Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Regulations for the Conduct of Doctoral Examinations

On May 24th, 2018 the Dr. phil./Ph.D. Regulations of the Department of Political and Social Sciences have come into force. They replace the Common Dr. phil./Ph.D. Regulations of the Freie Universität Berlin (interim regulations see below) and are valid for doctoral candidates in the

    • Institute of Social and Cultural Anthropology
    • Otto-Suhr-Institute of Political Science
    • Institute for Media and Communication Studies and
    • Institute for Sociology

Doctoral candidates in Political Science (and in no other doctoral subject the Otto-Suhr-Institute for Political Science have established) are free to choose between the Dr. phil. / Ph.D. and the Dr. rer. pol. / Ph.D. regulations.

The Central Institutes are not authorized to confer doctoral degrees. If you have completed a Master´s programme in one of the Central Institutes and/or wish to write a doctoral thesis with a focus on regional topics, you have to decide on the subject and the respective department you wish to do your doctorate in. Should you have already come to an agreement with a prospective supervisor please take into account which department she or he is affiliated with. For further information please get in touch with the department your doctoral subject belongs to. If your chosen field is represented in the Department of Political and Social Sciences please observe the a.m. information on the current regulations. 

Regulations for the Conduct of Doctoral Examinations
(Legal Documents, exclusively in German)

English Versions of the Regulations for the Conduct of Doctoral Examinations
(Not legally binding, for your information only)

 Notice

    • Doctoral students who have been admitted on May 24th, 2018 or later pursue their doctoral procedure either according to the Dr. rer. pol./Ph.D. Regulations of 2008 (including the amendments of 2012) or the new Dr.phil./Ph.D. Regulations of 2018.
    • Doctoral candidates whose admissions had been granted according to the former Common Dr. phil./Ph.D. Regulations of the Freie Universität Berlin - i.e. before May 24th, 2018 - have the right to complete their doctoral procedure according to the former regulations within a transition period of four years. Doctoral candidates who fail to do so until May 23rd, 2022 will have to complete their doctoral procedure in accordance with the new regulations. An earlier transition into the new regulations can be granted by the Committee for Doctoral Examinations upon request.
    • For doctoral candidates who have been admitted according to the Dr. rer. pol./Ph.D. Regulations 2008 there is no change so far. But it is to be expected that these regulations will be revised as well in the near future - with a view to providing the same conditions and regulations for all doctoral students in our department.

Promotionsordnungen

Am 24. Mai 2018 ist die Promotionsordnung zum Dr. phil./Ph.D. des Fachbereichs Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften in Kraft getreten. Sie ersetzt die Gemeinsame Promotionsordnung zum Dr. phil./Ph.D. der Freien Universität Berlin (Übergangsregelungen s.u.) und gilt für Promovierende am

  • Institut für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie
  • Otto-Suhr-Institut für Politikwissenschaft
  • Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft und
  • Institut für Soziologie

Promovierende im Fach Politikwissenschaft (nicht jedoch in den anderen Promotionsfächern des Otto-Suhr-Instituts für Politikwissenschaft) können zwischen der Promotionsordnung zum Dr. phil./Ph.D. und der Promotionsordnung zum Dr. rer. pol./Ph.D. wählen.

Die Zentralinstitute der Freien Universität Berlin haben kein Promotionsrecht. Wenn Sie Ihr Studium an einem der Zentralinstitute abgeschlossen haben und/oder eine Dissertation mit einem regionalwissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkt verfassen möchten, müssen Sie sich für ein an einem der Fachbereiche der Freien Universität Berlin vertretenes Promotionsfach entscheiden. Falls Sie bereits eine(n) Betreuer*in gewonnen haben, beziehen Sie bitte in Ihre Entscheidung ein, welchem Fachbereich Ihr(e) Betreuer*in angehört. Wenden Sie sich anschließend für weiterführende Informationen an den entsprechenden Fachbereich. Sofern Sie sich für ein am FB Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften vertretenes Promotionsfach entscheiden, gilt die o.g. Zuordnung. 

Promotionsordnungen

Hinweise

  • Für alle ab dem 24. Mai 2018 zugelassenen Promovierenden gilt die Promotionsordnungen zum Dr. phil./Ph.D. aus dem Jahr 2018 bzw. die Promotionsordnung zum Dr. rer. pol./Ph.D. aus dem Jahr 2008 (inklusive der Änderungsordnung aus dem Jahr 2012).

  • Promovierende, die vor dem 24. Mai 2018 gemäß der Gemeinsamen Promotionsordnung zum Dr. phil./Ph.D. der Freien Universität Berlin zum Promotionsverfahren zugelassen wurden, dürfen ihr Promotionsverfahren innerhalb einer Übergangsfrist von vier Jahren - d.h. bis zum 23. Mai 2022 - noch nach der bisherigen Ordnung abschließen. Nach Ablauf der Übergangsfrist treten alle Promovierenden, deren Verfahren noch nicht abgeschlossen ist, automatisch in die aktuelle Promotionsordnung über. Ein früherer Übertritt in die aktuelle Promotionsordnung ist auf Antrag an den Promotionsausschuss möglich.

  • Für Promovierende, die gemäß der Promotionsordnung zum Dr. rer. pol./Ph.D. des Fachbereichs Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften zugelassen wurden ist bisher noch keine Änderung zu verzeichnen. Es ist jedoch damit zu rechnen, dass auch diese Promotionsordnung in Kürze überarbeitet wird, um einheitliche Regelungen für alle Promovierenden des Fachbereichs zu gewährleisten.