Springe direkt zu Inhalt

DFG Funds New Research Project “Translocal Networks: Public Sphere in the Social Web” at the Institute for Media and Communication Studies

Prof. Dr. Barbara Pfetsch, Dr. Neta Kligler-Vilenchik, Jun.-Prof. Dr. Annie Waldherr, Daniela Stoltenberg, Daniel Maier

Prof. Dr. Barbara Pfetsch, Dr. Neta Kligler-Vilenchik, Jun.-Prof. Dr. Annie Waldherr, Daniela Stoltenberg, Daniel Maier
Image Credit: Lars-Ole Müller

A new research project, led by Prof. Dr. Barbara Pfetsch (FU Berlin) and Jun.-Prof. Dr. Annie Waldherr (University of Münster), is investigating digital urban public spheres. Starting in January 2018, the four-year project will focus on the Twitterspheres of Berlin and Jerusalem. The research will be conducted in cooperation with Dr. Neta Kligler-Vilenchik (Hebrew University of Jerusalem) and received roughly 500,000 Euros in funding from the German Research Foundation (DFG).

The way sociality is organized through spaces has undergone considerable changes over the last few decades. The relation between humans and their spaces is being re-negotiated due to social, political, and technological change, as well as resulting feelings of uncertainty. These processes can be described as re-figuration and are the focal point of the new collaborative research center 1265 “Re-Figuration of Spaces”, led by the Technical University of Berlin.

Daniel Maier (FU Berlin) and Daniela Stoltenberg (University of Münster) will conduct research for the Translocal Networks project. In it, they will investigate the urban public spheres forming on Twitter in the cities of Berlin and Jerusalem: With whom, in what locations, and about what topics do Twitter users communicate? How do virtual urban public spheres emerge from this usage? How do users synthesize global and local, virtual and material, as well as public and private spatial reference points into individual figurations of space? What subjective spatial knowledge do they relate to this?

To approach these questions, the researchers will collect Twitter data and investigate it using network analysis, geo-coding, and automated content analysis procedures. To tie in this evidence on the societal level with subjective experiences, ego-networks and survey data will be collected for a group of particularly active users.

Further Information
Logo_IMS

DFG bewilligt neues Forschungsprojekt am IfPuK: „Translokale Netzwerke: Öffentlichkeit im Social Web“

Prof. Dr. Barbara Pfetsch, Dr. Neta Kligler-Vilenchik, Jun.-Prof. Dr. Annie Waldherr, Daniela Stoltenberg, Daniel Maier (v.l.n.r.)

Prof. Dr. Barbara Pfetsch, Dr. Neta Kligler-Vilenchik, Jun.-Prof. Dr. Annie Waldherr, Daniela Stoltenberg, Daniel Maier (v.l.n.r.)
Bildquelle: Lars-Ole Mueller & Sophie Wehden

Unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Barbara Pfetsch (Freie Universität Berlin) und Jun.-Prof. Dr. Annie Waldherr (Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster) befasst sich seit Januar 2018 ein Forschungsprojekt an unserem Institut mit digitalen (Stadt-)Öffentlichkeiten. Im Fokus des zunächst auf vier Jahre angelegten Projekts stehen die Twittersphären der Städte Berlin und Jerusalem. Das gemeinsam mit der Kooperationspartnerin Dr. Neta Kligler-Vilenchik (Hebrew University of Jerusalem) durchgeführte Projekt wird von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft mit rund 500.000 Euro gefördert.

Die Organisation des Sozialen durch Räume durchlief in den letzten Jahrzehnten grundlegende Veränderungen. Das Verhältnis von Menschen zu ihren Räumen wird, bedingt durch den sozialen, politischen und technologischen Wandel und damit verbundener Verunsicherung, neu verhandelt und umgestellt. Diese Prozesse können mit dem Begriff der Re-Figuration gefasst werden und sind Ausgangspunkt der Forschung des neuen Sonderforschungsbereichs 1265 „Re-Figuration von Räumen“ (Sprecherhochschule: TU Berlin).

Das Teilprojekt „Translokale Netzwerke: Öffentlichkeit im Social Web“, unter Bearbeitung von Daniel Maier (FU Berlin) und Daniela Stoltenberg (WWU Münster), analysiert auf gesellschaftlicher und subjektiver Ebene die auf Twitter entstehenden Stadtöffentlichkeiten von Berlin und Jerusalem: Mit wem, an welchen Orten und zu welchen Themen kommunizieren Twitter-NutzerInnen und wie konstituiert eine solche Nutzung virtuelle urbane Räume? Wie synthetisieren NutzerInnen globale und lokale, virtuelle und reale sowie öffentliche und private Ortsbezüge zu ihrer individuellen Raumfiguration und welches subjektive Raumerleben verbinden sie damit?

Um sich diesen Fragen zu nähern, werden Twitter-Netzwerke erhoben und anschließend mittels Netzwerkanalyse, Geocodierung und automatisierten Inhaltsanalyseverfahren untersucht. Damit diese Befunde auf der gesellschaftlichen Ebene auch mit dem individuellen Erleben in Verbindung gebracht werden können, wird für eine Gruppe besonders aktiver NutzerInnen zudem eine Erhebung von Ego-Netzwerken sowie eine mobile Tagebuchstudie durchgeführt.

Weitere Informationen
medlab_logo_skaliert
Logo_IMS