Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Diffusion dynamics of conspiracy theories and adaptation strategies in hybrid information ecologies (DIFFCONT)

Principal Investigator:
Term:
Jan 01, 2022 — Dec 31, 2024
Xixuan Zhang, Annett Heft, Kilian Bühling (v.l.n.r.)

Xixuan Zhang, Annett Heft, Kilian Bühling (v.l.n.r.)

About the project

Under the direction of Dr Annett Heft, a new research project has been dealing with the diffusion dynamics of conspiracy theories and adaptation strategies in hybrid information spaces since April 2022. The project is part of the consortium project NEOVEX, which is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research with a total of approximately 1.8 million euros. In addition to the Berlin sub-project, the project partners are the Institute for Peace Research and Security Policy in Hamburg (IFSH, head of the research network), the Institute for Democracy and Civil Society in Jena (IDZ) and the School of Politics at the Technical University of Munich (HFP/TUM).

Supporters of conspiracy theories and right-wing extremist actors use crises to drive social polarisation and weaken democratic societies and their institutions. The search for scapegoats through conspiracy theories and right-wing extremist ideologies turns politicians, media representatives and people of Jewish and Muslim faith, among others, into targets. This is done not only through anti-democratic discourses, but also through justifications of violence, in the form of acts of violence and violent riots.

Currently, there is still a lack of more comprehensive research approaches that relate conspiracy theories, right-wing extremist ideologies and their strategic dissemination, especially via online platforms, and of analyses that ask what patterns and along what dynamics such overlaps and mixtures take place, how they diffuse into broader social discourses and what consequences this has for social coexistence and political processes in Germany.

In the new research project Diffusion Dynamics of Conspiracy Theories and Adaptation Strategies in Hybrid Information Spaces, led by Dr. Annett Heft, Kilian Bühling and Xixuan Zhang at the FU Berlin are researching how conspiracy theories spread across different actors and digital platforms and public spaces. We analyse the dynamics of the spread of conspiracy theories and the communication and media strategies used to adapt conspiracy narratives to the respective communication environments. The project takes a comparative (Germany - USA) and transnational perspective and uses a mix of methods from automated computational social science procedures and quantitative content analyses.

The research project is part of the research network NEOVEX: Patterns and Dynamics of Conspiracy Theories and Right-wing Extremist Ideologies in Times of Crisis. The aim of the research network is to use an interdisciplinary and integrating research approach to analyse the cross-national forms of conspiracy theories and right-wing extremist ideologies over time, as well as their functions in legitimising violence. The research network is also dedicated to investigating transnational entanglements and networks between representatives of both groups in crisis situations and the dissemination of their messages in digital information spaces. Furthermore, the handling of conspiracy theory and right-wing extremist content by technology companies will be analysed.

The consortium project NEOVEX is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research with a total of approx. 1.8 million euros. In addition to the Berlin sub-project, project partners are the Institute for Peace Research and Security Policy in Hamburg (IFSH, head of the research network), the Institute for Democracy and Civil Society in Jena (IDZ) and the School of Politics at the Technical University of Munich (HFP/TUM).

Vorträge und Publikationen
Logo_IMS

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Diffusionsdynamiken von Verschwörungstheorien und Adaptionsstrategien in hybriden Informationsräumen (DIFFCONT)

Xixuan Zhang, Annett Heft, Kilian Bühling (v.l.n.r.)

Xixuan Zhang, Annett Heft, Kilian Bühling (v.l.n.r.)

Über das Projekt

Unter der Leitung von Dr. Annett Heft befasst sich seit April 2022 ein neues Forschungsprojekt mit den Diffusionsdynamiken von Verschwörungstheorien und Adaptionsstrategien in hybriden Informationsräumen. Das Projekt ist Teil des Konsortialprojektes NEOVEX, welches vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung mit einer Gesamtsumme von ca. 1,8 Mio. Euro gefördert wird. Projektpartner sind neben dem Berliner Teilprojekt das Institut für Friedensforschung und Sicherheitspolitik in Hamburg (IFSH, Leitung des Forschungsverbundes), das Institut für Demokratie und Zivilgesellschaft in Jena (IDZ) sowie die Hochschule für Politik an der TU München (HFP/TUM).

Anhänger:innen von Verschwörungstheorien und rechtsextreme Akteure nutzen Krisen, um gesellschaftliche Polarisierungen voranzutreiben und demokratische Gesellschaften und ihre Institutionen zu schwächen. Die Suche nach Sündenböcken durch Verschwörungstheorien und rechtsextreme Ideologien macht unter anderem Politiker:innen, Medienvertreter:innen und Menschen jüdischen und muslimischen Glaubens zur Zielscheibe. Dies geschieht nicht nur über demokratiefeindliche Diskurse, sondern auch durch Gewaltrechtfertigungen, in Form von Gewalttaten und gewalttätigen Ausschreitungen.

Gegenwärtig mangelt es noch an umfassenderen Forschungsansätzen, die Verschwörungstheorien, rechtsextreme Ideologien und deren strategische Verbreitung insbesondere über Online-Plattformen in Beziehung setzen und an Analysen, die danach fragen, nach welchen Mustern und entlang welcher Dynamiken sich solche Überschneidungen und Vermischungen vollziehen, wie sie in breitere gesellschaftliche Diskurse diffundieren und welche Folgen sich hieraus für das gesellschaftliche Zusammenleben und die politischen Prozesse in Deutschland ergeben.

Im neuen Forschungsprojekt Diffusionsdynamiken von Verschwörungstheorien und Adaptionsstrategien in hybriden Informationsräumen wird unter Leitung von Dr. Annett Heft, von Kilian Bühling und Xixuan Zhang an der FU Berlin erforscht, wie sich Verschwörungstheorien über verschiedene Akteure und digitale Plattformen und Öffentlichkeitsräume hinweg verbreiten. Wir analysieren die Dynamiken der Verbreitung von Verschwörungstheorien und die Kommunikations- und Medienstrategien, die genutzt werden, um Verschwörungsnarrative an die jeweiligen Kommunikationsumgebungen anzupassen. Das Projekt nimmt eine komparative (Deutschland – USA) und von Transnationalität ausgehende Perspektive ein und setzt auf einen Methodenmix aus automatisierten Verfahren der Computational Social Science und quantitativen Inhaltsanalysen.

Das Forschungsprojekt ist Teil des Forschungsverbundes NEOVEX: Muster und Dynamiken von Verschwörungstheorien und rechtsextremen Ideologien in Krisenzeiten. Ziel des Forschungsverbundes ist, mittels eines disziplinübergreifenden und integrierenden Forschungsansatzes die länderübergreifenden Ausformungen von Verschwörungstheorien und rechtsextremen Ideologien im Zeitverlauf sowie ihre gewaltlegitimierenden Funktionen zu analysieren. Der Forschungsverbund widmet sich darüber hinaus der Untersuchung transnationaler Verschränkungen und Vernetzungen zwischen Vertreter:innen beider Gruppierungen in Krisensituationen sowie der Verbreitung ihrer Botschaften in digitalen Informationsräumen. Des Weiteren wird der Umgang von Technologieunternehmen mit verschwörungstheoretischen und rechtsextremen Inhalten analysiert.

Das Konsortialprojekt NEOVEX wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung mit einer Gesamtsumme von ca. 1,8 Mio. Euro gefördert. Projektpartner sind neben dem Berliner Teilprojekt das Institut für Friedensforschung und Sicherheitspolitik in Hamburg (IFSH, Leitung des Forschungsverbundes), das Institut für Demokratie und Zivilgesellschaft in Jena (IDZ) sowie die Hochschule für Politik an der TU München (HFP/TUM).

Vorträge und Publikationen
Banner_MedienLabor_neu
Logo_IMS