Springe direkt zu Inhalt

ATLAS-ENGAGE: Civil Society Involvement in Population Protection

Institution:

Disaster Research Unit (DRU)

Principal Investigator:
Funding:

Federal Agency for Civil Protection and Disaster Assistance (BBK)

Grant ID: BBK III.1 - 41201 / 0011

In cooperation with

German Red Cross, General Secretariat (DRK)

Technical support

Federal Agency for Technical Relief (THW)

Term:
Oct 01, 2021 — Sep 30, 2023
BBK

BBK

The project "Atlas of Civil Society Engagement in Population Protection - Societal Change and Involvement in Authorities and Organizations with Security Tasks" deals with different forms of involvement in population protection and disaster situations against the backdrop of societal developments.

Population protection has been under multiple pressures to adapt: globalization, demographic change, and climate change go hand-in-hand with a transformation in hazard and operational situations. At the same time, there are changes in motivational structures, and the emergence of more flexible forms of civil engagement (e.g. so-called unattached, spontaneous, or digital volunteers) compete with more traditional, long-term commitment. This project contrasts existing concepts from research and practice with these challenges. The approaches are analyzed based on their relevance and suitability for volunteer engagement in different organizations in population protection.

The project thoroughly examines the state-of-the-art of different forms of engagement in population protection. With the help of additional expert interviews, a survey-based SWOT analysis, and scenario thinking, it aims to develop a typology for various ways of volunteering and to assess them against the background of various megatrends. The results will be published in a monograph, with recommendations for action. The project’s aim is a comprehensive, research-based and practice-oriented atlas which portrays prospects for civil society engagement in population protection against the background of societal change, risk trends, and institutional characteristics of emergency and rescue services (specifically, “Behörden und Organisationen mit Sicherheitsaufgaben”, or “Authorities and Organizations with Security Tasks”).

The ATLAS-ENGAGE project is funded by the Federal Office of Civil Protection and Disaster Assistance, technically supported by the Federal Agency for Technical Relief, conducted by the Disaster Research Unit in cooperation with the German Red Cross, and assisted by a number of other stakeholders.

BGSMCS
Berlin Southern Theory Lecture

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

ATLAS-ENGAGE – Atlas des zivilgesellschaftlichen Engagements im Bevölkerungsschutz

Institution:

Katastrophenforschungsstelle (KFS)

Projektleitung:
Förderung:

Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz und Katastrophenhilfe (BBK)

Förderkennzeichen: BBK III.1 - 41201 / 0011

In Zusammenarbeit mit

Deutsches Rotes Kreuz, Generalsekretariat

Fachliche Begleitung

Bundesanstalt Technisches Hilfswerk

Projektlaufzeit:
01.10.2021 — 30.09.2023

Das Vorhaben „Atlas des zivilgesellschaftlichen Engagements im Bevölkerungsschutz - Gesellschaftliche Veränderungen und Einbindung in Behörden und Organisationen mit Sicherheitsaufgaben (BOS)“ beschäftigt sich mit unterschiedlichen Beteiligungsformen im Bevölkerungsschutz und in Katastrophenlagen im Kontext gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen.

Der Bevölkerungsschutz steht unter mehrfachem Anpassungsdruck: Im Zuge etwa der Globalisierung, des demographischen Wandels und dem Klimawandel verändern sich auch Gefahren- und Einsatzlagen. Gleichzeitig verändern sich Motivationsstrukturen und das Aufkommen neuer flexiblerer Engagementformen, bspw. sog. ungebundene Helfer*innen, Spontanhelfer*innen oder Digital Volunteers setzen das klassische Ehrenamt mit seinen längerfristigen Bindungsformen unter Druck. Das vom BBK geförderte Projekt ATLAS-ENGAGE analysiert Ansätze aus Forschung und Praxis zum Umgang mit diesen Herausforderungen auf ihre Relevanz für zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement im Bevölkerungsschutz u. a. hinsichtlich ihrer Tauglichkeit für operative Praxen in verschieden Behörden und Organisationen mit Sicherheitsaufgaben.

Das Projekt wertet den Forschungsstand zu Engagementformen im Bevölkerungsschutz aus, führt ergänzende Expert*inneninterviews und eine umfragebasierte SWOT-Analyse durch, entwickelt eine Typisierung unterschiedlicher Engagementformen und bewertet sie mit Blick auf verschiedene in Szenarien dargestellte Megatrends. Die Befunde werden in einer Monographie sowie als Handlungsempfehlungen veröffentlicht. Ziel ist ein umfassender wissenschaftlich fundierter und praxisorientierter Atlas mit Zukunftsperspektiven zum zivilgesellschaftlichen Engagement im Bevölkerungsschutz vor dem Hintergrund gesellschaftlicher Veränderungen, Risikotrends und institutioneller Besonderheiten unterschiedlicher Behörden und Organisationen mit Sicherheitsaufgaben.

Das Projekt ATLAS-ENGAGE wird vom Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz und Katastrophenhilfe gefördert, von der Bundesanstalt Technisches Hilfswerk fachlich begleitet, von der Katastrophenforschungsstelle in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Deutschen Roten Kreuz durchgeführt und von einer Reihe weiterer Akteure unterstützt.

SFB 1171 Affective Societies
BGSMCS
Berlin Southern Theory Lecture