Analysis and evaluation of policy measures and economic instruments for resource protection for the further development of ProgRess

Partner: Fraunhofer ISI, Forum Ökologisch-Soziale Marktwirtschaft (FÖS)

Director:

Staff:

Financial support:

Umweltbundesamt (UBA)

Term:

Feb 01, 2017 — Sep 01, 2019

Email:

The project "Analysis and evaluation of policy measures and economic instruments for resource protection for the further development of ProgRess", published by the Federal Environmental Agency, will be submitted to the Fraunhofer Institute for System and Innovation Research (ISI), Forum sozial-ökologische Marktwirtschaft (FÖS) and the Environmental Policy Research Centre (FFU) of Freie Universität Berlin.

The background to the project is that Germany does not reach the goals for improving resource efficiency. Although raw material productivity has increased by 48% relative to 1994 (BMUB 2016) by 2014, the goal set out in the Federal Government's national sustainability strategy in 2002 to double raw material productivity by 2020 is, however, likely to be missed if the current trends in material usage and economic performance are continued.

The current resource policy instruments are aimed primarily at promoting resource-efficient innovations and their dissemination, for example through advisory programs or the promotion of innovation. In contrast, market-based instruments that provide incentives for more economical material consumption by means of price signals or regulatory instruments, for example in the case of plant approval or the restriction of market access for inefficient products, are hardly used. They are used for the most part with regard to waste prevention or treatment as well as energy production and consumption, but not to effectively reduce the input of other (primary) materials.

Therefore, the central task of the project will be to elaborate the evidence on the advantages and disadvantages of market-based instruments of the resource policy. The analyzes are designed to inform the political actors in the implementation and development of the resource efficiency program comprehensively with the evidence on the effects of market-based instruments and to support their decisions.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Analyse und Bewertung von Politikmaßnahmen und ökonomischen Instrumenten des Ressourcenschutzes für die Weiterentwicklung von ProgRess

Projektleitung:
Mitarbeiter/innen:
Förderung:

Umweltbundesamt

Projektlaufzeit:
01.02.2017 — 01.09.2019

Partner: Fraunhofer ISI, Forum Ökologisch-Soziale Marktwirtschaft (FÖS)

Hintergrund des Projekts ist, dass die Ziele zur Verbesserung der Ressourceneffizienz in Deutschland nicht erreicht werden. Die Rohstoffproduktivität hat sich zwar bis zum Jahr 2014 um 48 % bezogen auf das Jahr 1994 erhöht (BMUB 2016). Das bereits 2002 in der nationalen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie der Bundesregierung festgelegte Ziel, die Rohstoff-produktivität bis zum Jahr 2020 zu verdoppeln, wird bei Fortschreibung der gegenwärtigen Trends hinsichtlich Materialnutzung und Wirtschaftsleistung jedoch voraussichtlich verfehlt.

Das bisherige ressourcenpolitische Instrumentarium zielt vor allem auf Förderung von ressourceneffizienten Innovationen und deren Verbreitung, etwa durch Beratungsprogramme oder der Innovationsförderung. Marktbasierte Instrumente, die durch Preissignale Anreize für sparsameren Materialverbrauch setzen, oder ordnungsrechtliche Instrumente etwa bei der Anlagenzulassung oder der Beschränkung des Marktzugangs für ineffiziente Produkte, werden dagegen kaum genutzt. Zum Einsatz kommen sie allenfalls im Hinblick auf Abfallvermeidung oder -behandlung sowie der Energieerzeugung und -verbrauch, nicht jedoch, um den Input anderer (Primär-)Materialien wirksam zu reduzieren.

Deshalb wird es die zentrale Aufgabe des Projekts sein, die Evidenz zu den Vor- und Nachteilen von marktbasierten Instrumenten der Ressourcenpolitik umfassend aufzuarbeiten. Die Analysen sollen dazu geeignet sein, die politischen Akteure bei der Umsetzung und Weiterentwicklung des Ressourceneffizienzprogramms umfassend mit der Evidenz zu den Wirkungen marktbasierter Instrumente zu informieren und ihre Entscheidungen dadurch zu unterstützen.