DFG-Project "Media Functions in Transition"

The DFG-sponsored project “Media Functions in Transition – model development through comparison of actor constellations and structural conditions in Eastern Europe in 1988/89 and North Africa in 2010/11.



Financial support:

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft


Jan 01, 2016 — Dec 31, 2018



The research project focuses on the beginning of the transformation processes in Eastern Europe in 1988/1989 and in North Africa in 2010/2011 and aims to investigate the role of media in breaking up the authoritarian political structures. The researchers presuppose that mass media can have a mobilizing effect on the transformation of political regimes. However, the existence of such an effect depends on specific structural conditions, actor constellations and certain “media logic” incorporated in the media system and the actors’ approaches.

Based on research on media and transformation, theories of public sphere and counter-public as well as on social movements, we build an innovative theoretical framework, combining system- and actor-centered approaches.

The aim of the project is two-fold:

1) to present a theory-based, empirical comparison of media functions that helped to form a counter-public in three transitional countries of Eastern Europe in 1988/ 1989 (Hungary, Poland, Romania) and North Africa 2010/2011 (Tunisia, Egypt, Libya) by taking into account structural conditions, actor constellations and media logics in each country

2) to build, inductively, a model of the effects of mass media in emerging political transformation processes using the results of the comparison.

The project systematically combines several methods in order to achieve these objectives. Following the literature review and document analysis from which we derive the structural conditions, we identify and classify the relevant actors by means of a content analysis. During the final stage of the empirical research, we will conduct expert interviews in which we will ask these actors about their motivation and media orientation. The field research will thus provide the material to substantiate the theoretical dimensions of the model empirically.

DFG-Projekt "Medienfunktionen in beginnenden Transformationsprozessen"

DFG-Projekt "Medienfunktionen in beginnenden Transformationsprozessen - Eine Modellbildung durch einen Vergleich von Akteurskonstellationen und Strukturbedingungen in Ländern Osteuropas 1989 und Nordafrikas 2011"

Leitung:

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Förderung:

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Projektlaufzeit:

01.01.2016 — 31.12.2018

Ansprechpartner:

Prof. Dr. Carola Richter

Telefon:

+49-30-838-58898

E-Mail:

Homepage:

Das Forschungsvorhaben nimmt den Beginn von Transformationsprozessen in Ländern Osteuropas 1988/1989 und Nordafrikas 2010/2011 in den Blick und fragt nach den spezifischen Funktionen der Medien während des Aufbrechens der autoritären Strukturen. Die theoriebasierte forschungsleitende Annahme ist, dass bei der Transformation politischer Regime von Medien ein mobilisierender Impuls ausgeht. Dieser mediale Impuls ist in seiner Ausprägung charakterisiert von spezifischen Strukturbedingungen und Akteurskonstellationen. Basierend auf Forschung zu Medien und Transformation, Theorien zu Öffentlichkeit und Gegenöffentlichkeit sowie Ansätzen aus der Forschung zu sozialen Bewegungen wird eine innovative Verbindung aus system- und akteurstheoretischen Ansätzen genutzt, um das Forschungsvorhaben theoretisch zu rahmen. Ziel ist es,

1) unter Berücksichtigung der Strukturbedingungen und Akteurskonstellationen einen theoriegeleiteten, empirischen Vergleich der Funktionen von Medien im Kontext der Formierung von Gegenöffentlichkeiten in je drei Transformationsländern Osteuropas in den Jahren 1988/1989 sowie Nordafrikas 2010/2011 vorzulegen, sowie

2) mittels der Ergebnisse induktiv ein Modell der Effekte von Medien in beginnenden politischen Transformationsprozessen erarbeitet.

Über die Abstraktion des Vergleichs der spezifischen massenmedialen Aktivitäten von beispielsweise religiösen Gruppen, Wissenschaftlern oder Umweltaktivisten in der jeweiligen Transformationssituation sollen die verallgemeinerbaren Muster sichtbar gemacht werden.Um die Ziele zu erreichen, bauen mehrere Methoden systematisch aufeinander auf: ausgehend von einer Literatur- und Dokumentenanalyse, aus denen die Strukturbedingungen abgeleitet werden, erfolgt eine Inhaltsanalyse, mit der die relevanten Akteure ermittelt und klassifiziert werden können, die dann nach ihren Orientierungshorizonten befragt werden. Die Feldforschung liefert so das Material, mit dem die verschiedenen Dimensionen des Modells empirisch unterfüttert werden können.