Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Dr. Katharina Nötzold

.
Image Credit: Privat

Managing Editor Global Media Journal – German Edition

Address
Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft
Otto-von-Simpson-Straße 3
14915 Berlin

I joined the editorial team of Global Media Journal - German Edition as Managing Editor in 2020. From 2012 to 2019, I was Associate Research Fellow at the Arab Media Center of the University of Westminster (UK). Before that, I coordinated the activities of the Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies (BGMSCS) as Managing Director in 2010 and 2011. From 2007 to 2010, I worked as RCUK-Postdoctoral Research Fellow for Arab Media at the Communication and Media Research Institute (CAMRI), which is part of the University of Westminster in London. During that time, I was also Editor-in-chief of the peer-reviewed and open-access journal Westminster Papers in Communication and Culture (WPCC). I received my doctorate (Dr. phil.) from the University of Erfurt for having researched the role of Lebanese television stations in the nation-building process after the Lebanese civil war (my supervisors were Prof. Dr. Kai Hafez, University of Erfurt and Prof. Dr. Theodor Hanf, University of Freiburg). I was able to do extensive research in Lebanon from 2002 to 2003, thanks to a research grant from the Orient Institute in Beirut. From 2005 to 2007, I worked at the Center for International Peace Operations (ZIF) in Berlin and took part in OSCE election observation missions in Azerbaijan and Montenegro. I studied political science, social and cultural anthropology and American studies at the University of Leipzig, University of Sussex (UK) and at the Institut d'Études Politiques (IEP) of the Université de Lyon II and, after completing my master's degree, I received a DAAD grant to study Arabic at the University of Jordan in Amman.

I am the author of Defining the Nation? Lebanese Television and Political Elites (1990-2005), Berlin: Frank & Timme, 2009 and numerous articles on Arab media and representation of Islam in Western media.

My research interests include ethno-religious conflicts, nation-building, media and political transformation processes, media systems and communication cultures in the Middle East, Islam in the media.

Logo_IMS

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Dr. Katharina Nötzold

.
Bildquelle: Privat

Arbeitsstelle Internationale Kommunikation

Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft

Fachbereich Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften

Managing Editor Global Media Journal – German Edition

Adresse
Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft
Otto-von-Simpson-Straße 3
14915 Berlin

Dr. Katharina Nötzold ist Managing Editor des Global Media Journal – German Edition. Von 2012 bis 2019 war sie Associate Research Fellow am Arab Media Centre der University of Westminster (UK). Sie koordinierte als Geschäftsführerin die durch der DFG-Exzellenzinitiative geförderte Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies (BGMSCS) von 2010 bis 2011. Von 2007 bis 2010 war sie RCUK-Postdoctoral Research Fellow for Arab Media am Communication and Media Research Institute (CAMRI) der University of Westminster in London. Dort leitete sie von 2008 bis 2011 als Chefredakteurin die Zeitschrift Westminster Papers in Communication and Culture (WPCC) (peer-reviewed, open access). Sie promovierte an der Universität Erfurt über libanesische Fernsehsender und deren Rolle im Nationenbildungsprozess nach dem Bürgerkrieg bei Prof. Dr. Kai Hafez (Universität Erfurt) und Prof. Dr. Theodor Hanf (Universität Freiburg). Dafür war sie von 2002 bis 2003 Stipendiatin des Orient-Instituts in Beirut, Libanon. Von 2005 bis 2007 arbeitete sie am Zentrum für Internationale Friedenseinsätze (ZIF) in Berlin und nahm an OSZE-Wahlbeobachtungsmissionen in Aserbaidschan und Montenegro teil. Sie studierte Politikwissenschaften, Ethnologie und Amerikanistik an der Universität Leipzig, University of Sussex (UK) und am Institut d’Études Politiques (IEP) der Université de Lyon II und erhielt nach ihrem Magisterstudium ein DAAD-Stipendium, um Arabisch an der University of Jordan, Amman, zu lernen.

Sie ist Autorin von Defining the Nation? Lebanese Television and Political Elites (1990-2005), Berlin: Frank & Timme, 2009 und zahlreicher Artikel zu arabischen Medien und Islamdarstellung in westlichen Medien.

Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind ethnisch-religiöse Konflikte; Nationenbildung, Medien und politische Transformationsprozesse, Mediensysteme und Kommunikationskulturen im Nahen Osten, Islam in den Medien.

Banner_MedienLabor_neu
Logo_IMS