Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Distributional effects of environmental policy measures in the transportation sector and designing a comprehensive concept for a socially compatible transportation turn (VERVE)

Funding:

Umweltbundesamt

Term:
Jan 01, 2021 — May 31, 2023

The project aims at developing solutions for a socio-ecologic transformation of the transportation sector. Aside from environmental and climate change policy goals, social aspects covering distributional effects are supposed to be considered. The research questions are:

  • Which population groups are particularly affected by the current transportation system’s effects? 

  • How do population groups differ in terms of mobility? 

  • What are the distributional effects of environmental policy instruments in the transportation sector? 

  • Which measures enable a socially compatible transportation turn (Verkehrswende)? 

We elaborate a comprehensive analytical concept to determine the effects of current and new environmental policy instruments on private households. Therefore, we investigate the distribution of monetary effects, of effects on the individual mobility inclusion, of environment and health effects, and others. Additionally, we examine several options for the redistribution of fiscal revenues. The findings are supposed to inform a policy package, the impact of which is to be assessable and communicable, and hence contributes to a “transportation turn for everyone”. Furthermore, the Federal Environment Agency will obtain expertise for ad-hoc requests concerning the distributional effects of environmental policy instruments. 

Apart from qualitative impact assessments, MIKMOD, especially through the micro-simulation models CARMOD and MIKMOD-Est, will quantify the monetary distributional effects of environmental and transportation policy measures on household level. The available data basis allows for a comprehensive inside into the distributional effects of a socio-ecologic transformation of the transportation sector. 

The project is conducted on behalf of the Federal Environment Agency. Partners are the Environmental Policy Research Centre at Freie Universität (FFU), the Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Information Technology FIT (Fraunhofer FIT), and the Institute Institute of Energy Economics and Rational Energy Use at the University of Stuttgart (IER).

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Verteilungswirkungen umweltpolitischer Maßnahmen im Verkehrssektor und Erarbeiten eines Gesamtkonzepts für eine sozial ausgewogene Verkehrswende (VERVE)

Förderung:

Umweltbundesamt

Projektlaufzeit:
01.01.2021 — 31.05.2023

Das Ziel des Projekts ist es, Lösungsansätze für eine sozial-ökologische Transformation des Verkehrssektors zu entwickeln. Neben den umwelt- und klimapolitischen Zielen sollen dabei auch soziale Aspekte in Form von Verteilungswirkungen berücksichtigt werden. Die Forschungsfragen lauten: 

  • Welche Bevölkerungsgruppen sind durch die Auswirkungen des aktuellen Verkehrssystems in Deutschland besonders betroffen? 

  • Wie unterscheiden sich Bevölkerungsgruppen hinsichtlich ihrer Mobilität? 

  • Welche Verteilungseffekte haben umweltpolitische Instrumente im Verkehrssektor? 

  • Welche Maßnahmen könnten eine sozial ausgewogene Verkehrswende ermöglichen? 

Es wird ein umfassendes Analysekonzept erarbeitet, um die Wirkungen bestehender und neuer umweltpolitischer Instrumente auf die privaten Haushalte zu bestimmen. Dabei wird die Verteilung von monetären Effekten, von Auswirkungen auf die individuelle Teilhabe an Mobilität, von Umwelt- und Gesundheitswirkungen sowie sonstigen Wirkungen untersucht. Ebenso werden verschiedene Varianten zur Rückverteilung von Staatseinnahmen analysiert. Die Erkenntnisse sollen in die Formulierung eines Politikpakets münden, welches in seiner Gesamtwirkung bewertbar und kommunizierbar ist, und somit einen Beitrag zur »Verkehrswende für Alle« leistet. Zusätzlich wird dem Umweltbundesamt im Rahmen von Ad-Hoc-Anfragen kurzfristige Expertise zu den Verteilungswirkungen umweltpolitischer Instrumente zur Verfügung gestellt. 

Neben qualitativen Wirkungsabschätzungen wird zur quantifizierten Analyse MIKMOD, insbesondere mittels der Mikrosimulationsmodelle CARMOD und MIKMOD-Est, die monetären Verteilungswirkungen umwelt- und verkehrspolitischer Maßnahmen auf Ebene der privaten Haushalte untersuchen. Die zur Verfügung stehende Datenbasis ermöglicht einen umfassenden Blick auf die Verteilungseffekte einer sozial-ökologischen Transformation des Verkehrssektors. 

Auftraggeber des Projektes ist das Umweltbundesamt. Projektpartner in dem Projekt sind das Forschungszentrum für Umweltpolitik der Freien Universität Berlin (FFU), das Fraunhofer-Institut für Angewandte Informationstechnik (Fraunhofer FIT) und das Institut für Energiewirtschaft und Rationelle Energieanwendung (IER) der Universität Stuttgart.