INitiate VOLunteerism to counter VulnErability (INVOLVE)

Subproject: „Transdisciplinary integrative Evaluation of Vulnerability, Resilience, and Volunteerism at the Milieu-level“ (TIV-MILIEU)


Disaster Research Unit (DRU)

Branch office of the Institute of Social and Cultural Anthropology



Financial support:

BMBF (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung / Federal Ministry of Education and Research)

Grant ID: 13N13027

Partners in cooperation:

Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena (FSU)

Deutsches Rotes Kreuz (DRK)

Indian Institute of Science (IISc)

Institute of Directors (IOD)

Institute for Social and Economic Change (ISEC)

Directorate of Fire & Emergency Services, Home Guards, Civil Defence (FES, HG, CD)

Indian Red Cross Society (IRCS)


Jan 01, 2015 — Dec 31, 2017

Engaging volunteers in aid work is an unavoidable and existentially important component of disaster aid and recuperation. In spite of this paramount importance, scarcely any attention has been given to the idea that volunteerism is an independent and influential factor in vulnerability and resilience to extreme situations. At the same time, the knowledge of the dangers from, and the possibility of being affected by, disaster is an essential motivation for the involvement of potential volunteer helpers. As a result, the overarching goal of the group project INVOLVE is to investigate vulnerability and volunteerism in an integrated research design covering multiple cross-cultural perspectives. The research conclusively aims to strengthen various form of civil engagement, to reduce vulnerability, and to boost resilience.

In the sub-project TIV-MILIEU, the Disaster Research Unit (DRU) is developing an integrated and transdisciplinary conceptual framework for evaluating the vulnerability and resilience to extreme events. Hereby, the project also recognizes and highlights the connection between vulnerability/resilience and civil engagement, with the intention of supporting volunteer engagement in a more concise manner. By analyzing the two core concepts behind this constellation of vulnerability/resilience and volunteerism, namely that of “suffering” and “helping,” the project aims to build a social scientific reference portfolio an approach will be developed. This approach will be developed for and applied to three socio-spatial entities, being: mega-regional space, city space, and rural space. The findings of said investigation aim to serve as aid in the development, evaluation, and betterment of strategies and training for key actors in disaster management.

The following goals are being pursued as per the sub-project’s framework:

  1. The initiation of intercultural learning processes between India and Germany so as to acquire a greater and deeper understanding of vulnerability and resilience
  2. The bringing of relevant stakeholders, and above all the civil population, into the research process so as their needs and specific forms of knowledge are taken account of. Likewise the project aims to facilitate the creation of a public conscience, as well as guarantee the realization, the practical-capability, and the lasting effectivity of the strategies and solutions developed.
  3. The development of an understanding of the formational processes and (re)production conditions within the specific social context on the milieu-level, in which said understanding is seen as the first essential step in being able to reduce the susceptibility to damaging effects through the utilization of customized, sustainable, effective solutions.
  4. The identification of resilience strengthening factors (both for adaptation and recuperation capacities) within various milieus as well as the identification of factors which contribute to a boosting the motivation for volunteer engagement.
  5. The identification of regional differences between the various research areas: mega-regional space, city space, rural space.
  6. The problem-specific improvement of training concepts and forms from the end users (especially the German Red Cross) with a special focus on the needs the actors and those affected.

INitiate VOLunteerism to counter VulnErability (INVOLVE)

Teilprojekt: „Transdisziplinäre Integrative Vulnerabilitäts- und Resilienzbewertung und freiwilliges Engagement auf Milieuebene“ (TIV-MILIEU)

Institution:

Katastrophenforschungsstelle (KFS)

Außenstelle des Instituts für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie

Leitung:

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Förderung:

BMBF (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung)

Förderkennzeichen: 13N13027

Kooperationspartner:

Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena (FSU)

Deutsches Rotes Kreuz (DRK)

Indian Institute of Science (IISc)

Institute of Directors (IOD)

Institute for Social and Economic Change (ISEC)

Directorate of Fire & Emergency Services, Home Guards, Civil Defence (FES, HG, CD)

Indian Red Cross Society (IRCS)

Projektlaufzeit:

01.01.2015 — 31.12.2017

Homepage:

Das Engagement freiwilliger HelferInnen stellt einen unverzichtbaren Bestandteil der Vorsorge und Bewältigung von Katastrophen dar. Dennoch wird freiwilliges Engagement bisher kaum als eigenständiger Einflussfaktor von Vulnerabilität und Resilienz gegenüber Extremereignissen betrachtet. Gleichzeitig ist das Wissen um die Gefährdungen und mögliche Betroffenheiten wesentlich für die Motivation und Einbindung potentieller HelferInnen. Übergeordnetes Ziel des Verbundprojektes INVOLVE ist es daher, Vulnerabilität und freiwilliges Engagement in einem integrierten Forschungsvorhaben und in kulturvergleichender Perspektive zu untersuchen. Die Forschungsarbeiten zielen darauf ab, verschiedene Formen zivilen Engagements zu stärken, um Vulnerabilität zu reduzieren und Resilienz zu steigern.

Im Teilvorhaben TIV-MILIEU entwickelt die Katastrophenforschungsstelle ein integratives und transdisziplinäres Rahmenkonzept zur Bewertung von Vulnerabilität und Resilienz gegenüber Extremereignissen, das die Verbindung von Vulnerabilität/Resilienz und zivilem Engagement aufzeigt und berücksichtigt, um freiwilliges Engagement gezielt unterstützen zu können. Die Analyse der dahinterliegenden Konzepte „Leid“ und „Helfen“ dient als sozialwissenschaftliche Referenzfolie. Die Entwicklung und Anwendung des Ansatzes erfolgt für die drei sozialräumlichen Einheiten großstädtischer Ballungsraum, städtischer Raum und ländlicher Raum. Die darüber gewonnen Erkenntnisse dienen der Entwicklung, Evaluierung und Verbesserung von Strategien und Trainings für Endanwender im Bereich des Katastrophenmanagments.

 

Im Rahmen des Teilprojektes werden dabei v.a. folgende Ziele verfolgt:

  1. Initiierung interkultureller Lernprozesse zwischen Indien und Deutschland, um ein vertieftes Verständnis von Vulnerabilität und Resilienz zu erlangen
  2. Einbeziehung relevanter Stakeholder, v.a. der Bevölkerung, in den Forschungsprozess, um deren Bedürfnisse und spezifische Wissensformen zu berücksichtigen, Bewusstsein zu schaffen und die Umsetzung, Praxistauglichkeit und nachhaltige Wirksamkeit der zu entwickelnden Strategien und Lösungsansätze sicherzustellen
  3. Verständnis der Entstehungsprozesse und (Re-)Produktionsbedingungen von Vulnerabilität innerhalb des spezifischen sozialen Kontextes auf Milieuebene als ein erster essentieller Schritt, um die Anfälligkeit gegenüber schädlichen Auswirkungen mit passgenauen und damit nachhaltig wirksamen Lösungen reduzieren zu können
  4. Identifizierung von Faktoren, die die Resilienz (Anpassungs- und Bewältigungskapazitäten) innerhalb verschiedener Milieus stärken und zur Steigerung der Motivation für freiwilliges Engagements beitragen
  5. Identifikation regionaler Unterschiede zwischen den Untersuchungsgebieten großstädtischer Ballungsraum, städtischer Raum, ländlicher Raum
  6. Problemspezifische Verbesserung der Trainingskonzepte und -formen von Endnutzern (besonders DRK) mit besonderem Fokus auf die Bedürfnisse der Betroffenen und Akteure