Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Social Cohesion in Times of Changing Climates (Definition Project) (completed)

Institution:

Disaster Research Unit (DRU)

Principal Investigator:
Research Team:
Funding:

Berlin University Alliance

Term:
Dec 01, 2019 — May 31, 2020

Climate change is a phenomenon that can have effects in many different directions, including social cohesion. On the one hand, societies are physically under pressure due to the combination of changing environmental conditions and on the other hand, socially due to climate change discourses and distribution conflicts. At the same time, social cohesion is a key resource for addressing climate change issues.

The definition project aims to develop a full proposal along six thematic fields for case studies and a theoretical-conceptual metaproject. These are to be researched in the proposed main project from an inter- and transdisciplinary perspective as part of postdoctoral positions. A virtual transdisciplinary workshop will be organised for this purpose.

In order to frame and generalise the empirical results, a more wide-ranging, epistemologically tested concept of social cohesion is required, which is to be developed in the main project on the basis of the following questions:

How do we have to think about social cohesion in order to sustainably deal with global climate change across cultures and generations?

Is there a general basis for the apparently fundamentally important social cohesion that transcends differences in norms and values?

BGSMCS
Berlin Southern Theory Lecture

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Soziale Kohäsion im Klimawandel (Definitionsprojekt) (abgeschlossen)

Institution:

Katastrophenforschungsstelle (KFS)

Projektleitung:
Mitarbeiter/innen:
Förderung:

Berlin University Alliance

Projektlaufzeit:
01.12.2019 — 31.05.2020

Der Klimawandel ist ein Phänomen, das in viele verschiedenen Richtungen, nicht zuletzt auch auf die soziale Kohäsion wirken kann. Zum einen stehen Gesellschaften physisch durch die Kombination sich verändernder Umweltbedingungen und zum anderen sozial entlang von Klimawandeldiskursen und Verteilungskonflikten unter Druck. Gleichzeitig ist soziale Kohäsion eine zentrale Ressource, um Klimawandelproblematiken zu begegnen.

Das Definitionsprojekt zielt auf die Ausarbeitung eines Vollantrags entlang von sechs Themengebieten für Fallstudien und eines theoretisch-konzeptionellen Metaprojekts ab. Diese sollen im beantragten Hauptprojekt aus inter- und transdisziplinärer Perspektive im Rahmen von Postdoktorand*innenstellen beforscht werden. Hierzu wird ein virtueller transdisziplinärer Workshop veranstaltet.

Zur Rahmung und Verallgemeinerung der empirischen Ergebnisse bedarf es eines weiterreichenden, epistemologisch geprüften Begriffesvon sozialer Kohäsion, welchen es anhand folgender Fragen im Hauptprojekt zu entwickeln gilt:

Wie müssen wir soziale Kohäsion denken, um dem globalen Klimawandel kultur- und generationenübergreifend nachhaltig begegnen zu können?

Gibt es für die offenbar fundamental bedeutende soziale Kohäsion eine Normen- und Wertedifferenzen übergreifende allgemeine Grundlage?

SFB 1171 Affective Societies
BGSMCS
Berlin Southern Theory Lecture