The Jean Monnet Chair at the Center for European Integration

In September 2006, Prof. Dr. Tanja A. Börzel was awarded a Jean Monnet Chair by the European Commission. The funding enables the Center to intensify teaching and research activities and to organize new initiatives and a working paper series.


The Jean Monnet Chair enriches undergraduate as well as graduate teaching activities at the Center for European Integration in various ways. Apart from providing additional funds for textbook purchases and travel costs, the Jean Monnet Chair lays the foundation for excellent teaching by promoting research activities, exchange and networking as well as the publication of research results. Most courses on European Integration at the Otto-Suhr-Institute are led by Prof. Dr. Tanja A. Börzel and her research associates at the Center for European Integration.


Thanks to the Jean Monnet Chair, the Center for European Integration is able to organize a series of new events, which will foster international and interdisciplinary exchange between scholars and provide information on topics of European Integration to a broader public.

The Dahlem Talks on Europe (“Dahlemer Europagespräche”) bring together international researchers and practitioners to discuss recent developments and challenges to European Integration. The talks are intended to create public interest in questions of European Integration and stimulate new and creative concepts and ideas.

Starting in autumn of 2007, a seminar series will be established, giving German and international experts the possibility to reflect on the state of the art of research on European Integration. The first series is dedicated to “Europeanization goes East,” the second, starting in autumn of 2008, will deal with “Europe as an imagined community.” The aim of the seminar series is to initiate intellectual exchange between scholars within and outside the university as well as between researchers and students.

Furthermore, conferences and workshops will provide the opportunity to present and discuss research results of the Center. The first conference, “Making EU Law Work – inside and outside the European Union,” will take place in December 2007. Two further workshops in 2008/2009 are in the planning stages.  

Berlin Working Papers on European Integration

In the tradition of many Jean Monnet research papers, the Berlin Working Papers on European Integration publish recent works from the Center for European Integration and the Jean Monnet Chair.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Der Jean Monnet Lehrstuhl an der Arbeitsstelle Europäische Integration

Jean Monnet Centre

Jean Monnet Centre

Im September 2006 hat Prof. Dr. Tanja A. Börzel, Leiterin der Arbeitsstelle Europäische Integration, einen Jean Monnet Lehrstuhl von der Europäischen Kommission zuerkannt bekommen und ist seit 2009 zusätzlich Direktorin des Jean Monnet Exzellenzzentrums "The EU and its Citizens" an der Freien Universität Berlin. Durch die Förderung können Lehr- und Forschungsaktivitäten an der Arbeitsstelle ausgebaut und um Veranstaltungen sowie eine eigene Arbeitspapier-Reihe ergänzt werden.

Lehre

Durch den Jean Monnet Lehrstuhl wird die Lehre an der Arbeitsstelle Europäische Integration in vielfältiger Weise unterstützt. Die geschieht zum einen direkt mit zusätzlichen Mitteln für Bücheranschaffungen, Reisekosten, etc. Zum anderen wird indirekt die Grundlage für hervorragende Lehre gelegt, indem Forschungsaktivitäten, Austausch und Vernetzung sowie die Veröffentlichung von Ergebnissen gefördert werden. Die Lehre im Bereich Europäische Integration am Otto-Suhr-Institut wird dabei primär von Prof. Dr. Tanja A. Börzel und Mitarbeitern und Mitarbeiterinnen der Arbeitsstelle getragen.

Veranstaltungen

Dank der Einrichtung des Jean Monnet Lehrstuhls findet eine Reihe von neuen Veranstaltungen statt, die den internationalen Austausch zwischen Forschern, aber auch mit einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit, herstellen.

Die Dahlemer Europagespräche bringen mindestens einmal im Jahr internationale Forscher und Praktiker zusammen, um über aktuelle Entwicklungen und Herausforderungen Europäischer Integration zu diskutieren. Sie richten sich an ein breites Publikum und wollen Interesse und Verständnis wecken, Denkanstöße geben und die Entwicklung neuer Ideen, Konzepte und Lösungen anregen.

Ab Herbst 2007 findet außerdem eine Seminarreihe statt, in der deutsche und internationale Experten den aktuellen Stand der Europäischen Integrationsforschung reflektieren. Die erste Seminarreihe widmet sich dem Thema "Europeanization goes East". Ab Herbst 2008 wird dann der Themenkomplex "Europe as an imagined community" behandelt. Damit zielt die Seminarreihe vor allem auf einen akademischen Austausch, an dem universitäre und außeruniversitäre Einrichtungen, Forscher und Studierende teilnehmen.

Im Rahmen von Konferenzen und Workshops werden darüber hinaus die Ergebnisse interner Forschungsaktivitäten vorgestellt und diskutiert. Der erste Workshop zum Thema "Making EU law work - inside and outside the European Union" findet im Dezember 2007 statt. Zwei weitere sind 2008/2009 geplant

Arbeitspapiere

In der Tradition vieler „Jean Monnet Arbeitspapiere“ steht die neue Reihe der „Berliner Arbeitspapiere zur Europäischen Integration“, in der aktuelle Arbeiten aus dem Umfeld von Arbeitsstelle und Jean Monnet Lehrstuhl veröffentlicht werden.