Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Project

Bildquelle ©Daniel F. Lorenz

Bildquelle ©Daniel F. Lorenz

Why this project?
Population protection has been under multiple pressures to adapt: globalization, demographic change, and climate change go hand‐in‐hand with a transformation in hazard and operational situations. At the same time, there are changes in motivational structures, and the emergence of more flexible forms of civil engagement (e.g. so‐called unattached, spontaneous, or digital volunteers) compete with more traditional, long‐term commitment. This project contrasts existing concepts from research and practice with these challenges. The approaches are analyzed based on their relevance and suitability for volunteer engagement in different organizations in population protection.


Methods
The project thoroughly examines the state‐of‐the‐art of different forms of engagement in population protection. With the help of additional expert interviews, a survey‐based SWOT analysis, and scenario thinking, it aims to develop a typology for various ways of volunteering and to assess them against the background of various megatrends. The results will be published in a monograph, with recommendations for action.


Innovation
The project’s aim is a comprehensive, research‐based and practice‐oriented atlas which portrays prospects for civil society engagement in population protection against the background of societal change, risk trends, and institutional characteristics of emergency and rescue
services (specifically, “Behörden und Organisationen mit Sicherheitsaufgaben”, or “Authorities and Organizations with Security Tasks”).


Project term:
01.10.2021 — 30.09.2023

BGSMCS
Berlin Southern Theory Lecture

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Projekt

Bildquelle ©Daniel F. Lorenz

Bildquelle ©Daniel F. Lorenz

Warum dieses Projekt?
Der Bevölkerungsschutz steht unter mehrfachem Anpassungsdruck: Im Zuge etwa der Globalisierung, des demographischen Wandels und dem Klimawandel verändern sich auch Gefahren- und Einsatzlagen. Gleichzeitig verändern sich Motivationsstrukturen und das Aufkommen neuer flexiblerer Engagementformen, bspw. sog. ungebundene Helfer*innen, Spontanhelfer*innen oder Digital Volunteers setzen das klassische Ehrenamt mit seinen längerfristigen Bindungsformen unter Druck. Das Projekt analysiert Ansätze aus Forschung und Praxis zum Umgang mit diesen Herausforderungen auf ihre Relevanz für zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement im Bevölkerungsschutz u. a. hinsichtlich ihrer Tauglichkeit für operative Praxen in verschieden Behörden und Organisationen mit Sicherheitsaufgaben.


Methode
Das Projekt wertet den Forschungsstand zu Engagementformen im Bevölkerungsschutz aus, führt ergänzende Expert*inneninterviews und eine umfragebasierte SWOT-Analyse durch, entwickelt eine Typisierung unterschiedlicher Engagementformen und bewertet sie mit Blick auf verschiedene in Szenarien dargestellte Megatrends. Die Befunde werden in einer Monographie sowie als Handlungsempfehlungen veröffentlicht.


Innovation
Ziel ist ein umfassender wissenschaftlich fundierter und praxisorientierter Atlas mit Zukunftsperspektiven zum zivilgesellschaftlichen Engagement im Bevölkerungsschutz vor dem Hintergrund gesellschaftlicher Veränderungen, Risikotrends und institutioneller Besonderheiten unterschiedlicher Behörden und Organisationen mit Sicherheitsaufgaben.


Projektlaufzeit
01.10.2021 — 30.09.2023

SFB 1171 Affective Societies
BGSMCS
Berlin Southern Theory Lecture