Springe direkt zu Inhalt

The Institute welcomes Irene Neverla as new Honorary Professor

Prof. Dr. Irene Neverla was appointed honorary professor at our institute.

Prof. Dr. Irene Neverla was appointed honorary professor at our institute.
Image Credit: Ann-Kristin Grobe

Prof. Dr. Irene Neverla (University of Hamburg) has been appointed Honorary Professor in the Department of Political and Social Sciences at the end of June 2019 and will support the Institute for Media and Communication Studies in its teaching activities in the future.

After a journalistic education at the Vienna International Press Centre, Irene Neverla studied communication science, sociology and psychology at the Universities of Vienna, Salzburg and Munich. She earned her doctorate and habilitated at the LMU Munich. She then worked in research and teaching at the universities of Munich, Salzburg, Vienna, Thessaloniki, Tel Aviv, Lima and Sydney. From 1992 until her retirement in 2017, Irene Neverla was Professor of Journalism and Communication Science at the University of Hamburg. Her research interests include journalism research, visual communication and reception research, as well as research on the environment, science and climate communication.

In her research, Irene Neverla has worked as Principal Investigator in the Cluster of Excellence for Climate Research (CliSAP) at the University of Hamburg (2007-2017), where she established the Media Research Group, and in the EU-funded research project "Media, Conflict and Democratisation" (MeCoDEM) (2014-2017), with a focus on comparative journalism research in transition countries.

Irene Neverla taught journalism and communication science at the University of Hamburg and in the Erasmus Mundus programme “Journalism, Media and Globalization”, of which she was the Academic Director (2007-2017).

Recent publications:

Neverla I; Taddicken M; Loercher I; Hoppe I (eds.) (2019): Klimawandel im Kopf. Studien zur Wirkung, Aneignung und Online-Kommunikation. Springer VS.

Grittmann E; Lobinger K; Neverla I; Pater M (eds.) (2018): Körperbilder - Körperpraktiken. Visualisierung und Vergeschlechtlichung von Körpern in Medienkulturen. Köln: Halem.

Lilienthal V; Neverla I (eds.) (2017): Lügenpresse. Anatomie eines politischen Kampfbegriffs. Köln: Kiepenheuer und Witsch.

Logo_IMS

Prof. Dr. Irene Neverla verstärkt als Honorarprofessorin ab dem Wintersemester 2019/20 das Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft in der Lehre

Prof. Dr. Irene Neverla zur Honorarprofessorin an unserem Institut ernannt.

Prof. Dr. Irene Neverla zur Honorarprofessorin an unserem Institut ernannt.
Bildquelle: Ann-Kristin Grobe

Prof. Dr. Irene Neverla (Universität Hamburg) wurde Ende Juni 2019 zur Honorarprofessorin am Fachbereich Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften ernannt und wird künftig das Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft in der Lehre unterstützen.

Nach einer journalistischen Ausbildung am Wiener Internationalen Pressezentrum studierte Irene Neverla Kommunikationswissenschaft, Soziologie und Psychologie an den Universitäten Wien, Salzburg und München. Sie promovierte und habilitierte sich an der LMU München. Es folgten Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeiten an den Universitäten München, Salzburg, Wien, Thessaloniki, Tel Aviv, Lima und Sydney. Von 1992 bis zu ihrer Emeritierung 2017 war Irene Neverla Professorin für Journalistik und Kommunikationswissenschaft an der Universität Hamburg. Zu ihren Forschungsschwerpunkten gehören u.a. Journalismusforschung, Visuelle Kommunikation und Rezeptionsforschung, sowie die Erforschung von Umwelt, Wissenschafts- und Klimakommunikation.

In ihrer Forschung war Irene Neverla unter anderem tätig als Principal Investigator im Exzellenzcluster für Klimaforschung (CliSAP) an der Universität Hamburg (2007-2017), wo sie die Media Research Group aufbaute, und wirkte im EU-geförderten Forschungsprojekt „Media, Conflict and Democratisation“ (MeCoDEM) mit (2014-2017), mit dem Fokus auf vergleichender Journalismusforschung in Transitionsländern.

Irene Neverla lehrte an der Universität Hamburg im Fach Journalistik und Kommunikationswissenschaft sowie im Erasmus-Mundus-Studiengang Journalism, Media and Globalization, dessen Academic Director sie war (2007-2017).

Jüngste Publikationen:

Neverla I; Taddicken M; Loercher I; Hoppe I (eds.) (2019): Klimawandel im Kopf. Studien zur Wirkung, Aneignung und Online-Kommunikation. Springer VS.

Grittmann E; Lobinger K; Neverla I; Pater M (eds.) (2018): Körperbilder - Körperpraktiken. Visualisierung und Vergeschlechtlichung von Körpern in Medienkulturen. Köln: Halem.

Lilienthal V; Neverla I (eds.) (2017): Lügenpresse. Anatomie eines politischen Kampfbegriffs. Köln: Kiepenheuer und Witsch.

medlab_logo_skaliert
Logo_IMS