The focus of research at the division is centered on the study of the transformations of the political communication of citizens, particularly in connection with the distribution of digital and online media. The comprehension of “media use” is not limited to the mere reception of content, spread by mass media. In the new media world, “use” also includes the meaning of the active development of media and content for each type of communication by the people.

The division also looks at the subject of relevant political consequences of the patterns of digital media use: Thus, it is necessary to go beyond the limited concepts of political mobilization or political beliefs approach to explain the effects of the changing communication environment on the political actions of individuals and political processes in society. Especially the following question is relevant: How do the individual's perception of its political role and the evaluation of the political process change, when the interaction and the participation opportunities are expanded by digital media?


Television and Internet

Prof. Dr. Martin Emmer, Prof. Dr. Joachim Trebbe

Jan 01, 2015 — Dec 31, 2017

Parallel to the emergence of the internet the phenomenon of digitization has pushed forward the transformation of traditional media and forms of communication. Popular terms like Social TV, Second Screen or Multi-optional TV indicate that television, which is still the most popular medium of our society, is placed at the center of these developments. Communication science is faced with the challenge to describe those marketing-oriented terms systematically as well as testing and, if necessary, ...

Digital Africa

Prof. Dr. Martin Emmer

The diffusion of digital information and communication technologies (ICTs) in the Global South is proceeding at a high speed. The development in sub-Saharan Africa is particularly dynamic, where more and more people have access to ICTs, with smart phones being on the increase. However, so far the main body of research on the impact of ICT use has been conducted in western or industrialized nations, such as the USA, European or East Asian countries. The theoretical approaches, which were ...

Citizens Online

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Vowe, Prof. Dr. Jens Wolling, Prof. Dr. Martin Emmer

A range of projects funded by Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), in which Prof. Martin Emmer was significantly involved, provided the basis for the currently planned research within our division. In these projects - conducted between 2001 and 2010 - it has been explored, which impact the spread of the Internet has on political communication and participation behavior of German citizens. Extensive information about this research (list of publications about this project, presentations of the ...

Flight 2.0

Prof. Dr. Carola Richter, Prof. Dr. Martin Emmer

Apr 01, 2016 — Dec 31, 2016

The research project "Flight 2.0" utilizes a representative quantitative survey in refugee housing in Berlin in order to investigate the refugees’ use of mobile devices during the journey from their home countries to Germany. The object of scientific analysis is the refugees’ media usage not only during, but also before and after the flight.

Research — finished

Automated measurement

Prof. Dr. Martin Emmer, Prof. Dr. Lutz Prechelt

Sep 01, 2015 — Feb 28, 2016

When collecting data about the individual use of digital and mobile media conventional social science methods such as interviewing, observing or media diaries are limited. Use situations on the internet are complex and diverse. Therefore, a systematic and detailed monitoring by innovative data collection methods and combinations of methods is necessary. Especially automated collection methods, such as log-file-analyses, seems useful. Nevertheless, such methods are not often used in empirical ...

Forschung

Schwerpunkt der Forschung an der Arbeitsstelle ist die Untersuchung des Wandels der politischen Kommunikation der Bürger, insbesondere im Zusammenhang mit der Verbreitung digitaler und Online-Medien. Das Verständnis von "Mediennutzung" ist dabei nicht mehr beschränkt auf die reine Rezeption von massenmedial verbreiteten Inhalten, sondern umfasst in der neuen Medienwelt auch "Nutzung" im Sinne der aktiven Gestaltung von Medien und Inhalten für jede Art der Kommunikation durch die Menschen.

Auch die Frage der politisch relevanten Folgen der digitalen Nutzungsmuster ist Gegenstand der Forschung an der Arbeitsstelle: So ist es erforderlich, über die theoretisch nur begrenzt tragfähigen Konzepte politischer Mobilisierung oder des politischen Einstellungskonzepts hinauszugehen, um die Auswirkungen der sich verändernden Kommunikationsumgebung auf das politische Handeln des Einzelnen und politische Prozesse in der Gesellschaft aufzuklären. Insbesondere die Frage, wie sich die Wahrnehmung der eigenen politischen Rolle und die Beurteilung des politischen Prozesses verändert, wenn sich die Interaktions- und Beteiligungsmöglichkeiten durch digitale Medien erweitern, ist hier von Bedeutung.

 

Projekte:

 

Fernsehen und Internet

Prof. Dr. Martin Emmer, Prof. Dr. Joachim Trebbe

01.01.2015 — 31.03.2018

Das Forschungsprojekt "Die Konvergenz von Fernsehen und Internet aus Angebots- und Nutzungsperspektive" widmet sich der systematischen Beschreibung und Exploration der bisherigen und aktuellen Konvergenzprozesse zwischen Fernsehen und Internet. Dieses Feld rund um Streaming-Plattformen, Social-TV-Anwendungen und Second Screens befindet sich derzeit in einer sehr dynamischen Entwicklung, deren Beobachtung, Bewertung und Regulierung einer stärkeren theoretischen Unterfütterung bedarf. Eine ...

Digital Africa

Prof. Dr. Martin Emmer

In rasantem Tempo schreitet die Verbreitung moderner Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien (IKT) im Globalen Süden voran. Besonders dynamische Entwicklungen zeigen sich derzeit in Subsahara-Afrika, wo immer mehr Menschen Zugang zu IKTs - zunehmend auch Smartphones - haben. Dennoch konzentriert sich die Forschung zu IKT-Nutzungsmustern bislang auf westliche oder industrialisierte Nationen wie die USA, europäische oder ostasiatische Länder. Die vor diesem Hintergrund existierenden ...

Forschung — abgeschlossen

Automatisierte Messmethoden

Prof. Dr. Martin Emmer, Prof. Dr. Lutz Prechelt

01.09.2015 — 28.02.2016

Bei der Erhebung der individuellen Nutzung digitaler und mobiler Medien stoßen klassische sozialwissenschaftliche Methoden wie etwa die Befragung, die Beobachtung oder das Medientagebuch zunehmend an ihre Grenzen. Insbesondere im Internet ist eine Vielfalt mitunter äußerst komplexer Nutzungssituationen entstanden, deren systematische und detaillierte Beobachtung nach innovativen Datenerhebungsmethoden und Methodenkombinationen verlangt. Hier bieten sich insbesondere automatisierte, ...

PolOnKom_Buerger_Online

Bürger Online

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Vowe, Prof. Dr. Jens Wolling, Prof. Dr. Martin Emmer

01.07.2001 — 30.06.2009

Ausgangspunkt der an der Arbeitsstelle derzeit geplanten Forschung bildet eine Reihe von DFG-Projekten, die zwischen 2001 und 2010 durchgeführt wurden und an denen Prof. Martin Emmer maßgeblich beteiligt war. Untersucht wurde in diesen Projekten, welchen Einfluss die Verbreitung des Internets auf das politische Kommunikations- und Partizipationsverhalten der Bürger in Deutschland hat. Umfangreiche Informationen zu dieser Forschung (Liste der Publikationen zum Projekt, ...

Flucht 2.0 Schlussbericht

Flucht 2.0

Prof. Dr. Carola Richter, Prof. Dr. Martin Emmer

01.04.2016 — 31.12.2016

Das Forschungsprojekt "Flucht 2.0" hat anhand einer repräsentativen quantitativen Befragung in Berliner Unterkünften die Nutzung mobiler Geräte von Flüchtlingen auf ihrem Weg von ihren Herkunftsländern nach Deutschland untersucht. Wissenschaftlich analysiert wurde dabei nicht nur die Mediennutzung der Flüchtlinge während, sondern auch vor und nach der Flucht.