Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Information for Doctoral Candidates

Thank you very much for your interest in attaining a doctorate in the Department of Political and Social Sciences.

According to your own preferences you may choose between an Individual Doctorate (i.e. writing your doctoral thesis and defending it in an oral examination) and a Structured Doctorate (i.e. the completion of the programme of one of the Graduate Schools of the Freie Universität Berlin in addition to writing your thesis and defending it).

The Individual Doctorate is still the most popular way to attain a doctorate in Germany; and the Department of Political and Social Sciences with its wide range of subjects offers excellent opportunities to do just that. If you choose the Individual Doctorate you can focus on your doctoral project without having to comply with the rules and regulations of a study programme. You will enjoy a liberty when choosing the topic of your thesis or structuring your completely flexible working hours that no study programme can match.  

In a Structured Doctorate, on the other hand, the doctorate students are fully integrated into the stable education programme of a Graduate School. This programme brings together select doctoral students whose projects are attributable to a common interdisciplinary field. The advantages of a Structured Doctorate as opposed to the Individual Doctorate lie in the additional financial support that is being offered, a choice of interdisciplinary courses in which key qualifications for a future in academia or other professional fields can be acquired, the systematic support in career planning as well as the aid of the Welcome Center which, among other things, organises orientation weeks for new students and offers special services for international doctoral students.

Provided they have the consent of their supervisors, the Regulations for the Conduct of Doctoral Examinations permit doctoral students to submit either a monograph or a cumulative work as their doctoral thesis. In addition to that doctoral students who have successfully completed both their doctoral procedure and the programme of their Graduate School may decide whether they prefer to attain the traditional academic Dr. phil./Dr. rer. pol or the grade Ph.D.

In case a misunderstanding, contrast of interests etc. should lead to tensions in the long-term cooperation with your supervisor, the Department´s Conflict Counselling is at your disposal. Four professors of our department have agreed to act as counsel and liaison in case of conflict.

Further information

On our web pages you will find detailed information on

 

Contact

Chair of the Committee for Doctoral Examinations in the  
  Otto-Suhr-Institute of Political Science Prof. Dr. Tanja Börzel
  Institute of Sociology Prof. Dr. Jürgen Gerhards
  Institute for Media and Communication Studies Prof. Dr. Martin Emmer
  Institute of Social and Cultural Anthropology Prof. Dr. Birgitt Röttger-Rössler
Early Career Support Daphne Stelter, Eric Ostermann

News:

In order to slow the spread of Covid-19 and to protect fellow women and men whose health is especially jeopardized the staff of the Early Career Support have been transferred to outwork effective immediately. We will continue to be at your disposal per mail, can receive letters or parcels and will try to achive accessibility per telephone. With the consent of all involved parties defenses of doctoral theses may take place for the time being. T minimize risk of infection they must be held in camera . Please keep yourself informed of any developments via the web pages of the Freie Universitaet and the media. If the university is closed down, this will mean the immediate cancellation of all scheduled examinations.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Informationen für Promovierende

Wir freuen uns über Ihr Interesse an einer Promotion am Fachbereich Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften!

An unserem Fachbereich können Sie zwischen einer Individualpromotion und einem Promotionsstudium (strukturierte Promotion) wählen.

Die Individualpromotion ist in Deutschland noch immer der häufigste Weg zu promovieren, wofür Ihnen der FB Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften mit seinem Fächerspektrum sehr gute Möglichkeiten bietet. Mit der Individualpromotion können Sie Ihr Promotionsvorhaben verfolgen, ohne ein Promotionsstudium zu absolvieren. Die Vorteile liegen gegenüber einem Promotionsstudium in der wesentlichen größeren Freiheit bei der Themenwahl und der zeitlichen Flexibilität.

Bei einem Promotionsstudium sind die Doktorand*innen in das feste Ausbildungsprogramm ihrer jeweiligen Graduate School integriert. In diesem Programm kommen ausgewählte Graduierte zusammen, deren Projekte einem gemeinsamen, interdisziplinären Thema zuzuordnen sind. Die Vorteile eines Promotionsstudiums gegenüber der Individualpromotion liegen in den Angeboten einer zusätzlichen finanziellen Förderung, fächerübergreifender Kurse, in denen Schlüsselqualifikationen für die Arbeit in der Wissenschaft oder in anderen Berufen erworben werden können, systematischer Unterstützung bei der Karriereplanung sowie des Welcome Centers, das unter anderem Orientierungswochen für neu in die Programme Aufgenommene veranstaltet und dabei besondere Services für internationale Graduierte bietet.

Die geltenden Promotionsordnungen zum Dr. phil. und Dr. rer. pol. gestatten es allen Promovierenden - in Absprache mit ihren Betreuer*innen - wahlweise eine Monographie oder eine kumulative Arbeit als Dissertation einzureichen. Strukturiert Promovierende dürfen darüber hinaus wählen, ob sie nach erfolgreichem Abschluss ihrer Graduate School und des Promotionsverfahrens den traditionellen Doktorgrad Dr. phil. bzw. Dr. rer. pol. oder den Grad PhD erwerben möchten.

Sollte es in der langfristigen Zusammenarbeit zwischen Ihnen und Ihrem/Ihrer Betreuer*in zu Spannungen kommen, steht Ihnen die Konfliktberatung zur Verfügung. Vier Hochschullehrer*innen unseres Fachbereichs haben sich bereiterklärt, in Konfliktfällen zu beraten und zu vermitteln.

Weiterführende Informationen

Auf unseren Webseiten finden Sie detaillierte Informationen

Ansprechpartner*innen 

Vorsitzende(r) des Promotionsauschusses im  
 - Otto-Suhr-Institut für Politikwissenschaft Prof. Dr. Tanja Börzel
 - Institut für Soziologie Prof. Dr. Jürgen Gerhards
 - Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationwissenschaft Prof. Dr. Martin Emmer
 - Institut für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie Prof. Dr. Birgitt Röttger-Rössler
 Nachwuchsförderung Daphne Stelter, Eric Ostermann

Aktuelle Informationen:

Um die Ausbreitung von Covid-19 möglichst zu verlangsamen und besonders gefährdete Mitmenschen zu schützen, sind die Mitarbeiter*innen der Nachwuchsförderung ab sofort im Home Office tätig. Wir stehen Ihnen weiterhin per Mail zur Verfügung, können uns per Post zugesandte Unterlagen bearbeiten und bemühen uns um telefonische Erreichbarkeit. Disputationen dürfen, sofern alle Beteiligten es wünschen, bis auf weiteres stattfinden. Um das Ansteckungsrisiko zu minimieren, ist die Öffentlichkeit jedoch von der Teilnahme ausgeschlossen. Bitte beachten Sie jedoch die Informationen auf den Webseiten der Freien Universität und in den Medien. Sollte die Universität geschlossen werden, ist damit die unmittelbare Absetzung aller Prüfungen verbunden.