Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Prof. Dr. Christian von Scheve

Scheve2

Institute of Sociology

Sociology of Emotions

Professor

Office hours

 Summer Term 2020 (20 April to 18 July)

Tuesdays 3-4 pm | Online consultations via Webex (15 min. slots)

To sign up, send an email to Katja Geiger (katja.geiger@fu-berlin.de) stating name and subject (e.g. MA thesis, term paper). Once you’ve fixed an appointment, send me an email with your questions and, if required, supporting material so that we can use the online-time efficiently.

With issues that can be resolved quickly by email, you are of course welcome to contact me directly.

Information for students seeking MA thesis supervision

Before booking an appointment and at least 6 weeks prior to registration date, send me a thesis proposal so that I can determine if I am the right fit thematically. The proposal (max. one page) should summarize your ideas so far as well as broadly outline topic and relevance, the specific research question you wish to address and the intended methodological approach. If you haven't decided on a topic yet, you may find some suggestions on this page.

Information Letter of Recommendation

Vita

Since 2014, I am Professor of Sociology and Head of the Research Group "Sociology of Emotion" at Freie Universität Berlin. I am a member of the Executive Board of the Collaborative Research Center Affective Societies and Research Fellow at the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW Berlin). My previous experience is summarized below.

2011 - 2014 Appointed DIW Research Professor at the German Institute for Economic Research (Deutsches Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung, DIW)

2008 - 2014 Assistant Professor (Juniorprofessor) of Sociology, Cluster of Excellence "Languages of Emotion" and Institute of Sociology, Freie Universität Berlin

2007 - 2008 Assistant Professor, Institute of Sociology, University of Vienna, Austria

2004 - 2005 Fellow of the Research Group “Emotions as Bio-Cultural Processes”, Center for Interdisciplinary Research (ZiF), Bielefeld University

2003 - 2007 Research Assistant at Deutscher Bundestag (German parliament)

2007 Doctorate in Economics and Social Sciences (Dr. rer. pol.), University of Hamburg

2002 Diploma in Sociology, University of Hamburg

Studied Sociology, Psychology, Economics, and Political Science at University of Hamburg

Research interests

I am working in the microsociology of culture, emotion, and stratification. Broadly speaking, my work addresses how culture and social structure shape the ways in which people feel, think, and interact and thereby reproduce and change social order. On the one hand, this approach includes symbols, norms, and values as well as inequality and stratification. On the other hand, it comprises emotions, identities, social interactions, and practices. My current research covers three broad areas: First, I investigate the social and cultural constitution of emotion. More specifically, my aim is to understand socially shared patterns of feeling, as both affective dispositions and short-lived collective emotions, and their role in groups and societies. Second, I am studying selected cultural and social underpinnings of economic action and institutions. A third area of inquiry is science and technology studies in which I investigate social interaction with non-humans, primarily robots and artificial agents. My research draws on a variety of methods, for example surveys, interviews, and experiments.

Major fields

  • Microsociology, Social Psychology, Sociology of Culture, Economic Sociology, Science and Technology Studies
  • Culture, Cognition, Affect and Emotion, Stratification, Norms and Values, Identity, Interaction
  • Experimental methods, unobtrusive and nonreactive measures

Editorial Duties

Research

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Prof. Dr. Christian von Scheve

Scheve2

Institut für Soziologie

Soziologie der Emotionen

Professor

Sprechstunde

Vorlesungsfreie Zeit (20. August bis 30. Oktober 2020)

Kommende Termine

Freitag, 18. September 13-15 Uhr  - belegt

Dienstag, 29. September 12-13 Uhr

Donnerstag, 8. Oktober, 13-14 Uhr

(Online-Sprechstunde via Webex; 15 min.-Taktung) 

Die Anmeldung/Terminvergabe erfolgt über Katja Geiger (katja.geiger@fu-berlin.de). Hierfür genügt eine kurze E-Mail mit Name und Anliegen. In Vorbereitung auf den Termin und rechtzeitig vor diesem schicken Sie mir dann bitte per E-Mail ihre Fragen und ggf. erforderliche Dokumente damit wir die Gesprächszeit effektiv nutzen können.

Mit Fragen, die sich auch kurz und knapp per E-Mail klären lassen, können Sie mich selbstverständlich direkt kontaktieren.

Anfragen Betreuung Masterarbeit

Bitte schicken Sie mir spätestens 6 Wochen vor Anmeldetermin eine Ideenskizze (max. eine A4 Seite) damit ich entscheiden kann, ob ich thematisch für die Betreuung überhaupt infrage komme. Aus der Ideenskizze sollte neben dem Thema und dessen Relevanz ersichtlich sein, welche Forschungsfrage Sie adressieren möchten und mithilfe welcher Methoden. Studierende, die noch ein Thema suchen, können sich an den Vorschlägen auf dieser Seite orientieren.

Anfragen Empfehlungsschreiben/gutachterliche Stellungnahme

Vita

Seit 2014 Universitätsprofessor für Soziologie und Leiter des Arbeitsbereichs Soziologie der Emotionen an der Freien Universität Berlin. Zudem Vorstandsmitglied im Sonderforschungsbereich 1171 Affective Societies und Research Fellow am Deutschen Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung (DIW Berlin)

2011 - 2014 Forschungsprofessur am Deutschen Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung Berlin (DIW)

2008 - 2014 Juniorprofessor für Soziologie am Exzellenzcluster "Languages of Emotion" und am Institut für Soziologie, Freie Universität Berlin

2007 - 2008 Assistenzprofessor am Institut für Soziologie, Universität Wien

2004 - 2005 Fellow der Forschungsgruppe “Emotions as Bio-Cultural Processes”, Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Forschung (ZiF), Universität Bielefeld 

2003 - 2007 Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter, Deutscher Bundestag

2007 Promotion in Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften (Dr. rer. pol.), Universität Hamburg

2002 Diplom in Soziologie, Universität Hamburg

Studium der Soziologie, Psychologie, Volkswirtschaftslehre und Politikwissenschaft, Universität Hamburg

Forschung

Meine primär mikrosoziologischen Arbeitsschwerpunkte liegen in der Emotionssoziologie, der Kultursoziologie und der Sozialstrukturanalyse. Ich befasse mich der Frage, welche Bedeutung Kultur und soziale Strukturen für das Fühlen, Denken und Handeln haben und wie sie zur Reproduktion sozialer Ordnungen und zu gesellschaftlichem Wandel beitragen. Dieser Zugang konzentriert sich auf die Analyse von Emotionen, Identitäten, Praktiken und Formen sozialer Interaktion, die ich im Zusammenhang mit Normen, Werten, symbolischen Ordnungen und sozialer Ungleichheit untersuche. Meine gegenwärtige theoretische wie empirische Forschung umfasst drei Bereiche: erstens die soziale und kulturelle Konstitution von Emotionen und affektivem Erleben, insbesondere von affektiven Dispositionen und kollektiven Emotionen; zweitens die kulturellen Grundlagen und emotionalen Dimensionen ökonomischen Handelns; und drittens die soziale Interaktion zwischen menschlichen und nicht-menschlichen Akteuren. In meiner Arbeit greife ich auf eine Vielzahl von Forschungsmethoden zurück, zum Beispiel Umfragen, Interviews und Experimente. 

Schwerpunkte

  • Mikrosoziologie, Kultursoziologie, Wirtschaftssoziologie, Sozialpsychologie, Sozialstrukturanalyse. 
  • Kultur, Kognition, Affekt und Emotion, Ungleichheit, Normen und Werte, Identität, soziale Interaktion
  • Experimentelle Methoden

Herausgeberschaften und Beiräte

Forschungsprojekte