Overcoming restrictions to establish an extension of small scale CHP in the Regional Capital Hanover

Director:

Staff:

Financial support:

Landeshauptstadt Hannover

Term:

Feb 01, 2006 — Apr 30, 2006

Contact Person:

PD Dr. Danyel Reiche

Email:

Project description

The project identified the most important instruments to promote small combined heat and power (CHP) plants. It aimed at contributing to the target of establishing a capacity of 50 MW of small scale CHP in Hanover.
The first part of the project described the general context shaping the starting point of a local CHP-strategy. The description of technological options and support programmes on different political levels were among those framework conditions. Possibilities to integrate small scale and micro CHP plants into a so-called virtual power plant were emphasised.
The main part of the project dealed with the analysis of local actors and their interrelation. This allowed for the identification of specific restrictions on the extension of small CHP plants. It further pointed to possible solutions to overcome these restrictions. Also following international and regional best practice, concepts were presented that might gave a valuable contribution to a local CHP-strategy for Hanover.
The results of the short research project were translated into palpable advice for local policy makers.

Publications

Sibyl Steuwer, Danyel Reiche (2006): Bausteine einer lokalen BHKW-Strategie für die Landeshauptstadt Hannover

Erfolgsbedingungen und Restriktionen von Instrumenten zur Förderung von BHKW in der Landeshauptstadt Hannover

Leitung:

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Förderung:

Landeshauptstadt Hannover

Projektlaufzeit:

01.02.2006 — 30.04.2006

Ansprechpartner:

PD Dr. Danyel Reiche

E-Mail:

Projektbeschreibung

Die Kurzstudie benennt die wichtigsten Erfolgsbedingungen von Instrumenten zur Förderung von Blockheizkraftwerken (BHKW) in Hannover. Ziel war es, auf diesem Weg einen Beitrag zur Realisierung der Strategie „50 MW BHKW für Hannover“ zu leisten.
In einem ersten Projektschritt wurden die Rahmenbedingungen für mögliche Ansatzpunkte einer lokalen BHKW-Strategie beschrieben. Darunter fällt die Darstellung der Einsatzmöglichkeiten aktueller BHKW-Technologien einschließlich der Integration von BHKW in einen so genannten „virtuellen Kraftwerksverbund“. Darüber hinaus wurde auf die allgemeinen Fördermöglichkeiten von BHKW auf Europa-, Bundes- und Landesebene eingegangen.
In einem weiteren Projektschritt kam der Analyse der Akteursbeziehungen eine besondere Rolle in Hinblick auf die Identifizierung regionsspezifischer Hemmnisse für den Ausbau von BHKW zu. Hierbei ließen sich zudem Möglichkeiten ihrer Überwindung aufzeigen. Auch in Anlehnung an Best Practice im In- und Ausland wurden gezielt Konzepte vorgestellt, die mit den vorhandenen Kapazitäten vor Ort realisiert werden könnten.
Abschließend wurden konkrete Politikempfehlungen vorgenommen.

Publications

Sibyl Steuwer, Danyel Reiche (2006): Bausteine einer lokalen BHKW-Strategie für die Landeshauptstadt Hannover