Sustainable Germany 2030 to 2050 – How do we want to live in the future? Concepts and communication processes for a “Grand Design” of the German Sustainability Strategy from an environmental policy perspective

Project partners: IFOK GmbH und Z_Punkt GmbH

Director:

Staff:

Financial support:

Federal Environmental Agency (Umweltbundesamt)

Term:

Oct 01, 2011 — Nov 30, 2014

The project aims at expanding the period of time covered by Germany’s Sustainability Strategy to the year 2030 and at sketching out the development until 2050. To do this, major issue areas and challenges need to be identified, and strategies and sub-targets for their implementation have to be developed. Furthermore, this vision of the future will be designed with a focus on participatory elements to enable broad participation of the actors concerned and civil society groups. From their contributions, roadmaps for short-, medium- and long-term action will be developed to reach the goals for 2030 and beyond.

The FFU will first of all analyze various long-term transformation concepts focusing on their possible contribution to the further development of the German Sustainability Strategy. The goals and vision outlined in them will be summarized using discourse analytical methods and presented in a “map of visions.” In a comparison with the German Sustainability Strategy, key areas for action in politics and society will be identified. This work provides the basis for the preparatory processes in three key areas in which stakeholders will collaborate to work out short-, medium- and long-term goals and roadmaps for various societal groups. The FFU will support these processes by using network analysis to select the participants for them.

Nachhaltiges Deutschland 2030 bis 2050 – Wie wollen wir in Zukunft leben? Konzeptionen und Dialogprozesse zu einem „Grand Design“ der deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie in Umweltpolitischer Perspektive

Projektpartner: IFOK GmbH und Z_Punkt GmbH

Leitung:

[Projektleitung verlinken] Dr. Klaus Jacob

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Dr. Klaus Jacob
Holger Bär
Lisa Münch

Förderung:

Umweltbundesamt

Projektlaufzeit:

01.10.2011 — 30.11.2014

Ansprechpartner:

Dr. Klaus Jacob

E-Mail:

Ziel des Projektes ist es, den Zeithorizont der nationalen Nachhaltigkeits-Strategie in ausgewählten umweltpolitischen Teilbereichen auf 2030 zu erweitern und die Entwicklung bis zum Jahr 2050 zu skizzieren. Dazu werden im Rahmen des Projektes zentrale Handlungsfelder und Herausforderungen identifiziert. Für diese werden in einem Partizipationsprozess gemeinsame mit verschiedenen Stakeholdern Ziele und Roadmaps ausgearbeitet. Mit Hilfe dieser kurz-, mittel- und langfristigen Handlungsstrategien sollen die Langfristziele bis 2030 und darüber hinaus erreicht werden.

Das FFU wird hierfür im Rahmen einer Metaanalyse existierende langfristige Transformationsansätze im Hinblick auf die Weiterentwicklung der deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie untersuchen. Deren Ziele und Visionen werden unter Nutzung von Methoden der Diskursanalyse in einer „Landkarte der Visionen“ dargestellt. Im Rahmen eines Abgleichs der Landkarte mit der deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie sollen politische und gesellschaftliche Handlungsbedarfe identifiziert werden. Diese Arbeiten bieten die Grundlage für die Partizipationsprozesse, in denen die einzelnen Ziele und Roadmaps erarbeitet werden. Die Auswahl für die an diesen Prozessen beteiligten Akteure wird das FFU wissenschaftlich mit den Mitteln einer Netzwerkanalyse unterstützen.