Soft Parts – Social Determinants of Security and Safety at Airports (project completed)

Subproject: Training and learning within “high-reliability organizations” (HRO), networks and critical infrastructures

Institution:

Disaster Research Unit (DRU)

Branch office of the Institute of Social and Cultural Anthropology

Director:

Staff:

Financial support:

BMBF (Federal Ministry of Education and Research)

Project number: 13N12669

Consortium:

FU Berlin – Disaster Research Unit (Coordination)

University of Potsdam – Faculty of Economic and Social Sciences

Technical University Berlin - Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics (ILR)

Term:

Jun 01, 2013 — May 31, 2016

Homepage:

Airports manifest themselves as relevant hubs for international flows of people and goods, which is to say, as critical infrastructures. Disruptions of whichever kind can result in global effects and repercussions, necessitating an extraordinary level of security. This security can, however, only be produced locally through a complex array of social and technical subsystems.

Within security research and current concepts of security, social factors have so far only played a negligible role; the focus usually lies on technical and logistical systems and formal laws and regulations. Their efficacy however is critically dependent on which informal structures of communication, cooperation and coordination develop informally in addition to such formal structures, e.g.:

  1. Which relations of trust or mistrust develop between the actors involved
  2. How accepted regulations, technologies, and processes are by security personnel as well as customers
  3. How motivated the security personnel operates, in consideration of working conditions, legal and formal frameworks, and latent or open conflicts
   
Airfield of the airport Hannover-Langenhagen (l.) and airport survey at Berlin Tegel (r.).
Source: DRU

The production of security – and therefore the level of security – is therefore based mostly on factors that result out of the social interaction of all those involved in the production process. This interaction occurs on the level of organizations at the airport as well as on the level of individual staff, and their contact to those being controlled, i.e. the passengers as well as persons working at airports and external companies.

At the center of this research is the education and further training of the security staff. Our project is based on the assumption that the local security regime of German airports has changed as markedly as the global security regime has.

The focus of our research lies on communication and learning processes at airports as “High Reliability Organizations” (HROs). Both work motivation and the acceptance of regulations, as two key conditions of successful communication and learning, are elucidated from the perspective of ergonomics (in the wider sense).

http://www.polsoz.fu-berlin.de/ethnologie/forschung/arbeitsstellen/katastrophenforschung/forschung/forschungsprojekte/softparts/bild_safety_port_plakat/safety_port_plakat_354.jpg    http://www.polsoz.fu-berlin.de/ethnologie/forschung/arbeitsstellen/katastrophenforschung/forschung/forschungsprojekte/softparts/bild_kontrollstelle_hamburg/kontrollstelle_hamburg_354.jpg
Safety notes (left) and control station (right) at the airport. Source: DRU

The research is divided into eight work packages, with the DRU working on packages four through six. As part of WP 4, an analysis of the currently existing education and training concepts was carried out, researching which assumptions of reality underlie them implicitly or explicitly. Afterwards, two quantitative surveys (WP 5 and 6) were designed and undertaken to ascertain the real social causes of the production of safety and security at the airport. The results from WPs 4, 5 and 6, in tandem with the working projects 1, 2, 3 and 7 – undertaken by research partners – form the empirical foundation for the manual produced as part of WP 8. The manual is designed to improve concepts for education and training, as well as aid in improving communications within the network of security production at the airport.

Links (in German):

Security Research Program

Downloads (in German):

Flyer Soft Parts

Soziale Bestimmungsgründe der Sicherheit am Flughafen (Soft Parts)

Teilprojekt: Training und Lernen in „High-Reliability Organisationen“ (HRO), Netzwerken und kritischen Infrastrukturen

Institution:

Katastrophenforschungsstelle (KFS)

Außenstelle des Instituts für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie

Leitung:

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Förderung:

BMBF (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung)

Förderkennzeichen: 13N12669

Konsortium:

Freie Universität Berlin - Katastrophenfoschungsstelle (Projektkoordination)

Universität Potsdam - Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftliche Fakultät

Technische Universität Berlin - Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrt

Projektlaufzeit:

01.06.2013 — 31.05.2016

Flughäfen manifestieren sich als systemrelevante Knotenpunkte der internationalen Personen- und Warenströme und damit als kritische Infrastrukturen. Störungen, gleich welcher Art, können erhebliche globale Auswirkungen nach sich ziehen, weshalb es eines besonders hohen Sicherheitsniveaus bedarf. Dieses lässt sich jedoch fast ausschließlich lokal im komplexen Zusammenspiel von sozialen und technischen Teilsystemen produzieren.
In der Sicherheitsforschung und in aktuellen Sicherheitskonzepten spielen soziale Faktoren bisher nur eine untergeordnete Rolle. Im Zentrum stehen meist technische und logistische Systeme sowie formale, rechtliche Regelungen. Deren Wirksamkeit ist aber entscheidend davon abhängig, welche informellen Strukturen der Kommunikation, Kooperation und Koordination sich ergänzend oder jenseits der formalen entwickeln,

  1. welche Vertrauens- oder Misstrauensverhältnisse sich innerhalb und zwischen beteiligten Akteuren aufbauen,
  2. wie gut die Regelungen, Technologien und Prozesse von Sicherheitspersonal und Kunden akzeptiert sind und
  3. wie motiviert das Sicherheitspersonal vor dem Hintergrund seiner Arbeitsbedingungen, der rechtlichen und formalen Vorgaben, latenter und offener Konflikte letztlich tätig ist.
   
Flugfeld des Flughafens Hannover-Langenhagen (l.) und Flughafenbegehung in Berlin Tegel (r.).
Quelle: KFS

Die Produktion von Sicherheit und damit das Sicherheitsniveau basiert daher vorrangig auf Faktoren, die sich aus der sozialen Interaktion aller an diesem Produktionsprozess beteiligten Akteure ergeben. Diese Interaktion vollzieht sich sowohl auf der Ebene der Organisationen am Flughafen als auch auf Ebene der einzelnen Mitarbeiter und deren Kontakt zu den Kontrollnehmern, d. h. den Passagieren sowie den Mitarbeitern des Flughafens und externer Unternehmen.

Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei die Aus- und Weiterbildung des Sicherheitspersonals. Dabei gehen wir von der Annahme aus, dass insbesondere im Zuge des rapiden Wandels des globalen Sicherheitsregimes sich auch das lokale Sicherheitsregime an Flughäfen in Deutschland stark verändert hat.

Der Untersuchungsschwerpunkt des von der Katastrophenforschungsstelle bearbeiteten Teilprojektes liegt auf der Erforschung von Kommunikations- und Lernprozessen am Flughafen als einer „High Reliability Organization“ (HRO). Beleuchtet werden ebenso die Arbeitsmotivation und Vorschriftenakzeptanz - als wesentliche Voraussetzungen für gelingende Kommunikation und erfolgreiches Lernen - aus einer arbeitswissenschaftlichen Perspektive.

   
Sicherheitshinweise (l.) und Kontrollstelle (r.) im Hamburger Flughafen.
Quelle: KF

In den von der KFS bearbeiteten Arbeitspaketen findet zunächst (AP 4) eine Analyse der bestehenden Aus- und Weiterbildungskonzeptionen statt. Diese werden daraufhin überprüft, welche im- und explizit enthaltenen Realitätsannahmen darin enthalten sind. Anschließend werden in zwei quantitativen Befragungen (AP 5 & 6) die realen sozialen Bestimmungsgründe der Produktion von Sicherheit im Flughafen erhoben. Die Ergebnisse aus AP 4, 5 & 6 sowie der von den Forschungspartnern bearbeiteten APs 1, 2, 3 und 7 bilden die empirische Datengrundlage für das in AP 8 zu entwickelnde Manual zur Verbesserung der Aus- und Weiterbildungskonzeptionen sowie der Kommunikation im Netzwerk der Sicherheitsproduzenten an Flughäfen.

Links zum Thema:

Sicherheitsforschungsprogramm

Downloads:

Flyer Soft Parts