About us

Miranda Schreurs
Miranda Schreurs

The Environmental Policy Research Centre (FFU) is one of the world’s leading research institutes in the fields of comparative and international environmental and sustainable energy politics and policy. The FFU conducts both academic and policy-oriented research. In addition, FFU faculty and associates have developed specialized educational programs on energy and the environment for undergraduate, master’s students as well as PhD candidates. Approximately 30 researchers, staff, and student assistants plus 100 master’s and PhD students work and study in an international and multi-lingual environment.

Environmental protection and the provision of a clean energy supply pose some of the most difficult challenges of our time. The FFU has strong expertise in the political and social dimensions of global environmental issues. Research is conducted on such issues as climate change, environment and energy, strategies of sustainable development and biodiversity. As a social sciences institute, the FFU investigates the roles of actors, structures, processes, and strategies as well as environmental policy outcomes at the international, national and community levels.

The FFU is well-known for its research on environmental leadership and policy diffusion, ecological modernization and innovation, policy integration and evaluation, indicators, and environmental assessments. Energy research at the FFU is focused on renewable energies and energy efficiency. The FFU advises the German and international governments and organizations. It cooperates with numerous research institutes, universities and non-governmental organizations in Europe, Asia, North America and South America.

Martin Jänicke and Lutz Mez founded the Environmental Policy Research Centre in 1986 at the Otto-Suhr-Institut of the Freie Universität Berlin. In October 2007 Miranda Schreurs became director.

Über uns

Miranda Schreurs
Miranda Schreurs

Das Forschungszentrum für Umweltpolitik (FFU) gehört zu den weltweit führenden Instituten im Bereich der vergleichenden und internationalen Umweltpolitikforschung und der Forschung zur nachhaltigen Energiepolitik. Universitäre und Auftragsforschung sind eng verknüpft mit einem breiten Lehrangebot zur Umwelt und Energiepolitik auf der Bachelor-, Master- und PhD-Ebene. Etwa dreißig Wissenschaftler, Angestellte und studentische Mitarbeiter sowie 100 Masterstudenten und Doktoranden arbeiten und studieren zweisprachig in einem internationalen Umfeld.

Probleme der Umwelt- und Energiepolitik gehören zu den größten Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Das FFU verfügt über besondere Expertise im Bereich globaler Umweltfragen, Klima und Energie, Strategien nachhaltiger Entwicklung und Biodiversität. Aus sozialwissenschaftlichem Blickwinkel wird die Rolle von Akteuren, Strukturen, Prozessen und Strategien wie auch von Ergebnissen in der Umweltpolitik auf internationaler, nationaler und kommunaler Ebene untersucht.

Das FFU ist bekannt für seine Forschung zur Rolle von Pionierstaaten in der Politikdiffusion, zur ökologischen Modernisierung und Innovation in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft sowie zur Politikintegration und -evaluation, zu Indikatoren und Impact Assessment. Die Energiepolitikforschung am FFU behandelt insbesondere die Themen Erneuerbare Energien und Energieeffizienz. Das FFU berät nationale und internationale Regierungen und Institutionen. Es unterhält Kooperationen mit zahlreichen Universitäten, Forschungsinstituten und Nichtregierungsorganisationen in Europa, Asien sowie Nord- und Südamerika.

Das FFU wurde 1986 von Martin Jänicke und Lutz Mez am Otto-Suhr-Institut der Freien Universität Berlin gegründet. Seit Oktober 2007 ist Miranda Schreurs Direktorin.

 

Download: Flyer

Download: Broschüre