Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Ursula Probst

Institute of Social and Cultural Anthropology

Research Area Medical Anthropology

Research Associate and Doctoral Candidate (Prof. Dr. Hansjörg Dilger)

Doctoral Research: “Migration, commercial sex and (Eastern) European bodies in Berlin”

Address
mailing address: Landoltweg 9-11; office address: Thielallee 52
Room 103
14195 Berlin

Office hours

Due to anti corona measures, counselling hours are offered by skype or telephone only

appointment via e-mail only

Pronouns: she/her

Twitter: https://twitter.com/probursula

 

Research interest:
medical anthropology, gender and sexualities, anthropology of the body, (labor) migration, urban anthropology, Europe

 After graduating in Slavic studies and social and cultural anthropology at the University of Vienna, I completed the MA program in cultural and social anthropology at Freie Universität Berlin. In my MA research I investigated perspectives of female sex workers on support services available to them in Berlin and analyzed the therein emerging discrepancies between different definitions of support needs by support services and sex workers themselves. Since 2016, I continued the research on realities and everyday work lives of people engaged in sex work in Berlin as part of my dissertation at the Institute of Social and Cultural Anthropology at Freie Universität Berlin. My dissertation project deals with the questions how sexualized and racialized dimensions of so-called “Europeanization” processes affect the everyday (work) lives of people from Eastern European countries who work in the sex industry in Berlin and subsequently the negotiation of embodied notions of (Eastern) European belongings in Germany.

 Furthermore, from 2018 to 2019 I served as a coordinator of the Medical Anthropology Young Scholars (MAYS) network, a subgroup of Medical Anthropology Europe (MAE), a network of the European Association of Social Anthroplogists (EASA). Since 2019, I am a board member of the Association for Sex Work and Prostitution Research (Gesellschaft für Sexarbeits- und Prostitutionsforschung, GSPF), an interdisciplinary network of researchers investigating various questions related to the field of sex work and prostitution.

 

Summer term 2020

Methods of Social and Cultural Anthropology (Übung/tutorial)
Institute for Social and Cultural Anthropology, Freie Universität Berlin

  • Migration, commercial sex and (Eastern) European bodies in Berlin (2016-ongoing)
    PhD research project, supervisors: Prof. Dr. Hansjörg Dilger, Prof. Dr. Thomas Stodulka
    From 2017-2020 funded by the Elsa-Neumann-Scholarship of the state of Berlin
    In my dissertation research I am analyzing the everyday (work) lives of people from Eastern European countries who are engaged in sex work in Berlin. The investigation of the diverse realities of Eastern European migrants in Berlin as well as the polarized discussions about “Eastern European prostitutes” in Germany highlight stark contradictions between an idea of Europe and specifically the European Union ensuring equal rights to all its citizens and an in everyday practices racialized and sexualized understanding of Europe which not only defines itself in opposition to non-European “Others”, but also produces inner-European hierarchies based on regional, social or (presumed) ethnic belongings. The embodiment of (presumed) belongings and bodily practices often serve as a means for marginalization, making the issue of “Europeanization” also a question of how the embodiment of “Europe” is or can be negotiated. Building on a critical investigation of embodied (Eastern) European belongings this project focusses on the question how the negotiation of embodied notions of “Europeanness” affects the experiences and perspectives of (labor) migrants from Eastern Europe who engage in sex work in Berlin.
  • Research into prostitution in Northern Ireland (2014)
    Research assistant, PI: Dr. Susann Huschke
    Funded by the Department of Justice of Northern Ireland
    The aim of the research was to provide a better understanding of the extent and characteristics of prostitution and human trafficking for the purpose of sexual exploitation in Northern Ireland. As a research assistant, my main task in this project was to compare and analyze different exit programs in Great Britain and other countries with different legal frameworks for sex work.
  • Support services for female sex workers in Berlin (2012-2014)
    MA research project, supervisors: Prof. Dr. Hansjörg Dilger, Dr. Susann Huschke
    Based on ethnographic fieldwork in this project I investigated the perspectives of female sex workers on support services available to them in Berlin. Throughout our conversations, some discrepancies emerged between the support needs of my interlocutors and the approaches of various support services. These discrepancies were based on the issue that, socially and institutionally, support needs of sex workers were mainly framed as a question of sexual health, which contributed to a neglect of other (health related) questions arising in the everyday (work) lives of the participants.

Publications

(forthcoming) Vielschichtige Lebenswelten, komplexe Vulnerabilitäten. Zur Lebens- und Arbeitssituation der Frauen am Straßenstrich im Berliner Kurfürstenkiez. Zeitschrift für Sexualforschung.

2020 (M. Schnepf, U. Probst). Thinking Sex in Times of Corona: A Conversation. Somatosphere. http://somatosphere.net/2020/thinking-sex-in-times-of-corona-a-conversation.html/

2019 (U. Probst, K. Buchner, M. Schnepf). „Creative methods and participatory arts research in medical anthropology: Conference report of the 9th MAYS meeting.” Blog Medizinethnologie. https://www.medizinethnologie.net/creative-methods-conference-report-mays-meeting.

2016 Stigma, Moral und Zwangsmaßnahmen . Gesundheitsversorgung für Sexarbeiterinnen? Beitrag im Blog Medizinethnologie. https://www.medizinethnologie.net/stigma-moral-zwangsmassnahmen/

2015 Von käuflichem Sex, Opfern und Moral – Perspektiven von Sexarbeiterinnen auf Rechte, Sexualität und Professionalisierung im Arbeitsalltag in Berlin. Weißensee Verlag.

2015 Support for Sex Workers as Occupational Support? Research For Sex Work 15, 19-22.

2014 (Huschke, Susann, P. Shirlow, D. Schubotz, E. Ward, U. Probst und C. Ní Dhónaill) Research into Prostitution in Northern Ireland. Research Report.

 

Selected Presentations

2021

  • (accepted) „… and they do not even have health insurance!” – Uncertainties of health care for migrant sex workers in Germany, XI Medical Anthropology at Home Conference, Oktober 2021, Universität Wien

 2020

  • Sexualizing Europe between “East” and “West”: “Eastern European” sex workers negotiating “Europeanness” in Berlin, 16th EASA Conference “New anthropological horizons in and beyond Europe”, 20.-24. Juli 2020, University of Lisbon

 2019

  • (Sex) Work for a better future? Mobilities, hopes and realties of sex workers from Central and Eastern Europe, Anthromob Workshop “Mobility and the Future of Work”, University of Barcelona, 06.-08.11.2019
  • Berlin Kurfürstenstraße: Negotiating Frictions in Urban Transformation, Vortag bei der DGSKA Tagung „Das Ende der Aushandlungen?“, Universität Konstanz, 29. September – 2. Oktober 2019
  •  Can sex work research be a practice of solidarity?, Vortrag beim IUAES 2019 Inter-Congress “World Solidarities”, Adam-Mieckiewicz-Universität Poznań, 27.-31. August 2019

 2018

  • Localizing agency and exploitation – Migrant sex workers navigating contemporary Berlin housing markets, Vortrag im Rahmen der Vienna Anthropology Days, Universität Wien, 19.-22. September 2018

 2017

  • It’s complicated: Feminismus und Sexarbeit, Vortrag an der Universität Bonn, 05. Dezember 2017

 2015

  • Difficult Engagements – Anthropology and Sex Work Politics, 2015 RAI Postgraduate Conference „Anthropology and the Politics of Engagement“, University of Manchester, 4.-5. Juni 2015

 2013

  • Locating Research on Sex Work in Berlin, 4th Annual Medical Anthropology Young Scholars Meeting, Universität Tarragona, 10.-11. Juni 2013
BGSMCS
Berlin Southern Theory Lecture

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Ursula Probst

Ursula Probst

Institut für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie

Institut für sozial- und Kulturanthropologie

Wiss. Mitarbeiterin (Vertretungsstelle) und Doktorandin (Prof. Dr. Hansjörg Dilger)

Promotionsforschung „Grauzonen der Freizügigkeit. Migration, kommerzialisierte Sexualität und (ost-)europäische Körper in Berlin“

Adresse
Postadresse: Landoltweg 9-11; Bürostandort: Thielallee 52
Raum 103
14195 Berlin

Sprechstunde

Aufgrund der Coronaschutzmaßnahmen werden Sprechstunden bis auf weiteres nur per Skype oder telefonisch abgehalten.

Termine n.V. per E-Mail

Pronomen: sie/ihr

Twitter: https://twitter.com/probursula

 

Forschungsschwerpunkte
Medizinanthropologie, Geschlechter und Sexualitäten, Anthropologie des Körpers, (Arbeits-)Migration, urbane Anthropologie, Europa

 Nach dem Studium der Slawistik und Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie an der Universität Wien absolvierte ich den Master in Kultur- und Sozialanthropologie an der Freien Universität Berlin. Im Rahmen des Masterstudiums beschäftigte ich mich mit den Perspektiven von Sexarbeiterinnen auf für sie verfügbare Beratungsangebote in Berlin und den sich darin zeigenden Diskrepanzen zwischen Eigen- und Fremddefinitionen von Beratungsbedarfen. Seit 2016 führe ich die Auseinandersetzung mit den Lebens- und Arbeitsrealitäten von Menschen in der Sexarbeit in Berlin im Rahmen meiner Promotion am Institut für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie an der Freien Universität Berlin fort. Meine Promotion widmet sich der Frage, wie sich sexualisierte und rassifizierte Dimensionen von „Europäisierungs“-Prozessen auf den Alltag von Menschen aus osteuropäischen Ländern auswirken, die in Berlin der Sexarbeit nachgehen, und die Verhandlung verkörperter (ost-)europäischer Zugehörigkeiten in Deutschland bedingen.

 Darüber hinaus war ich von 2018 bis 2019 Koordinatorin des Medical Anthropology Young Scholars (MAYS) Netzwerks, der Nachwuchsgruppe von Medical Anthropology Europe (MAE), einem Netzwerk der European Association of Social Anthroplogists (EASA). Seit 2019 bin ich im Vorstand der Gesellschaft für Sexarbeits- und Prostitutionsforschung (GSPF), einem interdisziplinären Zusammenschluss von Forschenden, die sich mit verschiedenen Fragen zu Sexarbeit und Prostitution auseinandersetzen.

 

Sommersemester 2020

BA Übung: Methoden der Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie
Institut für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie, Freie Universität Berlin

Wintersemester 20/21

demnächst hier

  • Grauzonen der Freizügigkeit. Migration, kommerzialisierte Sexualität und (ost-)europäische Körper in Berlin (seit 2016, laufend)
    Promotionsforschung, Betreuung: Prof. Dr. Hansjörg Dilger, Prof. Dr. Thomas Stodulka
    von 2017-2020 mit dem Elsa-Neumann-Stipendium des Landes Berlin gefördert
    In meinem Promotionsprojekt gehe ich der Frage nach, wie sich Lebens- und Arbeitsalltage für Menschen aus osteuropäischen Ländern gestalten, die in Berlin in der Sexarbeit tätig sind. In der ethnographischen Auseinandersetzung mit den Lebenswelten von „Osteuropa“ zugeschriebenen Personen in der Sexarbeit und den polarisierten Diskussionen über „osteuropäische Prostituierte“ in Deutschland zeigten sich deutliche Widersprüche zwischen einer Idee von Europa bzw. spezifisch der Europäischen Union, die allen ihren Bürger*innen die gleichen Rechte gewährt, und in Alltagspraxen rassifizierten und sexualisierten Verständnisse von Europa, die sich nicht nur gegen außereuropäische Andere abgrenzen, sondern auch innereuropäische Hierarchien des „Europäisch Seins“ produzieren, die bestimmte Personengruppen aufgrund ihrer regionalen und/oder sozialen Herkunft oder (angenommenen) ethnischen Zugehörigkeiten marginalisieren. Als Basis für derartige Einordnungen dienen dabei auch Körperlichkeit und körperliche Praktiken, was die Frage nach „Europäisierung“ ebenso zu einer Frage danach, wie die Verkörperung „Europas“ verhandelt wird. Im Zentrum dieses Projekts steht dementsprechend die Frage, welche Auswirkungen diese Verhandlungen verkörperlichter Zugehörigkeiten auf die Erfahrungen und Perspektiven von (Arbeits-)Migrant*innen aus Osteuropa haben, die in Berlin der Sexarbeit nachgehen.
  • Research into Prostitution in Northern Ireland (2014)
    Forschungsassistentin, Projektleitung: Dr. Susann Huschke
    Finanziert vom nordirischen Department of Justice
    Ziel dieses Projekts war es, einen fundierten Überblick über den Umfang und die Charakteristika von Sexarbeit und Menschenhandel zum Zwecke sexueller Ausbeutung in Nordirland zu geben. Als Forschungsassistentin lag meine Hauptaufgabe in diesem Projekt im Vergleich und der Analyse von verschiedenen Ausstiegsprogrammen in Großbritannien und anderen Ländern mit unterschiedlichen Rechtslagen zu Sexarbeit.
  • Beratungsangebote für Sexarbeiterinnen in Berlin (2012-2014)
    Masterforschung, Betreuung: Prof. Dr Hansjörg Dilger, Dr. Susann Huschke
    Basierend auf einer ethnographischen Forschung beschäftigte ich mich in diesem Projekt mit den Perspektiven von Sexarbeiterinnen auf Beratungsangebote, die ihnen in Berlin zur Verfügung standen. Dabei zeigten sich einige Diskrepanzen zwischen den selbst definierten Beratungswünschen meiner Gesprächspartnerinnen und den Ansätzen verschiedener Beratungsorganisationen. Diese ließen sich vor allem darauf zurückführen, dass die Beratungsbedürfnisse von Sexarbeiterinnen gesellschaftlich und institutionell vornehmlich als Frage sexueller Gesundheit verstanden werden, wodurch andere (gesundheitliche) Fragen des Arbeitsalltags kaum adressiert wurden.

Publikationen

 (im Erscheinen) Vielschichtige Lebenswelten, komplexe Vulnerabilitäten. Zur Lebens- und Arbeitssituation der Frauen am Straßenstrich im Berliner Kurfürstenkiez. Zeitschrift für Sexualforschung.

 2020 (M. Schnepf, U. Probst). Thinking Sex in Times of Corona: A Conversation. Somatosphere. http://somatosphere.net/2020/thinking-sex-in-times-of-corona-a-conversation.html/

 2019 (U. Probst, K. Buchner, M. Schnepf). Creative methods and participatory arts research in medical anthropology: Conference report of the 9th MAYS meeting. Blog Medizinethnologie. https://www.medizinethnologie.net/creative-methods-conference-report-mays-meeting.

 2016 Stigma, Moral und Zwangsmaßnahmen . Gesundheitsversorgung für Sexarbeiterinnen? Beitrag im Blog Medizinethnologie. https://www.medizinethnologie.net/stigma-moral-zwangsmassnahmen/

 2015 Von käuflichem Sex, Opfern und Moral – Perspektiven von Sexarbeiterinnen auf Rechte, Sexualität und Professionalisierung im Arbeitsalltag in Berlin. Weißensee Verlag.

 2015 Support for Sex Workers as Occupational Support? Research For Sex Work 15, 19-22.

 2014 (Huschke, Susann, P. Shirlow, D. Schubotz, E. Ward, U. Probst und C. Ní Dhónaill) Research into Prostitution in Northern Ireland. Research Report.

 

Vorträge (Auswahl)

2021

  • (angenommen) „… and they do not even have health insurance!” – Uncertainties of health care for migrant sex workers in Germany, XI Medical Anthropology at Home Conference, Oktober 2021, Universität Wien

2020

  • Sexualizing Europe between “East” and “West”: “Eastern European” sex workers negotiating “Europeanness” in Berlin, 16th EASA Conference “New anthropological horizons in and beyond Europe”, 20.-24. Juli 2020, University of Lisbon

 2019

  • (Sex) Work for a better future? Mobilities, hopes and realties of sex workers from Central and Eastern Europe, Anthromob Workshop “Mobility and the Future of Work”, University of Barcelona, 06.-08. November 2019
  • Berlin Kurfürstenstraße: Negotiating Frictions in Urban Transformation, Vortag bei der DGSKA Tagung „Das Ende der Aushandlungen?“, Universität Konstanz, 29. September – 2. Oktober 2019
  • Can sex work research be a practice of solidarity?, Vortrag beim IUAES 2019 Inter-Congress “World Solidarities”, Adam-Mieckiewicz-Universität Poznań, 27.-31. August 2019

 2018

  • Localizing agency and exploitation – Migrant sex workers navigating contemporary Berlin housing markets, Vortrag im Rahmen der Vienna Anthropology Days, Universität Wien, 19.-22. September 2018

 2017

  • It’s complicated: Feminismus und Sexarbeit, Vortrag an der Universität Bonn, 05. Dezember 2017

 2015

  • Difficult Engagements – Anthropology and Sex Work Politics, 2015 RAI Postgraduate Conference „Anthropology and the Politics of Engagement“, University of Manchester, 4.-5. Juni 2015

 2013

  • Locating Research on Sex Work in Berlin, 4th Annual Medical Anthropology Young Scholars Meeting, Universität Tarragona, 10.-11. Juni 2013



SFB 1171 Affective Societies
BGSMCS
Berlin Southern Theory Lecture