General Professional Skills Courses (ABV) and Teching-related Professional Courses (LBW)

At the Freie Universität Berlin the Bachelor of Arts (or at some other departments the Bachelor of Science) is the first level of further education which contains professional qualifications. It provides you with basic academic knowledge, competences in methods and a qualification related to the field of work.

Irrespective of whether in the structure of the subject a single or combined Bachelor is attained, 30 of the 180 credits are to be obtained either in the area of General Professional Skills Courses (ABV) or Teaching-related Professional Courses (LBW).

ABV (General Professional Skills Courses)

In this area, key qualifications relevant to both the specialism and on an inter-subject level should be attained by the completion of internships and optional modules in various competency areas, in addition to the training based in knowledge of the core subject. These qualifications should prepare the student for fields of work where knowledge and practice meet. Academic qualifications to be gained in the General Professional Skills area of study programme are regulated by central Study and Examination Regulations (German version).

LBW (Teaching-related Professional Courses)

Students who are working towards the teacher training (Lehramt) qualification will complete studies with a range of at least 30 credits in the field of study "teaching-related professional courses" (Lehramtsbezogene Berufswissenschaft). In this area the fundamental questions of education, upbringing and school will be tackled as well as specialist didactic knowledge required for teaching. In an occupational work experience placement the students gain their first experience with their later professional field of work – school – and to allow for further understanding of theoretical application. The qualifications to be gained in studying are regulated by a central administrative body for teacher training which is moderated with the other universities in the state of Berlin who offer teacher training by Study and Examination Regulations (LBW B vom 19.03.2008 (pdf) (German version), 1. Änderungsordnung vom 23.6.2009 (pdf) (German version) and 2. Änderungsordnung vom 18.03.2011 (pdf) (German version)).

Allgemeine Berufsvorbereitung (ABV) und lehramtsbezogene Berufswissenschaften (LBW)

An der Freien Universität Berlin ist der Bachelor of Arts (bzw. der an anderen Fachbereichen angebotene Bachelor of Science) der erste berufsqualifizierende Hochschulabschluss. Er vermittelt wissenschaftliche Grundkenntnisse, Methodenkompetenz und berufsfeldbezogene Qualifikationen.

Unabhängig davon, ob es sich in der Struktur des Studiengangs um einen Monobachelor oder einen Kombibachelor handelt, sind grundsätzlich 30 der 180 Leistungspunkte entweder im Bereich Allgemeine Berufsvorbereitung (ABV) oder im Bereich Lehramtsbezogene Berufswissenschaft (LBW) zu erwerben.

ABV

In diesem Bereich sollen durch die Absolvierung von Praktika und Wahlmodulen in den unterschiedlichsten Kompetenzbereichen zusätzlich zu der fundierten fachwissenschaftlichen Ausbildung fachnahe und überfachliche Schlüsselqualifikationen vermittelt werden, die auf Berufsfelder an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft und Praxis vorbereiten. Die im Studienbereich Allgemeine Berufsvorbereitung zu erwerbenden Studienleistungen sind in einer zentralen Studien- und Prüfungsordnung geregelt.

LBW

Studierende, die ein Lehramt anstreben, absolvieren Studienleistungen im Umfang von 30 Leistungspunkten im Studienbereich Lehramtsbezogene Berufswissenschaft. In diesem Bereich werden die Grundfragen von Bildung, Erziehung und Schule behandelt sowie fachdidaktische und erziehungswissenschaftliche Kenntnisse vermittelt. In einem berufsfelderschließenden Schulpraktikum gewinnen die Studierenden erste Erfahrungen mit dem späteren Berufsfeld Schule und lernen, diese theoriegeleitet zu reflektieren. Die zu erwerbenden Studienleistungen regelt eine zentrale, mit der Bildungsverwaltung und den anderen lehramtsausbildenden Universitäten des Landes Berlin abgestimmte Studien- und Prüfungsordnung (LBW B vom 19.03.2008 (pdf), 1. Änderungsordnung vom 23.6.2009 (pdf) und 2. Änderungsordnung vom 18.03.2011 (pdf)).