Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Dr. Friederike Kuntz

Center for Politics and Law

Researcher

Address
Ihnestr. 22
Room 208
14195 Berlin

Office hours

In the summer semester 2019, I will hold appointment hours on tuesdays from 4.30 to 5.30pm. To register, please use the list next to my office door.

Friederike Kuntz is a postdoctoral Researcher and Lecturer (Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin) at the Center of Politics and Law at the Otto Suhr Institute of Political Science at Free University Berlin since April 2017. Prior to coming to Berlin, she was a Visiting Research Fellow at the DFG Collaborative Research Center “Dynamics of Security” at Philipps University Marburg and Justus Liebig University Gießen (October 2016-March 2017). She was a Lecturer at the Department of International Relations and International Organization at University of Groningen (January 2015-October 2016) and a pre-doctoral Researcher in research projects at Trier University (November 2012-February 2015), the Max Planck Institute for European Legal History and the Cluster of Excellence at Goethe University Frankfurt (September 2010-October 2012). From January 2008 until September 2010, she was awarded a DFG fellowship from the Graduate School of the Institute for World Society Studies at the Faculty of Sociology at Bielefeld University.

Friederike defended her PhD thesis, entitled “Aporias: The International Relation, Interrelated Sovereigns, the Human Individual, and Power-Knowledge,” in December 2015 successfully at the Faculty of Sociology at Bielefeld University. The work develops a concept of international relations as a historical practice of power-knowledge based on a comparison of handbooks for sovereigns published over the period from the 17 to the 19 centuries. She obtained her Magistra Artium in Political Science, Sociology, and Romance Philology/French in November 2006 from Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz.

She was a member of the International Advisory Board of the The Hague Journal of Diplomacy and is a co-opted member at the Institute for World Society Studies at the Faculty of Sociology at Bielefeld University.

 

Reseach Interests
  • International and Global Political Theory
  • History and theories of international relations and diplomacy
  • Globalization of politics, law and governance in the past and present
Monographs

Aporias: the international relation, interrelated sovereigns, the human individual, and power-knowledge. Bielefeld, 2018.

Der Weg zum Irakkrieg: Groupthink und die Entscheidungsprozesse der Bush-Regierung, Wiesbaden: VS Verlag, 2007.

Editorship

Der Begriff der Souveränität in der transnationalen Konstellation, Baden-Baden: Nomos, 2014, co-edited with Christian Volk.

Articles in Edited Volumes

Connectivity as Problem: Security, Mobility, Liberals and Christians. In: Security/Mobility, Matthias Leese & Stefan Wittendorp (Eds.), Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2016, co-authored with Luis Lobo-Guerrero.

Souveränität an den Rändern der Staatenwelt, In: Der Begriff der Souveränität in der transnationalen Konstellation, Christian Volk & Friederike Kuntz (Eds.), Baden-Baden: Nomos, 2014.

Souveränität und die transnationale Konstellation: Eine Einleitung. In: Der Begriff der Souveränität in der transnationalen Konstellation, Christian Volk & Friederike Kuntz (Eds.), Baden-Baden: Nomos, 2014, co-authored with Christian Volk.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Dr. Friederike Kuntz

Friederike Bild Homepage

Arbeitsbereich Politik und Recht

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Adresse
Ihnestr. 22
Raum 208
14195 Berlin

Sprechstunde

Meine Sprechstunde findet im So/Se 2019 dienstags von 16.30-17.30 Uhr statt. Bitte tragen Sie sich auf der Liste neben meiner Bürotür ein.

Akademischer Lebenslauf

Friederike Kuntz ist seit April 2017 Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin (Postdoc) am Arbeitsbereich Politik und Recht am Otto-Suhr-Institut für Politikwissenschaft der Freien Universität Berlin. Zuvor war sie Gastwissenschaftlerin am SFB/TRR 138 „Dynamiken der Sicherheit“ der Philipps-Universität Marburg und Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen (Oktober 2016-März 2017). Sie war Lecturer am Department of International Relations and International Organization der Reijksuniversiteit Groningen (Januar 2015-Oktober 2016) und Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin in Forschungsprojekten an der Universität Trier (November 2012-Februar 2015), dem Max-Planck-Institut für Europäische Rechtsgeschichte und dem Exzellenzcluster der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt (September 2010-Oktober 2012). Von Januar 2008 bis September 2010 war sie DFG-Stipendiatin am Graduiertenkolleg des Instituts für Weltgesellschaft an der Fakultät für Soziologie der Universität Bielefeld.

Ihre Doktorarbeit mit dem Titel „Aporias: The International Relation, Interrelated Sovereigns, the Human Individual, and Power-Knowledge” verteidigte sie im Dezember 2015 erfolgreich an der Fakultät für Soziologie der Universität Bielefeld. Die Arbeit entwickelt einen Begriff von internationalen Beziehungen als eine historische Macht-Wissen-Praktik auf der Grundlage eines Vergleichs von Handbüchern für Souveräne aus dem 17. bis 19. Jahrhundert. Ihr Magisterstudium der Politikwissenschaft, Soziologie und Romanischen Philologie/Französisch schloss sie im November 2006 an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz erfolgreich ab.

Sie war Mitglied des International Advisory Board des The Hague Journal of Diplomacy und ist assoziiertes Mitglied des Instituts für Weltgesellschaft an der Fakultät für Soziologie der Universität Bielefeld.

Forschungsinteressen
  • Internationale und Globale Politische Theorie
  • Geschichte und Theorien der internationalen Beziehungen und Diplomatie
  • Globalisierung von Politik, Recht und Regieren in der Geschichte und Gegenwart
Monographien

Aporias: the international relation, interrelated sovereigns, the human individual, and power-knowledge. Bielefeld, 2018.

Der Weg zum Irakkrieg: Groupthink und die Entscheidungsprozesse der Bush-Regierung, Wiesbaden: VS Verlag, 2007.

Herausgeberschaft

Der Begriff der Souveränität in der transnationalen Konstellation, Baden-Baden: Nomos, 2014, zusammen mit Christian Volk.

Beiträge in Sammelbänden

Connectivity as Problem: Security, Mobility, Liberals and Christians. In: Security/Mobility, Matthias Leese & Stefan Wittendorp (Hrsg.), Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2016, zusammen mit Luis Lobo-Guerrero.

Souveränität an den Rändern der Staatenwelt, In: Der Begriff der Souveränität in der transnationalen Konstellation, Christian Volk & Friederike Kuntz (Hrsg.), Baden-Baden: Nomos, 2014.

Souveränität und die transnationale Konstellation: Eine Einleitung. In: Der Begriff der Souveränität in der transnationalen Konstellation, Christian Volk & Friederike Kuntz (Hrsg.), Baden-Baden: Nomos, 2014, zusammen mit Christian Volk.

Vorlesungsverzeichnis
Bibliothek
SFB 700
banner_osiclub