Greening of North European Electricity Industry

Project partners:

BI Norwegian School of Management



Annette Piening

Financial support:

German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)


Jun 01, 2001 — Dec 31, 2003

Contact Person:

PD Dr. Lutz Mez


Project description

There is a growing awareness of the environmental consequences of the existing predominantly fossil-based stationary energy system, which puts the energy sector under scrutiny from civil society as well as regulatory agencies. A growing consensus may therefore also be detected about the need for ecologically inspired innovations through the development, introduction and diffusion of clean energy technologies and an increase in the use of renewable energy sources (RES) in energy and electricity production systems.
This project was linked to ongoing research in Germany and the Nordic countries within the field of green electricity policy. The ambition of the joint project was to add on a broader comparative Northern European dimension to already existing Nordic and Continental research on regulatory strategies to promote green electricity.
The joint project compared different regulatory approaches including technology-oriented and market-oriented, and reported on regulatory approaches to green electricity development and embraced the alternative strategies that promote renewable energy introduction (i.e. bottom-up industrial self-regulation and co-regulation in addition to top-down regulatory strategies). Finally, the project has seeked to communicate the comparative findings on governance strategies and their impact on green and renewable energy diffusion.

Greening der Elektrizitätswirtschaft in Nord-Europa

Projektpartner:

BI Norwegian School of Management

Leitung:

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Förderung:

Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst (DAAD)

Projektlaufzeit:

01.06.2001 — 31.12.2003

Ansprechpartner:

PD Dr. Lutz Mez

E-Mail:

Projektbeschreibung

Das vorherrschende fossile Energiesystem hat nicht nur schwerwiegende Konsequenzen für die Umwelt, der Energiesektor gerät zunehmend in den Fokus von Zivilgesellschaft und Akteuren der staatlicher Regulierung. Dabei stellt sich derzeit ein Konsens für ökologisch motivierte Innovationen durch die Entwicklung, Einführung und Diffusion sauberer Energietechnik und die verstärkte Nutzung erneuerbarer Energiequellen im Energie- und Stromsystem her.

Das Projekt  vernetzte laufende Forschungsvorhaben auf dem Gebiet der „Green Electricity Policy“ aus Deutschland und Norwegen. Dabei wurden die bereits existierende skandinavische und kontinentale Forschung um eine komparative Nordeuropäische Dimension erweitert.

Das Projekt verglich und bewertete unterschiedliche – einschl. technologie-orientierte und markt-orientierte - Regulierungsansätze zur Förderung von grünem Strom (z.B. bottom-up Selbstregulierung der Industrie sowie Co-Regulierung in Ergänzung zu top-down Regulierungsstrategien). Schließlich wollte das Projekt die Forschungsergebnis zu Governance-Strategien und ihren Einfluss auf die Diffusion von grüner und erneuerbarer Energie kommunizieren.