About the Institute of Social and Cultural Anthropology

The subject of ethnology has enjoyed a nearly 150-year-long institutional history in Berlin, beginning in 1869 with the founding of the ‘Berliner Gesellschaft für Anthropologie’–the successor of which convenes to the present day–under Adolf Bastian and Rudolf Virchow, two pioneers of the field in Germany. Anthropology has been a part of the curriculum at the Freie Universität Berlin since its establishment in 1948. Throughout the various changes that have taken place since–including shifting regional, methodological and theoretical focusses–the Institute has continuously tracked and participated in developments within Cultural and Social Anthropology as international academic fields, while maintaining a commitment to empirically-grounded, regionally-specialized research as well as to interdisciplinary collaboration, adapting theories and methods from across the humanities and the social and natural sciences.

The Institute of Social and Cultural Anthropology is located in the Dahlem district of Berlin, at Landoltweg 9-11, in a former villa with an inviting and spacious garden. It is only a very short walking distance away from the main buildings and central cafeteria of the Freie Universität. An additional villa, around the corner at Thielallee 52, was acquired by the institute in 2013 and houses offices for academic staff. The central university library as well as the political and social-sciences library, which has overseen the ethnology collection since 2007, are also within easy walking distance. Students regularly visit the institute in order to attend lectures and seminars or to make use of the garden and the student-run café ‘Goldfish’. Alongside the BA and MA degree courses in Social and Cultural Anthropology, the Institute offers an English-language MA specialization in Visual and Media Anthropology. All three courses provide an excellent university-level training grounded in current debates within the discipline and topics of contemporary global concern.

With regional specializations in island Southeast Asia and East and Southern Africa, the Institute conducts and supervises a number of doctoral and post-doctoral research projects, many involving aspects of migration and transnationalism linking them with Europe. Students at the Institute have the opportunity to actively profit from and become involved in the research conducted by staff. The work of the Institute enjoys an excellent national and international reputation and is divided amongst seven research areas: Anthropology of Emotion, Medical Anthropology, Environmental Anthropology, Visual and Media Anthropology, the Disaster Research Unit,Anthropology of Religion, and Political and Legal Anthropology. As part of the DFG Excellence Initiative, the Institute is linked with the Berlin Graduate School of Muslim Cultures and Societies and the Graduate School of East Asian Studies as well as the Cluster of Excellence “Languages of Emotion” (LoE) at the Freie Universität. It collaborates with the FU Center for Area Studies and the other institutes within the university’s Department of Political and Social Sciences. With its additional success in securing external funding for a range of research projects, the Institute is among the most research-intensive in Germany. It is also well-connected internationally, profiting from a wide network of partner universities and institutions abroad and overseas.

Über das Institut für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie

Mit dem Wirken von Adolf Bastian und Rudolf Virchow, die im Jahr 1869 die „Berliner Gesellschaft für Anthropologie“ mitbegründet haben (heute: Berliner Gesellschaft für Anthropologie, Ethnologie und Urgeschichte), blickt das Fach Ethnologie bzw. Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie in Berlin auf eine mittlerweile knapp 150-jährige Geschichte zurück. An der Freien Universität ist die Disziplin seit ihrer Gründung 1948 verankert und hat hier eine wechselreiche Geschichte durchlaufen. Kennzeichnend war dabei in allen Phasen der Institutsgeschichte – und jenseits von immer wieder wechselnden regionalen, methodischen und theoretischen Ausrichtungen – eine starke Orientierung an der internationalen Cultural und Social Anthropology, sowie ein dezidierter Fokus auf empirisch fundierte Regionalforschung und eine intensive Verknüpfung mit interdisziplinären Theorien und Methoden, insbesondere aus dem Bereich der Geistes-, Sozial- und Naturwissenschaften.*

Das Institut für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie (früher "Institut für Ethnologie")  befindet sich heute im Landoltweg 9-11 in einer Villa mit Garten, die wenige Schritte von den Hauptgebäuden der Freien Universität – der „Rost- und Silberlaube“ – sowie der Großen Mensa entfernt liegt. Im Jahr 2013 wurde ein weiteres Villengebäude in der angrenzenden Thielallee 52 bezogen, in dem sich vorwiegend Büros von Lehrenden und anderen Mitarbeitern befinden. Auch die Universitätsbibliothek und die Bibliotheken des Fachbereichs Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften, in die die ethnologische Sammlung im Jahr 2007 eingegliedert wurde, befinden sich in Laufnähe. Viele Studierende kommen regelmäßig ans Institut, um Lehrveranstaltungen zu besuchen oder sich im Rahmen des studentischen Cafés „goldfish“ bzw. im Institutseigenen Garten zu treffen. Neben den BA- und MA-Studiengängen Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie wird am Institut für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie der englischsprachige weiterbildende Master-Studiengang Visual and Media Anthropology angeboten. Alle drei Studiengänge vermitteln den Studierenden eine qualifizierte, an aktuellen Fachdebatten und globalen Problemen orientierte universitäre Ausbildung.

Mit den regionalen Schwerpunktsetzungen insulares Südostasien sowie östliches und südliches Afrika führt das Institut eine Vielzahl von Forschungs- und Promotionsprojekten durch, die häufig auch Migrationszusammenhänge im europäischen Umfeld mit einschließen und in die sich Studierende des Institut mit einbringen können. Fünf Arbeitsstellen – Anthropologie der Emotionen, Medizinethnologie, Umweltanthropologie, Katastrophenforschung, Visuelle und Medienanthropologie – stellen, zusammen mit der Religionsethnologie und der Politik- und Rechtsanthropologie, übergreifende Forschungsschwerpunkte unseres Instituts dar, die sowohl im deutschsprachigen Raum als auch international hohe Sichtbarkeit haben. Im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative ist das Institut in die Graduiertenschulen „Muslim Cultures and Societies“ und „East Asian Studies“ sowie das Exzellenzcluster „Languages of Emotion“ eingebunden und unterhält schließlich enge Arbeitsbeziehungen zum FU Center for Area Studies und den anderen Instituten des Fachbereichs Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften. Durch zahlreiche Drittmittelforschungsprojekte gehört das Institut für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie zu einem der forschungsstärksten Institute in Deutschland und verfügt ferner über viele internationale Netzwerke zu Partneruniversitäten im Ausland.

* Renner, Egon (2002): Die Ethnologie an der Freien Universität Berlin: Fünfzig Jahre außergewöhnliche Fachgeschichte. In: Kultursoziologie 11 (2): 127-152.