden, wobei inter- sowie intra-kulturellen Vergleichen eine wichtige Rolle zukommt.

Ein besonderer Akzent – vor allem der psychologisch orientierten Ethnologie – liegt auf dem Zusammenhang zwischen Kultur, Emotion und Psyche. Diese Richtung fragt danach, wie in unterschiedlichen kulturellen und sozialen Kontexten psychische Gesundheit und Krankheit konstruiert und mit welchen Modellen emotionaler Kompetenz/Inkompetenz sie korreliert werden. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt fokussiert – aus einer stärker sozialtheoretischen Perspektive heraus – die affektiven Dynamiken in sozialen und politischen Bewegungen mit dem Ziel, Einblick in die Rolle von Emotionen in sozialen Desintegrations- und Kohäsionsprozessen zu erhalten.

Die Forschungsaktivitäten der Arbeitsstelle konzentrieren sich momentan primär auf die vier folgenden Bereiche:

  1. Emotion und Sozialisation
  2. Emotion und Migration
  3. Emotion, Politik und Erinnerung
  4. Emotion im Kontext sozialer und ethnischer Marginalitäten