Citizens Online


Financial support:

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)


A range of projects funded by Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), in which Prof. Martin Emmer was significantly involved, provided the basis for the currently planned research within our division. In these projects - conducted between 2001 and 2010 - it has been explored, which impact the spread of the Internet has on political communication and participation behavior of German citizens. Extensive information about this research (list of publications about this project, presentations of the lectures, questionnaires used) can be found on the website of the project. In 2011, the results were summarized in the book "Citizens Online" („Bürger online”), published by the academic publishing house UVK.

The aim of the projects was to investigate how Germans use the potential of the Internet for political information, communication and participation. Research issues such as the impact of digital media on the former patterns of media usage and communication were pursued (e. g. the use of the Internet for gathering political information). Due to the longitudinal design of the research project, it could produce reliable data of the changes that occurred through the years. Moreover, the researchers of the projects gained insight into the causes and effects of these changes. In particular, the panel design distinguished the research findings of the project from all other sources of data on the use of digital media in Germany.

A representative sample of the German citizens (German speaking population from the age of 16) was interviewed in a standardized survey. For this purpose, in 2002 approx. 1.500 people were randomly selected. These individuals were interviewed on the phone annually (so-called “panel design“). To compensate for the so-called “panel mortality”, small new samples were created and added to the panel every year.

Bürger Online

PolOnKom_Buerger_Online
Buchcover

Leitung:

Förderung:

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Projektlaufzeit:

01.07.2001 — 30.06.2009

Homepage:

Ausgangspunkt der an der Arbeitsstelle derzeit geplanten Forschung bildet eine Reihe von DFG-Projekten, die zwischen 2001 und 2010 durchgeführt wurden und an denen Prof. Martin Emmer maßgeblich beteiligt war. Untersucht wurde in diesen Projekten, welchen Einfluss die Verbreitung des Internets auf das politische Kommunikations- und Partizipationsverhalten der Bürger in Deutschland hat. Umfangreiche Informationen zu dieser Forschung (Liste der Publikationen zum Projekt, Vortragspräsentationen, verwendete Fragebögen) finden sich auf der Projektwebsite. Die Ergebnisse wurden darüber hinaus kürzlich zusammengefasst im Buch "Bürger online" im UVK-Verlag veröffentlicht.

Im Projekt wurde untersucht, wie die Deutschen die Möglichkeiten des Internets für ihre politische Information, Kommunikation und Partizipation nutzen. Dabei ging es auch darum, welche Auswirkungen mögliche Veränderungen (z.B. die Nutzung des Internets zur politischen Informationssuche) auf die bisherigen Mediennutzungs- und Kommunikationsmuster haben. Durch die langfristige Beobachtung der individuellen Kommunikation konnten belastbare Aussagen über Veränderungen im Zeitverlauf sowie deren Ursachen und Wirkungen gemacht werden. Insbesondere das dafür eingesetzte Paneldesign unterscheidet diese Projekte von allen anderen verfügbaren Datenquellen zur Nutzung des Internets in Deutschland.

Die Forschungsfragen wurden im Wesentlichen mit Hilfe von standardisierten Befragungen einer repräsentativen Stichprobe der deutschen Bürgerinnen und Bürger (deutschsprachige Wohnbevölkerung ab 16 Jahren) beantwortet. Hierfür wurden im Jahr 2002 ca. 1500 Personen zufällig ausgewählt und telefonisch jährlich wiederbefragt (sog. "Paneldesign"); zum Ausgleich der sog. "Panelmortalität" wurden jedes Jahr kleinere Stichproben neu gezogen und dem Panel hinzugefügt.