Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Junior Research Groups

In the Berlin Center for Interdisciplinary Peace and Conflict Research (INTERACT) which is affiliated with the Department of Political and Social Sciences, three Junior Research Groups have been established. In analogy to the center's epistemic goals and commitments, the groups concentrate on three complementary fields of research:

The Junior Research Group "Transnational Conflicts" aims to analyze the transformation of transnational conflict constellations and their political, social, economic, and legal interdependencies. The goal is to identify the changing shapes and dynamics of conflicts that span across geographic borders as well as their consequences for conflict regulation. Aside from the characteristics of and shifts within contemporary conflicts, the research group will also explore how conflict constellations are spatially (regionally and globally) and temporally (historically and procedurally) interwoven and how they are transformed by global power shifts.

The Junior Research Group "Radical Spaces" explores the multifaceted dynamics of processes of social mobilization that are accompanied by (non-)state violence. At the core of its three-year research program are the conditions, forms, and dynamics of radical politics as well as the comparative investigation of contentious politics and patterns of their radicalization and repression. Radical spaces are not narrowly understood as breedings grounds for political violence but as emergent arenas of contentious interactions that radically break with common expectation sand previous patterns of thinking and doing politics. The focus is thus on political subjectivation processes and interaction dynamics between authorities and non-state actors that promote or constrain specific action strategies and condition whether social actors turn violent.

The junior research group "Blurring Boundaries" examines existing concepts, terms and methods of peace and conflict studies with regard to their analytical usefulness as well as their social risks. It will explore how the strongly legal business and human rights approach influences our thinking and speaking about violence and responsibility in the context of transnationally operating corporations, combine genealogical conceptual work with empirical research and aim to intervene in both the academic discussion and the political debate on the topic.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Nachwuchsgruppen

Am Berliner Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Friedens- und Konfliktforschung (INTERACT), das am Fachbereich Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften angesiedelt ist, wurden drei Nachwuchsgruppen eingerichtet, die sich unter Berücksichtigung multiperspektivischer Ansätze auf drei komplementäre Forschungsbereiche konzentrieren: 

Die Nachwuchsgruppe "Transnationale Konflikte" strebt an, die Transformationen transnationaler Konfliktkonstellationen und ihre politischen, sozialen, ökonomischen und rechtlichen Interdependenzen zu analysieren. Es sollen sowohl die Formen und Prozesse transnationaler Konflikte als auch die Folgen für die Konfliktregulierung identifiziert werden. Erkenntnisanleitend sind nicht allein die Charakteristika und Verschiebungen von Konfliktkonstellationen, sondern auch die Fragen danach, wie diese räumlich (regional bzw. global) und zeitlich (historisch) miteinander verwoben sind und wie sie sich vor dem Hintergrund globaler Machtverschiebungen transformieren.

In der Nachwuchsgruppe "Radikale Räume" werden die Wechselbeziehungen zwischen transnationalen Konfliktkonstellationen und gewaltförmigen gesellschaftlichen Mobilisierungsprozessen untersucht. Im Zentrum steht die Erforschung von Bedingungen, Formen und Dynamiken radikaler Politiken und (nicht)staatlicher Gewalt, von Prozessen sozialer Mobilisierung und Mustern ihrer Radikalisierung und Repression, sowie die Theoretisierung der Ver­bin­dung von Gewaltdynamiken zu medial vermittelten Deutungskämpfen. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf politischen Subjektivierungsprozessen und Interaktionsdynamiken zwischen Behörden und nichtstaatlichen Akteuren, die extreme Handlungsmuster und die Hinwendung zu radikalen Politiken befördern oder einhegen. 

Die Nachwuchsgruppe "Verschwimmende Grenzen" soll bestehende Konzepte, Begriffe, Methoden der Friedens- und Konfliktforschung hinsichtlich ihres analytischen Nutzens sowie ihrer gesellschaftlichen Risiken reflektieren, genealogisch angelegte Begriffsarbeit mit empirischer Forschung kombinieren und auf eine Intervention sowohl in die wissenschaftliche Diskussion als auch in die politische Auseinandersetzung zu dem Thema zielen.