Univ.-Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h.c. Helga Haftendorn


Freie Universität Berlin

Otto-Suhr-Institute for Political Science

Center for Transnational Relations, Foreign and Security Policy

University Professor Emeritus<br>Former Director of the Center

Address Ihnestr. 22
Room 106a
14195 Berlin
Telephone +49 - (0)30 - 838 55527
Fax +49 - (0)30 - 838 54160
Email h.haftendorn@fu-berlin.de
Homepage http://www.fu-berlin.de/atasp

Office hours

on appointment by email request

Staatsexamen (equivalent to M.A.), University of Frankfurt am Main; Dr. phil. (Ph.D.), University of Frankfurt am Main; Habilitation, University of Hamburg.

Professor Haftendorn is the former Director of the Center and Professor Emeritus of Political Science and International Relations at the Free University of Berlin. She has taught courses in international relations theory, German foreign policy, and European security policy. Her main research interests are in German and American foreign policy: Northatlantic Alliance and problems of the Arktic.

In addition to teaching at the University of Hamburg and the Armed Forces College (Hamburg), she also was a visiting professor in the United States at the Georgetown University, 1977-78, the Stanford University, 1982-83  and at the European University Institute in Florence, Italy (1989). In 1991/92 Professor Haftendorn served as President of the International Studies Association. In 1993 she was elected as a member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Science. In November 1995 Professor Haftendorn received the Max-Planck Research Award for International Cooperation, in 1996 the Federal Republic of Germany´s Order of Merit.

Currently, Professor Haftendorn writes policy papers on contemporary security affairs for various international research institutes. Currently Professor Haftendorn works at the international research group GeoNorth on different studies about the Problems of the Arctic.

Univ.-Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h.c Helga Haftendorn

haftendorn_portrait_web

Freie Universität Berlin

Otto-Suhr-Institut für Politikwissenschaft

Arbeitsstelle Transnationale Beziehungen, Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik

Universitätsprofessorin

Adresse Ihnestr. 22
Raum 106A
14195 Berlin
Telefon +49 - (0)30 - 838 55527
Fax +49 - (0)30 - 838 54160
E-Mail h.haftendorn@fu-berlin.de
Homepage http://www.fu-berlin.de/atasp

Sprechstunde

nach Vereinbarung per Email

Staatsexamen, University Frankfurt am Main; Dr. phil., Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main; Habilitation und Venia legendi, Universität Hamburg, Dr. rer. pol. h.c. Helmut-Schmidt-Universität Hamburg.

Prof. Haftendorn ist die ehemalige Direktorin der Arbeitsstelle für Transatlantische Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik und Professor Emeritus für Politikwissenschaft und Internationale Beziehungen an der Freien Universität Berlin. Sie lehrte Theorien der Internationalen Beziehungen, deutsche Außenpolitik und europäische Sicherheitspolitik. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte umfassen deutsche und amerikanische Außenpolitik: Nordatlantische Allianz und Probleme der Arktis.

Prof. Haftendorn lehrte an der Freien Universität Berlin, an der Universität Hamburg sowie an der Universität der Bundeswehr in Hamburg. Außerdem war sie in den Vereinigten Staaten Gastprofessorin an der Georgetown University, 1977-78, der Stanford University, 1982-83 sowie am European University Institute in Florenz, Italien (1989). 1991/92 war sie Präsidentin der International Studies Association. 1993 wurde sie zum Mitglied der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften gewählt. 1995 erhielt sie den Max-Planck Forschungspreis für internationale Kooperation. 1996 wurde Prof. Haftendorn mit dem Bundesverdienstkreuz und 1997 mit dem Verdienstorden des Landes Berlin ausgezeichnet.

Gegenwärtig erstellt Frau Haftendorn policy-relevante Studien für verschiedene Forschungsinstitute. Aktuell arbeitet sie im internationalen Forschungsverbund GeoNorth an verschiedenen Studien zu den Problemen der Arktis.

Downloads