RenErGo - Renewable Energy Governance in China and the EU

Research focus:  Biomasse in China, relations with Europe

Director:

Staff:

Dr. He Guizhen
Prof. Dr. Lu Yonglong
Drs. Han Jingyi
Drs. Li Haiqian
Dr. Wei Jiang
Dr. Mao Risheng
Drs. Dong Baoqi
Dr. Zhang Lei
Drs. Bettina Bluemling

Financial support:

ERA-Net`s CO-REACH, BMBF

Term:

Aug 01, 2009 — Jul 31, 2011

Contact Person:

Miranda Schreurs

Email:

Strongly pushed by energy-security, peak-oil, growing energy demand and climate change, China is increasing bio-energy production and consumption. China is one of the leading countries in small wind, hydropower, solar thermal and biogas applications. It has a long history of small-scale bioenergy production, and ranks third in the list of world’s largest bio-ethanol producers. With the coming into effect of China’s renewable energy law in 2006, renewable energy policy obtained an overarching framework. Bioenergy development here has become a priority of the government agenda.

In parallel to the new renewable energy law, the Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) came into effect and has already been largely applied in China. Among the Asian-Pacific countries, which make 77% of worldwide CDM projects, China accounts for 49% of projects, with renewable energy (among which bio-energy) taking a prominent place. EU countries have become the major partner for CER trading.

This collaboration will exchange knowledge about as well as conduct joint research on changes in governance processes of renewable energy after the coming into effect of the renewable energy law and the CDM. These two new instruments influence multi-level renewable energy governance in different ways. Whereas the renewable energy law corresponds to a classical approach of national law implementation down to the local level, the CDM follows a different approach of multi-level governance by directly addressing, after the project approval by a national auditing agency, the local level. The aim of the collaboration is to compare these two instruments in their impact on multi-level governance and assess potential synergies in their implementation in China.

Name of Principal Investigator (Europe): Prof. Dr. Arthur P.J. Mol, Wageningen University, Department of Social Sciences, Environmental Policy Group,

Name of Principal Investigator (CASS): Dr. Tu Qin, Institute of World Economics and Politics, Economic Development Group

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

RenErGo - Renewable Energy Governance in China and the EU

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Dr. He Guizhen
Prof. Dr. Lu Yonglong
Drs. Han Jingyi
Drs. Li Haiqian
Dr. Wei Jiang
Dr. Mao Risheng
Drs. Dong Baoqi
Dr. Zhang Lei
Drs. Bettina Bluemling

Förderung:
ERA-Net`s CO-REACH, BMBF
Projektlaufzeit:
01.08.2009 — 31.07.2011
Ansprechpartner/in:
Miranda Schreurs

Forschungsschwerpunkte:  Biomasse in China, Beziehungen zu Europa

Vorangetrieben von dem Bedürfnis nach Energiesicherheit, der Ölverknappung, zunehmender Nachfrage nach Energie und dem Klimawandel steigert China seine Bio-Energie Produktion und den Verbrauch selbiger. China ist eines der führenden Länder beim Einsatz von kleinen Windanlagen, Wasserkraft, Solarthermie und Biogas. Es hat eine lange Geschichte der Bioenergie-Produktion im Kleinen und befindet sich auf dem weltweit dritten Platz als Bio-Ethanol-Produzent. Seitdem Chinas Erneuerbare-Energie-Gesetz im Jahre 2006 in Kraft getreten ist, wurden Erneuerbare Energien zu einem überspannenden Rahmen. Die Entwicklung von Bioenergie ist eine Priorität der Regierung geworden.

Parallel zum neuen Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetz trat der Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) in Kraft und wurde bereits weiträumig in China angewendet. Unter den asiatisch-pazifischen Ländern, die 77% der weltweiten CDM-Projekte führen, ist China für 49% der Projekte zuständig, wobei Erneuerbare Energien (zu denen auch die Bio-Energie gehört) einen besonders hohen Stellenwert haben. EU-Länder sind zum größten Partner für CER-Handel geworden.

Diese Kooperation wird sowohl Wissen austauschen als auch gemeinsame Forschung zu Veränderungen im Governance-Prozess von Erneuerbaren Energien nach dem In-Kraft-Treten des Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetzes des Landes und des CDM betreiben. Diese beiden neuen Instrumente beeinflussen die Multi-Level Steuerung von Erneuerbaren Energien auf verschiedene Arten. Während das Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetz einem klassischen Ansatz der Implementierung nationalen Rechts auf die kommunale Ebene entspricht, verfolgt der CDM einen anderen Ansatz der Multi-Level Steuerung, indem er nach der Projektzusage einer nationalen Prüfungsstelle direkt die kommunale Ebene anspricht. Das Ziel der Zusammenarbeit besteht darin, diese beiden Instrumente bezüglich ihrer Wirkung auf die Multi-Leve Steuerung zu vergleichen und potentielle Synergien für ihre Implementierung in China einzuschätzen.

Name of Principal Investigator (Europe): Prof. Dr. Arthur P.J. Mol, Wageningen University, Department of Social Sciences, Environmental Policy Group,

Name of Principal Investigator (CASS): Dr. Tu Qin, Institute of World Economics and Politics, Economic Development Group