Managerial opportunities for a future capable and efficient Civil Protection Service in Schleswig-Holstein given the possibilities of volunteerism as well as changing social and economic circumstances



Disaster Research Unit (DRU)

Branch office of the Institute of Social and Cultural Anthropology


Financial support:

Ministerium für Inneres und Bundesangelegenheiten Schleswig-Holstein / The Ministry of Interior of the Land Schleswig-Holstein


Forschungsforum Öffentliche Sicherheit (FÖS) / Research Forum on Public Safety and Security


Jun 01, 2014 — Jan 01, 2015

  • How can the Civil Protection Service of Schleswig-Holstein be maintained in the face of transforming societal and financial conditions as well as an ever changing threat level from disasters?

  • How must the Civil Protection Service in Schleswig-Holstein be structured in the future so as to deal with these changes

    The organizational study “Steuerungsmöglichkeiten für einen zukunfts- und leistungsfähigen Katastrophenschutzdienst in Schleswig-Holstein unter den Gesichtspunkten der Ehrenamtlichkeit sowie veränderter gesellschaftlicher und wirtschaftlicher Rahmenbedingungen / Managerial opportunities for a future capable, and efficient Civil Protection Service (CPS) in Schleswig-Holstein given the opportunities provided by Volunteerism as well as changing social and economic circumstances” analyzes, specifies, and tests the feasibility of the possibilities for restructuring the Civil Protection Service in Schleswig Holstein. Due to the unique challenges (changing threat levels, changing divergent expectations, scarce resources for personnel and budget, restructuring throughout the entire Disaster Management and Civil Protection sector, changes in volunteer work, demographics, etc…) Civil Protection in it itself faces the question as to how it should be postured toward the future in order to meet the expected challenges and changes head on.

    As the northernmost Federal State “between the seas,” Schleswig-Holstein is affected from the aforementioned general changes in a specific manner (for example in terms of coastal management, the reality of an aging population, tourism, etc…), and as such requires specific answers for its local needs. These answers need also deliver and take into account the legally obligated goals, the expectations of optimal resource allocation, as well as achieve greater efficiency and budget-savings for the CPS. A special challenge in this will be to adequately account for secondary effects: the modern Civil Protection Service in its current form provides invaluable contributions to its sponsoring organizations (the fire department (Feuerwehr), German Red Cross (DRK), Johanniter, Malteser, DLRG, THW, ASB, Bundeswehr), for example in the aspect of social cohesion. Therefore, investments in the Civil Protection Service – be it in the form of financial capital, or in the form of something such as professional or volunteer work – have a value well beyond that which is first visible through looking at its primary functions. A further challenge also exists as a result of the fact that the CPS must contend with far reaching, unspecific, and heterogeneous expectations, whilst the actors in the Civil Protection sector lack clear safety objectives.

    The goal of the study is then to reveal potential room for action, strategies for solutions, and to develop concrete measures which would be able to provide for and maintain a capable Civil Protection Service in Schleswig-Holstein in light of the existing and future challenges. Based on the fact that safety objectives and performance requirements to date have been unspecific and need be substantiated, as well as the need to clarify the scope of responsibilities for Civil Protection, the study aims to analyze various structural changes (for example, the reality of an aging population, the changes in general in the Civil Protection sector, the altered willingness to enter volunteer positions, the abolishment of compulsory community service, civil-military cooperation, etc…) and to identify new approaches to solutions (for example, awarding contracts for various tasks to commercial service providers, public private partnerships (PPPs), the development of communication strategies in order to better inform / present the various services as provided by the Civil Protection service, etc…). Likewise the study aims to strengthen the synergies beyond the present organizational and managerial borders and to identify the portability and potential for learning of said changes for other sectors. Lastly, the study will take into account the various sponsoring organizations of the Civil Protection Service, as well as the various forms of volunteer work (honorary office, untethered and Ad-hoc aides, neighborly help, volunteer services, etc…).

    Together with sector-relevant and local experts from politics or praxis involved with civil protection, as well as through the use of scientifically proven methods (literature study, expert interviews, workshops, scenario planning), the study will implement a process (a so called “co-design process”) in which the pre-existing conditions are defined, the room for action is determined, and strategies for solutions are developed. The prepared results of this process, as gathered the applicant, will then be evaluated in terms of feasibility and effectivity within the framework of an “expert workshop.” The results of this will then demonstrated and appraised through the presentation of three possible future scenarios of the CPS and their respective possible outcomes. In addition to generating concrete options for future action, the study aims to generate oreintational knowledge which would simplify and aid future discussion as to the direction of the Civil Protection Service.

The aspired goals of the study are:

  1. An analysis of the current international and national state of research und publication whilst taking into account the lawful obligations and the federal integration of the Civil Protection Service in Schleswig-Holstein. This will likewise consider the organizational structure, the financial backing, and existing provisions for the various topic fields available to the CPS

1.1.      Risks and dangers as presented by the 21st century

1.2.      Safety goals and performance requirements of the CPS

1.3.      A self-help capability and self-reliance capacity of the populace

1.4.      An increased perception of the Civil Protection Service from the populace of Schleswig-Holstein

1.5.      New forms of and developments for both professional and volunteer work

1.6.      A comparison with reform approaches enacted and developed internationally as well as within Germany (for example the Austrian Strategy 2020)

1.7.      Cooperation with commercial service providers (PPP)

1.8.      Cooperation beyond federal and state borders

  1. Baseline Study of the current situation of sponsoring organizations

  2. A listing and prioritization of existing problems from the perspective of sponsoring organizations with special attention given to the 8 topics listed above

  3. Suggestions for solutions from the perspective of the sponsoring organizations

  4. Collate the results of the “expert workshops” with the experts from the various sponsoring organizations

  5. Development of a catalogue of various provisional measures aimed at optimizing the CPS, a rubric for evaluation, and recommendations on the basis of the analysis and expert interviews

  6. Present three scenarios for the potential future development of the CPS in Schleswig-Holstein until 2030 under the assumption that the developed measures for optimization and change have been enacted

Steuerungsmöglichkeiten für einen zukunfts- und leistungsfähigen Katastrophenschutzdienst in Schleswig-Holstein unter den Gesichtspunkten der Ehrenamtlichkeit sowie veränderter gesellschaftlicher und wirtschaftlicher Rahmenbedingungen

(OrgaStudieSH)

Institution:

Katastrophenforschungsstelle (KFS)

Außenstelle des Instituts für Ethnologie

Leitung:

Förderung:

Ministerium für Inneres und Bundesangelegenheiten Schleswig-Holstein

KooperationspartnerInnen:

Forschungsforum Öffentliche Sicherheit (FÖS)

Projektlaufzeit:

01.06.2014 — 01.01.2015

  • Wie kann der Katastrophenschutz in Schleswig-Holstein angesichts sich wandelnder gesellschaftlicher und finanzieller Rahmenbedingungen sowie sich verändernden Bedrohungslagen aufrechterhalten werden?
  • Wie muss der Katastrophenschutz in Schleswig-Holstein künftig strukturiert sein, um diesen Veränderungen gerecht zu werden?

In der Organisationsstudie „Steuerungsmöglichkeiten für einen zukunfts- und leistungs­fähigen Katastrophenschutzdienst in Schleswig-Holstein unter den Gesichtspunkten der Ehrenamtlichkeit sowie veränderter gesellschaftlicher und wirtschaftlicher Rahmen­bedingungen“ werden Möglichkeiten zur Restrukturierung des Katastrophenschutzes in Schleswig-Holstein analysiert, spezifiziert und auf ihre Anwendbarkeit geprüft. Angesichts ver­änderter Problemlagen (veränderte Bedrohungslagen und veränderte divergente Erwartungen, knappe Haushalts­mit­tel und Perso­nalressourcen, Umstrukturierungen im Bereich des ergänzen­den Katastrophen­schutzes und im Zivilschutz, Veränderungen im ehrenamtlichen Engage­ment, Demographie etc.) steht der Katastrophenschutz im Allgemeinen vor der Frage, wie er in Zukunft aufgestellt sein muss, um den an ihn gerichteten Erwartungen gerecht zu werden.

Das nördlichste Bundesland „zwischen den Meeren“ ist von diesen allgemeinen Veränderungen in spezifischer Weise betroffen (z. B. im Bereich des Küstenschutzes, Überalterung, dem Tourismus usw.) und so sind auch lokalspezifische Antworten zu finden, mittels derer sich unter Berücksichtigung rechtlicher Zielsetzungen und legitimer Erwartungen eine optimale Ressourcenallokation und darüber Effizienzsteigerungen oder Einsparungen erreichen lassen. Eine besondere Herausforderung besteht dabei darin, Sekundäreffekte adäquat zu berücksichtigen, denn der Katastrophenschutz leistet in seiner gegenwärtigen Konzeption über seine Trägerorganisationen (Feuerwehr, DRK, Johanniter, Malteser, DLRG, THW, ASB, Bundeswehr) hintergründig äußerst wertvolle Beiträge etwa in Bezug auf den sozialen Zusammenhalt der Gesellschaft. Investitionen in den Katastrophenschutz – in Form von Finanzmitteln, aber auch in Form von Zeit im Rahmen des professionellen und freiwilligen Engagements – haben also einen weit über die Primärfunktionen des Katastrophenschutzes hinausgehenden Wert. Eine weitere besondere Herausforderung ergibt sich daraus, dass an den Katastrophenschutz weitgehend unspezifische und sehr heterogene Erwartungen gerichtet werden, während den im Bereich des Katastrophenschutzes engagierten Akteuren klare Schutzziele fehlen.

Das Ziel der Studie ist es, potentielle Handlungsfelder aufzudecken sowie Lösungs­stra­tegien und konkrete Maßnahmen zu erarbeiten, welche unter bestehenden und zukünftigen Herausforderungen einen handlungsfähigen Katastrophenschutz in Schleswig-Holstein gewährleisten können. Ausgehend von bislang wenig spezifizierten, also zukünftig weiter zu konkretisierenden Schutzzielen und Leistungsanforderungen und der Klärung von Aufgabenbereichen sind strukturelle Änderungen zu analysieren (z.B. Überalterung, Änderungen im Katastrophenschutzdienst, veränderte Bindungsbereitschaften im freiwilligen Engagement, Abschaffung des Zivildienstes, zivil-militärische Zusammenarbeit, etc.) und neue Lösungswege aufzuzeigen (z.B. die Vergabe von Aufgaben an kommerzielle Dienstleister, Private Public Partnerships, Entwicklung von Kommuni­kationsstrategien zur Darstellung der Leistungen des Katastrophenschutzes etc.), Synergien über Organisationen und Verwaltungsgrenzen hinweg zu stärken und Übertrag­barkeiten sowie Lernpotentiale zu identifizieren. Als tragende Säule des Katastro­phen­schutzes müssen dabei die Trägerorganisationen des Katastrophenschutzes sowie unterschiedliche Formen freiwilligen Engagements (Ehrenamt, ungebundene und Ad-hoc-Helfer, Nachbarschaftshilfe, Freiwilligendienste, etc.) in besonderer Weise berücksichtigt werden.

Mittels wissenschaftlich erprobter Methoden (Literaturstudium, Experteninterviews, Workshops, Szenariotechnik) werden gemeinsam mit sektoralen und lokalen Experten des Katastrophen­schutzes aus Politik und Praxis in einem strukturierten Verfahren (als sog. „Co-design-Verfahren“) die Ausgangsbedingungen definiert, Handlungsfelder erfasst und Lösungsstrategien erarbeitet. Die von Seiten der Antragsteller dann aufbereiteten Ergebnisse werden von den Experten im Rahmen eines Fachworkshops nochmals hinsichtlich der Realisierbarkeit und Effektivität für den Katas­trophen­­schutz bewertet und in drei Zukunftsszenarien hinsichtlich möglicher Auswirkungen veranschaulicht. Neben konkreten Handlungsoptionen generiert die Studie somit auch Orientierungswissen, das die weitere Diskussion über die Ausrichtung des Katastrophenschutzes erleichtert.

Angestrebte Ziele

  1. Analyse aktueller internationaler und nationaler Forschungsvorhaben und Veröffentlichungen unter Berücksichtigung rechtlicher Rahmenbedingungen, der föderalistischen Einbindung, des Katastrophenschutzes in Schleswig-Holstein, seiner Organisationsstruktur und der Finanzierung und Ausstattung zu den Themen

1.1.       Risiken und Gefahren im 21. Jahrhundert

1.2.       Schutzziele und Leistungsanforderungen an den Katastrophenschutz

1.3.       Selbstschutz und Selbsthilfefähigkeit der Bevölkerung

1.4.       Wahrnehmung des Katastrophenschutzes vonseiten der Bevölkerung

1.5.       Formen und Entwicklungen im professionellen und freiwilligen Engagement

1.6.       Vergleich von Reformansätzen im Katastrophenschutz bundesweit und international (bspw. Österreichische Strategie 2020)

1.7.       Kooperationen mit kommerziellen Dienstleistern (PPP)

1.8.       Kooperationen über Landes- und Bundesgrenzen hinaus

  1. Bestandsaufnahme der Situation der Trägerorganisationen
  2. Auflistung und Priorisierung bestehender Problemfelder aus Sicht der Trägerorganisationen unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der acht oben genannten Themen
  3. Lösungsvorschläge aus Sicht der Trägerorganisationen
  4. Ergebnisse des durchgeführten Fachworkshops mit Experten der Trägerorganisationen
  5. Maßnahmenkatalog auf Basis der Analysen und Experteninterviews zur Optimierung des Katastrophenschutzes mit Bewertungsraster und darüber hinaus­gehen­de Empfehlungen
  6. Drei Szenarien zu zukünftigen Entwicklungen des Katastrophenschutzes in Schleswig-Holstein bis 2030 unter Annahme der Realisierung der erarbeiteten Maßnahmen