Comparatistics

International comparison is one of the most important methods of the empirical-analytical environmental policy analysis. Based on a systematic comparative view on different national environmental policies it is possible to make general statements about the conditions for success as well as the restrictions of environmental policies. Also, this view allows to understand the causal mechanisms of change in national environmental policy. Since its foundation in 1986, comparative studies about environmental policies in industrialized countries are one of the central research topics of the FFU. Recently, the comparison of newly industrializing countries, developing countries and sub-national entities like cities or communes is becoming more and more important.
Extensive data bases about intrastate diffusion and convergency of environmental policies or local climate politics are just one example for the work of the FFU. In addition, there are comparative studies about the efficiency of national, regional and local climate and sustainability programs, case studies of environmental or climate policies in model communities as well as investigations into the relationship between decision makers on different levels.
Employees of the FF are responsible for teaching "Comparative Analysis of Political Systems" in the Bachelor's and Master's programs of the Institute for Political Sciences (OSI).

Collapse allExpand all

English version coming soon!

Das FFU führt im Rahmen des Gesamtprojekts eine Studie durch, die Best Practices auf internationaler Ebene identifiziert und analysiert. Es werden zehn Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien betrachtet, die sich in der Literatur eine Reputation als besonders erfolgreich bzw. erfolgversprechend erworben haben.

Laufzeit: 01.07.2013 - 31.12.2013

Related Links

Direct link

The Environmental Policy Research Centre is involved in the Alliance with a comprehensive project from the political science perspective. The project will investigate new governance requirements for the electricity system restructuring.

Related Links

Direct link

REALISE FORUM (Renewable Energy and Liberalisation in Selected Electricity markets–Forum) attempted to establish a basis for coherence for national renewables policies in the view of a possible harmonisation or coordination of financing mechanisms and support scheme for RES-E.

Related Links

Direct link

The GTZ-pilot project "Environmental Policy and the Promotion of Strategy Processes for Sustainable Development" (Rioplus) aimed at delivering policy advice regarding the development and implementation of sustainable development strategies.

Related Links

Direct link

Komparatistik

Der internationale Vergleich ist der wichtigste methodische Ansatz der empirisch-analytischen Umweltpolitikanalyse. Erst auf der Basis einer systematisch-vergleichenden Betrachtung verschiedener nationaler Umweltpolitiken sind generalisierbare Aussagen über die Erfolgsbedingungen und Restriktionen von Umweltpolitik oder die kausalen Mechanismen nationalen Umweltpolitikwandels möglich. Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1986 stellen vergleichende Untersuchungen zur Umweltpolitik von Industrieländern (in jüngerer Zeit auch verstärkt von Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern wie auch von sub-nationalen Einheiten wie Städten und Kommunen) einen zentralen Forschungsschwerpunkt des FFU dar.
Gearbeitet wird beispielsweise an umfassenden Datensätzen zur zwischenstaatlichen Diffusion und Konvergenz von Umweltpolitiken oder zu kommunalen Klimapolitiken. Hinzu kommen vergleichende Studien zur Effektivität nationaler, regionaler oder kommunaler Klima- und Nachhaltigkeitsprogramme, Fallstudien zu umwelt- oder klimapolitischen Modellkommunen sowie Untersuchungen zu den Beziehungen zwischen Entscheidungsträgern auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen. Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen des Instituts sind für die Lehre im Bereich "Vergleichende Analyse politischer Systeme" in den politikwissenschaftlichen BA- und MA-Studiengängen des OSI verantwortlich.

Alles ausblendenAlles einblenden

Das FFU führt im Rahmen des Gesamtprojekts eine Studie durch, die Best Practices auf internationaler Ebene identifiziert und analysiert. Es werden zehn Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien betrachtet, die sich in der Literatur eine Reputation als besonders erfolgreich bzw. erfolgversprechend erworben haben.

Laufzeit: 01.07.2013 - 31.12.2013

Links zum Thema

Direktlink

The Helmholtz Alliance ENERGY-TRANS places the connections between and among energy technologies, planning procedures and consumer behavior in the focus of the research interests and investigations. Research projects include the interaction of energy supply, energy distribution and energy storage on the one hand and institutional governance and consumer behavior on the other hand. The results are expected to provide policy-oriented knowledge for an efficient and socially acceptable design of a sustainable energy system.

Laufzeit: 01.09.2011 - 31.08.2016

Links zum Thema

Direktlink

Das REALISE FORUM (Renewable Energy and Liberalisation in Selected Electricity markets–Forum) beschäftigte sich mit der Vielfalt der bestehenden Fördersysteme für erneuerbare Energien in den Strommärkten der Europäischen Union und der Möglichkeit, auf EU-Ebene in der Zeit nach 2012 zu einem harmonisierten/koordinierten System zu kommen.

Laufzeit: 01.01.2005 - 28.02.2007

Links zum Thema

Direktlink

Das Pilotvorhaben "Umweltpolitik und Förderung von Strategieprozessen für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Rioplus)" hatte zum Ziel, für die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit Beratungskonzepte bezüglich der Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien zu erstellen und zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Laufzeit: 15.12.2003 - 31.05.2004

Links zum Thema

Direktlink