Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Ressourcenpolitik 2 - PolRess2

Institution:

Otto-Suhr-Institut für Politikwissenschaft
Forschungszentrum für Umweltpolitik

Principal Investigator:
Research Team:
Funding:

Umweltbundesamt (UBA)

Term:
Apr 01, 2016 — Apr 30, 2019
Contact Person:
Dr. Klaus Jacob

Projekt partners: Ecologic; Öko-Institut

The use of natural resources is determined by policy fields other than environmental policy, such as economic, infrastructural, construction and agricultural policy. These policy fields provide opportunities to effectively address the use of material resources, as do research and innovation, consumer, finance and educational policy as well. Consequently the German Resource Efficiency Programme is a strategy of the national government (Bundesregierung) and not simply of the environmental department (Umweltressort). Opportunities for resource policy exist not only horizontally within the national government, but also vertically between the national, state and local governments. While the federal states (Bundesländer) and the communes are relevant environmental actors, the international community is equally important as a point of reference and for political goal setting in German national politics. These factors lead to the necessity of integrating the horizontal and vertical levels of policy-creation, which has not of yet been implemented in a systematic manner.

 

The research project PolRess II supports the implementation and the updating of the German Resource Efficiency Programme (ProgRess). Concrete goals include:

  • The identification of relevant circles of actors and the analysis of their positions vis-à-vis necessary measures and areas of opportunity in German resource policy.

  • Identifying and building strategic capacities through the recruitment of relevant actors in promoting the further development of ambitious resource policy.

  • Developing arguments for ambitious resource policy accessible to different actors.

 

The project is structured in three work packages:

  • Analysis and further development of PolRess’ policy approach: with the goal of analyzing policy instruments in the context of current societal and political debates. Here PolRess II encompasses discourse analyses, stakeholder workshops and specifically seeks to identify possibilities for action.

  • Integration, participation and evaluation: The project aims to develop modes of action to establish principles of resource protection and efficiency in various domains and levels of politics. Relevant actor groups should be able to participate in developing overarching and consensual goals while determining needs for action beyond their respective policy area. An analysis of improvements of horizontal and vertical integration will be undertaken as well as of the accessibility of the debates. Furthermore, a manual will be developed for the improvement of vertical integration as well as a guideline for evaluation of the resource efficiency strategy.

  • Communication: the development and organization of processes to integrate relevant actors in debate on resource policy.

Ressourcenpolitik 2 - PolRess2

Projektpartner: Ecologic; Öko-Institut

Institution:

Otto-Suhr-Institut für Politikwissenschaft

Forschungszentrum für Umweltpolitik

Leitung:

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Förderung:

Umweltbundesamt (UBA)

Projektlaufzeit:

01.04.2016 — 30.04.2019

Ansprechpartner:

Dr. Klaus Jacob

E-Mail:

Homepage:

Die Ressourcennutzung wird maßgeblich durch andere Politikfelder als die Umweltpolitik bestimmt, wie die Wirtschafts-, Infrastruktur-, Bau- und Landwirtschaftspolitik. In diesen Politikfeldern, aber auch in Forschung- und Innovationspolitik, Verbraucher-, Finanz-, oder Bildungspolitik liegen Ansatzpunkte, um die Materialnutzung wirksam zu adressieren. Entsprechend ist das Ressourceneffizienzprogramm eine Strategie der Bundesregierung und nicht nur des Umweltressorts. Ressourcenpolitische Ansatzpunkte sind nicht nur horizontal – innerhalb der Bundesregierung – verteilt, sondern auch vertikal zwischen den politischen Ebenen. Während Bundesländer und die Kommunen relevante Umsetzungsakteure sind, ergeben sich insbesondere aus dem internationalen Umfeld Ziele und Referenzrahmen für die nationale Politik. Die aus dieser Sachlogik erwachsende Notwendigkeit einer horizontalen und vertikalen Integration ist in der bisherigen Ressourcenpolitik noch nicht systematisch verwirklicht.

Das Vorhaben begleitet den Prozess der Implementierung und Fortschreibung des Deutschen Ressourceneffizienzprogramms ProgRess wissenschaftlich. Konkrete Ziele sind insbesondere:

  • Die Identifikation von relevanten Akteurskreisen und die Analyse ihrer Positionen hinsichtlich Handlungsbedarfen und Ansatzpunkten von Ressourcenpolitik;
  • Die Identifikation und der Aufbau von strategischen Kapazitäten, indem relevante Akteure für die Unterstützung einer anspruchsvollen Weiterentwicklung der Ressourcenpolitik gewonnen werden;
  • Entwicklung von Argumenten für eine anspruchsvolle Ressourcenpolitik, die für die verschiedenen Akteure anschlussfähig sind.

Das Projekt ist in drei Arbeitspakete strukturiert:

  • Analyse und Weiterentwicklung der Politikansätze von ProgRess: Das Ziel ist die Analyse von Politikinstrumenten von ProgRess vor dem Hintergrund der laufenden gesellschaftlichen und politischen Debatten. Es werden Debattenanalysen und Handlungsansätze spezifiziert sowie Workshops durchgeführt.
  • Integration, Beteiligung und Evaluierung: Das Ziel ist die Entwicklung von Handlungsansätzen zur dauerhaften Verankerung von Erfordernissen der Ressourcenschonung und -effizienz in den verschiedenen Politikfeldern und ‑ebenen. Dazu sollen unter relevanten Akteursgruppen Möglichkeiten und Chancen konsensualer Prozesse zu übergreifenden Zielen und der Einsicht in Handlungserfordernisse jenseits der jeweiligen Politikfelder ermittelt werden. Es werden Analysen zur Verbesserung der horizontalen und vertikalen Integration durchgeführt und die Anschlussfähigkeit an die vorgängig analysierten Debatten untersucht. Zudem wird ein Instrument (z.B. in Form eines Leitfadens) zur Verbesserung der Vertikalintegration entwickelt sowie ein Evaluationskonzept entworfen.
  • Kommunikation: Es werden u.a. Prozesse entwickelt, organisiert und betreut, um relevante Akteure in die ressourcenpolitische Diskussion einzubeziehen.