EU-Canada Programme for Co-ooperation in Higher Education, Training and Youth: Civil Society Educational Network

Project partners:

University of Trento
Sheffield Hallam University
Carleton University
McGill University
Winnipeg University

Director:

Staff:

Svenja Fox

Financial support:

Education, Audiovisual and Cultural Executive Agency (EACA), European Commission

Term:

Oct 01, 2008 — Sep 30, 2012

Contact Person:

Prof. Dr. Miranda Schreurs

Email:

Homepage:

Project description

Civil society is fundamental to healthy and effective democracies. Civil society often steps in where governments are either incapable or unwilling to act. Civil society organizations (CSOs) and social enterprises provide outlets for different interests to express their values, priorities, and concerns. They are also often important to the delivery of community services and the building of societal capacities. Operating at the local, regional, national, and international levels, CSOs often form networks and alliances to strengthen their impact and increase their ability to influence change. Increasingly, civil society is also important to the promotion of international cooperation and global problem solving. Civil society networks have been an important aspect of transatlantic relations.
Civil society organizationsare undergoing fundamental changes in Canada, as well as across Europe.  Professionals working in and with CSO’s are seeking new skills and resources to deal with the challenges and dynamics both within the sector and in society as a whole.  These include key competencies in areas such as leadership and governance, partnerships and alliances, social innovation, and multi-sector collaboration. This requires more customized educational programs.
Advanced undergraduate and graduate level students from a variety of disciplines (political science, public administration, urban studies, business administration) will be recruited to participate in the transatlantic exchanges, including those seeking careers as practitioners and leaders of civil society organizations and social enterprises, policy analysts and program officers in government, community investment managers in corporations, grant officers in foundations; and, fund developers and consultants in the community. The objectives of the Civil Society Educational Network are to enhance the educational experiences and skills of these Canadian and European students seeking a variety of careers related to civil society organizations and social enterprises; to support the development of new curricula  to teach civil society in a range of disciplines; to facilitate the collaboration between Canadian and European universities to expand their programs in civil society studies; and, to provide a forum for the exchange of educational materials, resources, and tools for Canadian and European faculty, students, and researchers in civil society studies.

Europäisch-kanadisches Programm für die Kooperation in den Bereichen Hochschulbildung, Fachausbildung und Jugend: Ausbildungsnetzwerk Zivilgesellschaft

Projektpartner:

University of Trento
Sheffield Hallam University
Carleton University
McGill University
Winnipeg University

Leitung:

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Förderung:

Exekutivagentur Bildung, Audiovisuelles und Kultur (EACA), Europäsiche Kommission

Projektlaufzeit:

01.10.2008 — 30.09.2012

Ansprechpartner:

Prof. Dr. Miranda Schreurs

E-Mail:

Homepage:

Projektbeschreibung

Die Zivilgesellschaft ist unverzichtbar für stabile, effektive Demokratien. Oftmals springt sie ein, wo Regierungen unfähig oder nicht Willens sind einzugreifen. Über Trägerorganisationen politischer Beteiligung, auch civil society organizations (CSOs), und Nonprofit-Unternehmen können die Werte, Prioritäten und Sorgen verschiedener Interessenslagen ausgedrückt werden. Sie spielen oftmals auch eine wichtige Rolle beim Bereitstellen sozialer Dienste und dem Aufbau gesellschaftlicher Leistungen. Auf lokalem, regionalem, nationalem und internationalem Level agierend, bilden CSOs häufig Netzwerke und Allianzen, um ihre Schlagkraft und ihren Einfluss auf den politischen Prozess zu erhöhen. Auch gewinnt die Zivilgesellschaft immer mehr an Bedeutung beim Ausbau internationaler Kooperation und globaler Problemlösungen.
CSOs erfahren in Kanada wie in Europa einen fundamentalen Wandel. Fachleute, die für und mit CSOs arbeiten, streben nach neuen Fähigkeiten und Ressourcen, um den Herausforderungen und Dynamiken innerhalb ihres Sektors sowie in der Gesellschaft als ganzer zu begegnen. Dies beinhaltet Schlüsselkompetenzen in Bereichen wie Leadership und Governance, Partnerschaften und Allianzen, sozialer Innovation und sektorübergreifender Zusammenarbeit. Maßgeschneiderte Ausbildungsprogramme werden daher notwendiger denn je.
Das transatlantische Austauschprogramm richtet sich an fortgeschrittene Studierende und Absolventen einer ganzen Bandbreite von Disziplinen (Politikwissenschaft, Öffentliche Verwaltung, Kommunalwissenschaft, Betriebswirtschaftslehre) mit unterschiedlichen beruflichen Zielen, darunter als Praktiker und Führungskräfte in CSOs und Nonprofit-Unternehmen, politische Analysten und Referatsleiter bei Regierungen, Manager für gesellschaftliche Verantwortung bei Unternehmen, in den Vergabestellen von Stiftungen oder als Finanzberater. Das Ziel des Ausbildungsnetzwerkes Zivilgesellschaft ist es, diesen kanadischen und europäischen Studierenden mit ihren unterschiedlichen Karrierezielen im Bereich der CSOs und Nonprofit-Unternehmen bessere Fortbildungen und Fähigkeiten zu vermittlen, die Entwicklung neuer Curricula für den Unterricht über die Zivilgesellschaft in verschiedenen Fächern zu unterstützen, die Zusammenarbeit zwischen kanadischen und europäischen Universitäten zu erleichtern und damit auch ein breiteres Lehrangebot im Bereich der Zivilgesellschaft zu ermöglichen, und ein Forum für den Austausch von Unterrichtsmaterialien, Ressourcen und Methoden für kanadische und europäische Hochschullehrer, Studierende und Forscher rund um die Zivilgesellschaft anzubieten.