Research project funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG):
"Networked Media Government Relations".

The research project „Networked Media Government Relations“ investigates from a comparative perspective the relationship between government organisations and news media in the online world. Building on the results of the first phase of the project, we analyse different forms of online political communication and communicative interactions among government actors in Germany, Great Britain, and Italy. The central research question is the following: despite structural differences in government communications in the three countries, can commonalities be found in the development of media government relations and the state of digitisation? The aim of the project is to further develop and empirically test a theory of networked media government relations. This theory will enable an integrated perspective on the relations between government actors and media, and describe and explain the changes in news management by governments in the online world.

This project is one of eight projects within the research group “Political Communication Online. Prerequisites and consequences of structural change in the political communication”. This union of German and Swiss communication scholars intends to answer the question as to how far political communication between citizens, political organizations and the media gets changed by the online media like online newspapers, search engines, video portals, social networking sites and blogs. Another question in this context is,  what impact this change has on politics – e.g. for political mobilization, the preferences of voters or on how fast subjects change in public discussions.

Research associate within the project: Jan Niklas Kocks & Kim Murphy

Research project funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF): „InfectControl 2020“

InfectControl 2020 is an innovative and multi-sectoral research alliance. The alliance is funded by the programme „Zwanzig20 – Partnerschaft für Innovation“ headed by the Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF). The innovative research alliance InfectControl 2020 aims at developing and implementing new strategies for the early recognition, the control and successful approaches to fight infectious diseases.

Further information:

The Division of Organizational Communication deals with two sub-projects within the research alliance “InfectControl 2020”: Multi-sectoral Research Platform und IRMRESS. 

Sub-project of the Multi-sectoral Research Platform: TFP-TV4 AS8

The sub-project TFP-TV4 AS8 is part of the Multi-sectoral Research Platform– TFP.

The focus of this sub-project is to promote a reliable and science-based information transfer of risks of infection and measures to prevent them. One essential component of this approach is the proper communication of the associated risks and dangers of infection by physicians and scientists to various target groups (patients, farmers, general public etc.).

The aim of this project is to analyze and systematize the heterogeneous knowledge that exists in the communication of risks and perception. Furthermore, a specific Online e-Learning Tool purposely tailored for the continuing education of communicators and multipliers is to be realized, evaluated and sustainably implemented.

Duration: March 2015 – February 2018

Research associate within the project: Angela Osterheider


Sub-project “Participative risk communication” in the cooperative research project IRMRESS

The cooperative research project “Innovative reduction of multi-resistant infectious agents and establishment of a Next-Generation-Sequencing based Surveillance (IRMRESS)” deals with the development of strategies to reduce the use of antibiotics in human and veterinary medicine.

The sub-project “Participative risk communication” analyzes and develops participative risk and science communication strategies within different publics. This topic will be explored through the application of new, alternative anti-infectives in the livestock farming medicine. Therewith, the focus will be on the publics of farmers and veterinarians.

It is the objective of the sub-project to encourage a responsible use of antimicrobials. For this purpose it will be investigated in how far users in the agricultural sector perceive the risk of molecular biological research on antimicrobials. Based on these results a participative risk communication strategy will be developed and implemented. The strategy aims at addressing different stakeholders to integrate diverse opinions, concerns and needs of communication. Methodological approaches such as an analysis of documents, a survey of farmers and the development of a participative risk communication strategy, will be used.

Duration: August 2015 – July 2018

Research associate within the project: Julia Drews

Research project funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF):
New Strategies for Ensuring Food Supply, sub-project ‘Communication’

The research project ‘New Strategies for Ensuring Food Supply’ focuses on the critical infrastructure food supply. With consideration to all relevant stakeholders it is the main objective to provide new strategies for ensuring food supply. How can food supply be guaranteed in disaster situations? An interdisciplinary team of several partners addresses this question in different sub-projects.    

The sub-project ‘communication‘ examines how governmental authorities, media and the population in Germany are prepared for a food supply emergency and how they would handle crisis communication under these challenging conditions. Based on several empirical studies such as expert interviews, population and journalist surveys flexible risk and crisis communication strategies for ensuring food supply will be developed.

Duration: August 2012 – November 2015
Project website:
Research associate within the project: Julia Drews

Forschung

Aktuelle Forschungsprojekte der Arbeitsstelle Organisationskommunikation


DFG-Projekt: Networked Media Government Relations

Das Forschungsprojekt „Networked Media Government Relations“ untersucht die  Beziehungen zwischen Regierungsorganisationen und Nachrichtenmedien in der Onlinewelt aus komparativer Perspektive. Aufbauend auf Ergebnissen der ersten Förderphase analysieren wir Formen der politischen Online-Kommunikation und kommunikative Vernetzungen von Regierungsakteuren in Deutschland, Großbritannien und Italien. Die zentrale Fragestellung lautet: Lassen sich trotz länderspezifisch unterschiedlicher struktureller Rahmenbedingungen der Regierungskommunikation Gemeinsamkeiten in der Ausgestaltung der Media-Government Relations finden, die länderübergreifend auf Anpassungen an die Online-Welt zurückzuführen sind? Das Ziel des Projekts ist die Weiterentwicklung und empirische Prüfung einer Theorie der Networked Media-Government Relations. Diese Theorie ermöglicht eine integrierte Perspektive auf das Beziehungsgeflecht zwischen Regierungsakteuren und Medien und soll strukturelle Anpassungen des News Managements von Regierungen an die Onlinewelt beschreiben und erklären. 

Dieses Projekt ist eines von acht Projekten der Forschergruppe „Politische Kommunikation in der Online-Welt. Voraussetzungen und Folgen des strukturellen Wandels der politischen Kommunikation“. Dieser Verbund aus deutschen und schweizerischen Kommunikationswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern geht der Frage nach, wie sich die politische Kommunikation zwischen Bürgern, politischen Organisationen und Medien durch die inzwischen allgegenwärtigen Online-Medien wie Online-Zeitungen, Suchmaschinen, Videoportale, Social Networks und Blogs verändert. Daran schließt sich die Frage an, welche politischen Folgen dieser Wandel hat  – etwa für die Mobilisierungsfähigkeit politischer Gruppen oder für die Präferenzen von Wählerinnen und Wählern oder für das Tempo des Themenwechsels in der öffentlichen Diskussion.

Laufzeit: bis Sommer 2017
Projektmitarbeiter: Jan Niklas Kocks
Projektmitarbeiterin: Kim Murphy
Projektwebsite:
http://www.fgpk.de/ 


BMBF-Forschungsverbund „InfectControl 2020“

InfectControl 2020 ist ein innovativer, transsektoral ausgerichteter Forschungsverbund, der im Rahmen der Fördermaßnahme „Zwanzig20 – Partnerschaft für Innovation“ des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert wird. Ziel des interdisziplinären Forschungsverbunds ist es, grundlegend neue Strategien zur frühzeitigen Erkennung, Eindämmung und erfolgreichen Bekämpfung von Infektionskrankheiten zu entwickeln und zu implementieren.

Weitere Informationen zum Forschungsverbund: www.infectcontrol.de

An der Arbeitsstelle Organisationskommunikation werden Teilvorhaben aus zwei Forschungsprojekten von „InfectControl 2020“ bearbeitet: Transsektorale Forschungsplattform und IRMRESS.



Teilvorhaben TFP-TV4 AS8 („Transsektorale Forschungsplattform“)

Das Teilvorhaben TFP-TV4 AS8 ist Bestandteil der „Transsektoralen Forschungsplattform: Grenzen überschreiten – Neue Wege in der Antiinfektonsforschung“ (TFP).

Im Fokus steht der wirksame und nachhaltige Informationstransfer von Infektionsrisiken und -präventionsmaßnahmen durch praktische Ärzte und Wissenschaftler. Eine wesentliche Bedeutung kommt hierbei der Kommunikation infektionsbezogener Gefährdungslagen an unterschiedliche Zielgruppen (Patienten, Landwirte, Öffentlichkeit etc.) zu. Die Entwicklung von Kompetenz zur Vermittlung sich dynamisch wandelnder Bedrohungslagen an Einzelne und Öffentlichkeit spielt in diesem Rahmen eine wichtige Rolle.

Das Projekt ist angesiedelt an der Schnittstelle zwischen akademischer Forschung und der anwendungsorientierten Vermittlung von Strategien und Techniken zur verständlichen und erfolgreichen Kommunikation von Risikoinformationen durch praktische (Tier-)Ärzte und biomedizinsch Forschende.

Ziel dieses Vorhabens ist es, die heterogenen Wissensbestände auf dem Gebiet der Risikokommunikation und -wahrnehmung zu analysieren und zu systematisieren, um in einem zweiten Schritt ein konkretes Online-e-Learning-Tool zur Weiterbildung der Kommunikatoren und multiplikativen Akteure umzusetzen, zu evaluieren und nachhaltig zu implementieren.

Laufzeit: März 2015 – Februar 2018

Projektmitarbeiterin: Angela Osterheider



Teilvorhaben „Partizipative Risikokommunikation“ im Forschungsprojekt IRMRESS

Das Forschungsprojekt „Innovative Reduktion multi-resistenter Infektionserreger (MRE) und Etablierung einer Next-Generation-Sequencing basierten molekularen Surveillance (IRMRESS)“ beschäftigt sich mit der Entwicklung neuer Antiinfektionsstrategien in der Human- und Veterinärmedizin, um den Einsatz von Antibiotika zukünftig zu reduzieren.

Das Teilvorhaben „Partizipative Risikokommunikation“ konzentriert sich auf die Untersuchung und Entwicklung partizipativer Risiko- und Wissenschaftskommunikationsverfahren bei verschiedenen Teil-Öffentlichkeiten. Bearbeitet wird dieses Thema am Beispiel des möglichen Einsatzes alternativer Antiinfektiva in der Nutztiermedizin unter Berücksichtigung der Teil-Öffentlichkeiten Landwirte und Tierärzte.

Das Teilvorhaben verfolgt das zentrale Ziel, das Bewusstsein für einen verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit antimikrobiellen Substanzen zu fördern. Dazu wird zum einen die Risikowahrnehmung der molekularbiologischen Erforschung antimikrobakterieller Wirkstoffe u.a. bei Anwendern in der Landwirtschaft untersucht. Auf dieser Grundlage wird eine partizipative Risikokommunikationsstrategie entwickelt und erprobt. Die Risikokommunikationsstrategie soll an verschiedene Akteure adressiert werden, um vorhandene Prädispositionen und Informationsbedürfnisse der potenziellen Zielgruppen bei der Weiterentwicklung der Wirkstoffe zu berücksichtigen.

Methodisch sind u.a. eine Dokumentenanalyse und eine Befragung von Landwirten vorgesehen. Zudem stellt die Entwicklung eines geeigneten Verfahrens, das der Erprobung der partizipativen Risikokommunikationsstrategie bestmöglich dient, einen methodischen Bestandteil des Teilvorhabens dar.

Laufzeit: August 2015 – Juli 2018

Projektmitarbeiterinnen: Viorela Dan, Angela Osterheider und Julia Drews



BMBF-Forschungsprojekt „Neue Strategien der Ernährungsnotfallvorsorge (NeuENV)“ – Teilvorhaben Kommunikation

Das vom BMBF geförderte Verbundprojekt „Neue Strategien der Ernährungsnotfallvorsorge (NeuENV)“ beschäftigt sich mit der Sicherung der Kritischen Infrastruktur Lebensmittelversorgung im Krisenfall. Ziel des Projektvorhabens ist es, unter Einbeziehung von und in Zusammenarbeit mit allen relevanten Akteuren neue Strategien der Ernährungsnotfallvorsorge zu entwickeln. Die übergeordnete Forschungsfrage lautet: Wie kann die Lebensmittelversorgung auch in Krisen aufrechterhalten werden? Ein interdisziplinärer Verbund aus verschiedenen Projektpartnern widmet sich in einzelnen Teilvorhaben dieser Frage.

Inwiefern zuständige Behörden und deren Stakeholder, die Medien sowie die Bevölkerung in kommunikativer Hinsicht auf eine Ernährungsnotfallsituation vorbereitet sind und mit dieser umgehen würden, ist die zentrale Fragestellung des Teilvorhabens Kommunikation, das die Arbeitsstelle Organisationskommunikation bearbeitet. Auf Grundlage der Ergebnisse verschiedener Analysen und Befragungen (u. a. Experteninterviews, Journalisten- und Bevölkerungsbefragung) wird ein flexibles Strategiemodell für die Krisenkommunikation erstellt. Dieses beschreibt situative Kommunikationsstrategien zur Sicherung der Lebensmittelversorgung im Krisenfall.

Laufzeit: August 2012 – November 2015
Projektmitarbeiterin: Julia Drews
Projektwebsite: www.neuenv.de