Springe direkt zu Inhalt

DRU research on the disaster in North Rhine-Westphalia and Rhineland-Palatinate

The disaster in North Rhine-Westphalia and Rhineland-Palatinate illustrates the need for social science disaster research in Germany. Contrary to what is often reported in the media, this was not a "natural disaster" but a social disaster. Such a perspective is crucial because extreme rainfall only evolved into a disaster due to societal susceptibility. Accordingly, in order to prevent future disasters, it is important to focus on effectively addressing climate change as well as the social causes of the disaster, which include land use, the lack of suitable protective structures, an effective warning culture and social vulnerabilities. At the same time, we are to ask how coping resources can be strengthened, for example in the form of adapting disaster management to future disaster scenarios, people’s self- and peer-help ability, and resilience in reconstruction. 

These topics have been addressed in the past and are currently being addressed in various research projects of the DRU. For example, the projects INVOLVE and FloodEvac examined past flood events in Germany, such as the Elbe flood of 2013. Warning processes and cultures, as well as specifically the warning of extreme weather events, were and are the focus of the projects ENSUREWEXICOM II and WEXICOM III. The TsunamiRisk project is dedicated to the investigation of institutional warning processes. In INVOLVEvulnerability during the Elbe floods in 2013 and resilience in the reconstruction process three years later were recorded. Other projects, such as KOPHIS, examined the vulnerability of specific vulnerable groups. The willingness of the population to help and people’s behaviour during disasters were a central topic of ENSURE. And climate change and its impact on disasters were also studied in projects (ANiKINCREASE).

The DRU team plans to study the disaster in North Rhine-Westphalia and Rhineland-Palatinate in various research projects and to conduct specific investigations.

Accordingly, an analysis of flood events in Germany is planned in INCREASE. The aim is to draw lessons from recent flood experiences in Germany and to derive lessons learned for integrated disaster risk management (ICRM).

The project RESIK focuses on hospital evacuations and the importance of the issue of critical infrastructure in hospitals in the flood situation.

In order to be able to assess complex risks and challenges of the future as well as societal resilience in a more systemic way, a wide-ranging Research Centre for Resilience and the Protection of the Population is needed. A corresponding concept can be found here in German and English.

Media contributions

BGSMCS
Berlin Southern Theory Lecture

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Forschung der KFS zur Katastrophe in Nordrhein-Westfalen und Rheinland-Pfalz 2021

Die Katastrophe in Nordrhein-Westfalen und Rheinland-Pfalz verdeutlicht die Notwendigkeit sozialwissenschaftlicher Katastrophenforschung in Deutschland. Anders als häufig in den Medien berichtet, handelt es sich nicht um eine „Naturkatastrophe“, sondern um eine Sozialkatastrophe. Dies ist deshalb entscheidend, weil es sich zwar um extreme Niederschläge gehandelt hat, diese jedoch erst aufgrund einer gesellschaftlichen Anfälligkeit zur Katastrophe werden konnten. Entsprechend gilt es zur Verhinderung künftiger Katastrophen – neben der Begrenzung des Klimawandels – v.a. den Blick auf die gesellschaftlichen Ursachen der Katastrophe zu lenken, die u.a. in der Landnutzung, dem Fehlen von geeigneten Schutzbauten, einer wirksamen Warnkultur und sozialen Vulnerabilitäten zu suchen sind und gleichzeitig zu fragen, wie Bewältigungsressourcen bspw. in Form der Anpassung des Katastrophenschutzes an künftige Katastrophenszenarien, der Selbst- und Fremdhilfefähigkeit der Bevölkerung und die Resilienz im Wiederaufbau gestärkt werden können.

Diese Themen wurde in der Vergangenheit und werden aktuell bereits in verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten der KFS aufgegriffen. So untersuchten die Projekten INVOLVE und FloodEvac vergangene Hochwasserereignisse in Deutschland, wie das Elbehochwasser 2013. Warnprozesse und -kulturen, sowie speziell die Warnung von Extremwetterereignissen, standen und stehen in den Projekten ENSUREWEXICOM II und WEXICOM III in Zentrum. Das Projekt TsunamiRisk widmet sich der Untersuchung institutioneller Warnprozesse In INVOLVE wurde die Vulnerabilität beim Elbehochwasser 2013 sowie die Resilienz im Prozess des Wiederaufbaus drei Jahre danach erfasst. Andere Projekte, wie KOPHIS, untersuchten die Vulnerabilität spezieller vulnerabler Gruppen. Die Hilfsbereitschaft der Bevölkerung und das Verhalten bei Katastrophen waren ein zentrales Thema von ENSURE. Und auch der Klimawandel und seine Auswirkungen auf Katastrophen wurden in Projekten (ANiKINCREASE) untersucht.

Es ist geplant, die Katastrophe in Nordrhein-Westfalen und Rheinland-Pfalz in verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten aufzugreifen und zum Gegenstand von Untersuchungen zu machen.

So ist in INCREASE eine Analyse der Hochwasserereignisse Deutschland geplant. Ziel ist es, die Erkenntnisse aus den jüngsten Hochwassererfahrungen in Deutschland zu ziehen und Lessons Learned für ein integriertes Katastrophenrisikomanagement (IKRM) abzuleiten.

Im Projekt RESIK werden die Krankenhausevakuierungen und die Bedeutung des Themas kritische Infrastrukturen in Krankenhäusern in der Hochwasserlage fokussiert. 

Um komplexe Gefahren und Herausforderungen der Zukunft sowie gesellschaftliche Resilienz systemischer erforschen zu können, bedarf es eines breit aufgestellten Forschungszentrums für Resilienz und den Schutz der Bevölkerung. Ein entsprechendes Konzept finden Sie hier auf Deutsch und Englisch. 

Medienbeiträge

SFB 1171 Affective Societies
BGSMCS
Berlin Southern Theory Lecture