Flight 2.0: Digital Media Usage by Refugees

Flucht 2.0 Schlussbericht
Flight 2.0 final report

The research project "Flight 2.0" utilized a representative quantitative survey in refugee housing in Berlin in order to investigate the refugees’ use of mobile devices during the journey from their home countries to Germany. The object of scientific analysis was the refugees’ media usage not only during, but also before and after the flight.

Director:

Financial support:

Federal Foreign Office

Term:

Apr 01, 2016 — Dec 31, 2016

The so-called refugee crisis, which has dominated the media agenda more than any other issue since 2015, was from the very beginning characterized by the digital era: mobile telephones had developed into central tools of those seeking protection, and Wi-Fi hotspots had become as vital as waterholes. The mobile devices enabled access to information for planning the flight, directed the way to the destination country by means of applications such as the GPS, and made it possible for refugees to stay in touch with both those left behind, as well as with the ones who had already fled. Nevertheless, although digital wireless devices evidently played a major role, data on the communication and interaction patterns and their impact on refugee flows (apart from media reports and case studies) were hardly available.

Against this background, the research project "Flight 2.0" examined the refugees’ use of mobile devices on their journey from their home country to Germany using a representative quantitative survey of a total of 404 refugees. The asylum seekers, most of whom had come from Syria, Iraq and Central Asia (Afghanistan, Pakistan, Iran), were interviewed in April and May 2016 by native speakers in Berlin’s emergency refugee shelters. The standardized questionnaire included not only the use of media during, but also before and after the flight.

The results of the study reveal how the refugees use mobile devices as well as what sources of information they draw upon and trust. They also illuminate the pragmatic functions of smartphones in the context of the flight, such as the usage of the GPS or the possibility to obtain information on the Internet about Germany. Going beyond a descriptive record of communication patterns, the study also provides insights into the effects of the usage of information and communication technologies on the refugees’ attitudes and behaviors.

Flucht 2.0: Digitale Mediennutzung durch Flüchtlinge

Flucht 2.0 Schlussbericht
Flucht 2.0 Schlussbericht

Das Forschungsprojekt "Flucht 2.0" hat anhand einer repräsentativen quantitativen Befragung in Berliner Unterkünften die Nutzung mobiler Geräte von Flüchtlingen auf ihrem Weg von ihren Herkunftsländern nach Deutschland untersucht. Wissenschaftlich analysiert wurde dabei nicht nur die Mediennutzung der Flüchtlinge während, sondern auch vor und nach der Flucht.

Leitung:

Förderung:

Auswärtiges Amt

Projektlaufzeit:

01.04.2016 — 31.12.2016

Die sogenannte Flüchtlingskrise, die die Medienagenda seit 2015 wie kaum ein anderes Thema beherrscht, stand von Beginn an im Zeichen des digitalen Zeitalters: Mobiltelefone waren zu zentralen Werkzeugen der Schutzsuchenden geworden, WLAN-Hotspots so notwendig wie Wasserstellen. Die mobilen Geräte ermöglichten den Zugang zu Informationen für die Planung der Flucht, wiesen durch Applikationen wie GPS den Weg ins Zielland und ermöglichten es den Flüchtlingen mit Zurückgebliebenen wie Vorausgegangenen in Kontakt zu bleiben. Doch obwohl digitale mobile Geräte offensichtlich eine große Rolle spielten, lagen zu den Kommunikations- und Interaktionsmustern und deren Auswirkungen auf die Flüchtlingsströme (abgesehen von Medienberichten und Fallstudien) bislang kaum Daten vor.

Vor diesem Hintergrund hat das Forschungsprojekt "Flucht 2.0" anhand einer repräsentativen quantitativen Befragung von insgesamt 404 Flüchtlingen die Nutzung mobiler Geräte auf dem Weg vom Herkunftsland nach Deutschland untersucht. Die überwiegend aus Syrien, Irak und Zentralasien (Afghanistan, Pakistan, Iran) stammenden Geflüchteten wurden im April und Mai 2016 von muttersprachlichen Interviewern in Berliner Notunterkünften befragt. Dabei bezog sich der standardisierte Fragebogen nicht nur auf die Mediennutzung während, sondern auch vor und nach der Flucht.

Die Ergebnisse der Studie zeigen, wie Flüchtlinge mobile Geräte nutzen, auf welche Informationsquellen sie zurückgreifen und welchen sie Vertrauen schenken. Ebenso beleuchten sie die pragmatischen Funktionen von Smartphones im Fluchtkontext –beispielsweise die Nutzung von GPS oder die Möglichkeit sich im Internet über Deutschland zu informieren. Über eine deskriptive Erfassung von Kommunikationsmustern hinaus, liefert die Studie Erkenntnisse zu den Effekten der Nutzung von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien auf die Einstellungen und Handlungen von Flüchtlingen.