Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Cumulative Doctoral Thesis

The current Regulations for the Conduct of Doctoral Examinations for the Dr. phil. and the Dr. rer. pol. permit doctoral students – in agreement with their supervisors – to submit either

  • an unpublished or partly published monograph or

  • a cumulative thesis consisting of published and/or unpublished individual papers, which, as a whole, must represent an academic achievement equivalent to that of a monograph.

Some of the prerequisites a cumulative doctoral thesis has to meet have been included in § 7(2) of the regulations. Published papers must have been published in peer-reviewed scientific journals, unpublished papers must have been accepted for publication by peer-reviewed scientific journals. And in addition to the individual papers a cumulative thesis shall include a table listing the titles of the individual papers, an introduction, and connecting text which has to comprehensively interpret, assess and discuss the individual parts of the thesis.

The regulations do not define, however, according to which criteria the equivalence of a cumulative doctoral thesis with a monograph should be evaluated. This is why the department´s committees for doctoral examinations had to pass supplementary resolutions. Every cumulative doctoral thesis will be subject to an individual assessment upon submission. But in order to provide a guideline for doctoral students the commitees for doctoral examinations of our four institutes have determined specific criteria.

In any case, the competent committee for doctoral examinations will merely determine whether the cumulative thesis represents an academic achievement equivalent to that of a monograph. The decision on acceptance (and grading) or rejection of the thesis will be drawn by the doctoral commission, exactly as it were the case with a monograph. Doctoral students who wish to submit a cumulative doctoral thesis should therefore involve their reviewers and the further members of the commission at the earliest possible point in time.

Otto-Suhr-Institute of Political Science

  • Depending on their length three to five papers have to be submitted which can be classified as belonging to a common topic and which have to be connected by an introduction, joining parts and a conclusion.
  • All papers have to be either already published by a peer-reviewed journal or at least accepted for publication. Proof of publication and/or acceptance has to be presented upon submission of the thesis.

  • The majority of papers must have been written by the doctoral student as sole author.

  • In any paper that has been produced in co-authorship the contributions of the doctoral student and the co-author have to be clearly marked.

  • A co-author of one or several of the individual papers can not act as reviewer of the cumulative doctoral thesis. 

  • The majority of papers must have been published in or accepted for publication by journals dedicated to Political Science.  

Institute of Sociology

  • A cumulative thesis shall consist of at least four papers.

  • These papers have to belong to a common topic.

  • The papers must have been published or accepted for publication by an established peer-reviewed journal.

  • At least one of the papers must have been written by the doctoral candidate as sole author. In addition to that the doctoral student must be the main author of two further papers.

  • At least one of the reviewers of the cumulative thesis shall not be a co-author of any of the individual papers it consists of.

Institute for Media and Communication Studies

  • Content Requirements
    The dissertation can be written in cumulative form on the basis of already published or demonstrably accepted communication science publications. In this case, a conclusive overall concept must be submitted for admission to the doctorate. When the dissertation is submitted, the overall concept manifests itself in an umbrella document for the publications which have been submitted, which sets out the thematic and specialist as well as, if applicable, methodological context of the publications submitted and the link to the framework concept (see below).

  • Supervisor, Expert, and Examiner
    In the case of a cumulatively written dissertation, it is not possible to appoint a reviewer or examiner who has co-authored or co-published the submitted work or parts thereof.

  • Benchmarks of the Cumulative Dissertation
    The dissertation consists of three articles published or demonstrably accepted for publication in peer-reviewed journals; at least one of the articles must be published in an English-language journal listed either in the Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) or in the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). The doctoral candidate must be the sole author of two of the articles and the first author of another article.
    In the sense of a conclusive overall concept, the essays that represent the cumulative dissertation must be thematically related. In the umbrella publication, the theoretical and methodological foundations of the research work, the synthesis of the findings, the essential innovations and conclusions as well as their significance for the doctoral subject should be presented. The umbrella publication should be at least 10,000 words long and should be attached to the written doctoral application together with the essays in bound form.
    The period between the date of publication of the most recent essay and the date of publication of the oldest of the articles included may not exceed six years. In the case of parental leave, the period shall be extended by two years per child up to a maximum of four years.

Institute of Social- and Cultural Anthropology

Subject Social- and Cultural Anthropology
  • The thesis shall consist of at least four papers.

  • At least two of the papers have to be written by the doctoral candidate as sole author. Moreover the doctoral candidate has to be the main author in at least one more of the remaining two papers.

  • The papers must have been published or accepted for publication by established peer-reviewed journals.

  • The topics of the papers have to be related.

  • The introduction, in which the papers of the cumulative thesis are comprehensively interpreted, graded and discussed, has to consist of at least 40 to 50 pages.

  • At least one of the reviewers of the cumulative thesis shall not be a co-author of any of the individual papers it consists of.

 Subject Visual and Media Anthropology
  • The cumulative-thesis consists of a written and a media-based part.

  • The number of the consisting papers has to be at least two.

  • The papers must have been published or accepted for publication by established peer-reviewed journals.

  • One of the papers has to be written by the doctoral candidate as sole author.

  • The introduction, which interprets, grades and discusses the papers of the cumulative thesis comprehensively, has to consist of at least 40 to 50 pages.

  • The scope of the media-based part is specified in the following way: candidates may submit
    - either a movie with a length of at least 45 minutes
    - or two short movies
    which have been directed by the respective candidate and received an invitation to an ethnographic film festival, a documentary film festival or to another relevant film festival.

  • At least one of the reviewers of the cumulative thesis shall not be a co-author of any of the individual papers it consists of.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Kumulative Dissertation

Die geltenden Promotionsordnungen zum Dr. phil. und Dr. rer. pol. gestatten es allen Promovierenden, in Absprache mit ihren Betreuer*innen entweder

  • eine unveröffentlichte oder in Teilen veröffentlichte Monographie oder
  • eine kumulative Arbeit, die aus veröffentlichten und/oder unveröffentlichten Einzelarbeiten besteht und die in ihrer Gesamtheit eine einer Monographie gleichwertige Leistungen darstellen muss,

als Dissertation einzureichen.

Einige Bedingungen, die kumulative Dissertation erfüllen muss, sind in § 7(2) der Promotionsordnung enthalten. So müssen bereits veröffentlichte Einzelarbeiten in wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften mit Begutachtungssystem publiziert und noch unveröffentlichte in entsprechenden Fachzeitschriften zur Publikation angenommen worden sein. Außerdem muss eine kumulative Dissertation zusätzlich zu den publizierten oder zur Publikation angenommenen Artikeln eine Liste mit den Titeln der Einzelarbeiten, eine Einleitung und verbindende Texte enthalten, die die Teile der Arbeit übergreifend interpretieren, bewerten und diskutieren.  

Die Promotionsordnung definiert jedoch nicht, anhand welcher Kriterien geprüft werden soll, ob eine kumulative Dissertation tatsächlich eine einer Monographie gleichwertige Leistung darstellt. Aus diesem Grund mussten die Promotionsausschüsse des Fachbereichs ergän­zende Beschlüsse fassen. Grundsätzlich wird jede eingereichte kumulative Dissertation einer Einzelfallprüfung auf ihre Gleichwertigkeit mit einer Monographie unterzogen. Als Orientierungshinweise für interessierte Promovierende haben die Promotionsausschüsse der vier Institute spezifische Kriterienkataloge festgelegt.

Für alle Institute und Fächer gilt: der zuständige Promotionsausschuss prüft ausschließlich, ob die eingereichte kumulative Dissertation eine einer Monographie gleichwertige Leistung darstellt. Die inhaltliche Entscheidung über die Annahme (und anschließende Bewertung) bzw. Ablehnung der Dissertation obliegt – wie bei einer Monographie – der Promotionskommission. Promovierende, die eine kumulative Dissertation anstreben, sollten sich daher so früh wie möglich mit ihren Gutachter*innen und weiteren Kommissionsmitgliedern ins Benehmen setzen.

Otto-Suhr-Institut für Politikwissenschaft 

  • Je nach Umfang der Publikationen sind zwischen drei und fünf Artikel einzureichen, die einem gemeinsamen Themenbereich zugeordnet werden können und die durch einen Mantel (Einleitung, Überleitungen, Schlussfolgerungen) zu verbinden sind.

  • Alle Artikel müssen entweder in einer Fachzeitschrift mit Begutachtungsverfahren bereits publiziert oder zur Publikation angenommen worden sein; Publikation bzw. Annahme sind nachzuweisen.

  • Die Mehrheit der Artikel muss in Alleinautorenschaft entstanden sein.

  • Bei Artikeln, die in Co-Autorenschaft entstanden sind, muss der eigene Anteil und der Anteil des/der Co-Autor*in deutlich gekennzeichnet sein.

  • Co-Autor*innen dürfen im Promotionsverfahren nicht zu Gutachter*innen der kumulativen Dissertation bestellt werden.

  • Die Mehrheit der Artikel muss in politikwissenschaftichen Fachzeitschriften publiziert bzw. zur Publikation angenommen worden sein.  

Institut für Soziologie

  • Die Anzahl der Artikel soll mindestens vier betragen.
  • Die Aufsätze sollen in einem thematischen Zusammenhang zueinander stehen.

  • Die Artikel sollten in etablierten Fachzeitschriften mit Begutachtungsverfahren entweder bereits veröffentlicht oder zur Publikation angenommen worden sein.

  • Mindestens einer der Zeitschriftenartikel soll in Alleinautor*innenschaft verfasst worden sein. Zudem muss der/die Promovend*in Hauptautor*in von mindestens zwei weiteren Zeitschriftenartikeln sein.

  • Mindestens eine(r) der beiden Gutachter*innen der Dissertation darf bei keinem der eingereichten Artikel Koautor*in sein.

Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft

  • Inhaltliche Anforderungen
    Die Dissertation kann in kumulativer Form auf Basis bereits veröffentlichter oder nachweislich zur Veröffentlichung angenommener kommunikationswissenschaftlicher Publikationen verfasst werden. In diesem Fall ist bei der Zulassung zur Promotion eine auf das Thema ausgerichtete schlüssige Gesamtkonzeption vorzulegen. Bei Einreichung der Dissertation manifestiert sich die Gesamtkonzeption in einer Dachschrift zu den eingereichten Publikationen, die den thematischen und fachlichen sowie ggfs. methodologischen Zusammenhang der eingereichten Schriften und die Verbindung zum Rahmenkonzept darlegt (siehe unten 3 Abs.2).

  • Betreuer*in, Gutachter*in und Prüfer*innen
    Im Falle einer kumulativ verfassten Dissertation kann nicht zum/zur Gutachter*in oder Prüfer*in bestellt werden, wer als Mitautor*in an der eingereichten Arbeit oder Teilen davon mitgewirkt oder diese mitveröffentlicht hat.

  • Benchmarks der kumulativen Dissertation
    Die Dissertation besteht aus drei veröffentlichten oder nachweisbar zur Veröffentlichung angenommenen Aufsätzen in Fachzeitschriften mit Peer-Review-Verfahren; mindestens einer der Aufsätze muss in einer englischsprachigen Fachzeitschrift veröffentlicht sein, die entweder im Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) oder im Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) gelistet ist. Der/die Doktorandin muss in zwei der Aufsätze Alleinautor/in und bei einem weiteren Aufsatz Erstautor/in sein.
    Im Sinne einer schlüssigen Gesamtkonzeption müssen die Aufsätze, welche die kumulative Dissertation darstellen, in einem thematischen Zusammenhang stehen. In der Dachschrift sollen die theoretischen und methodischen Grundlagen der Forschungsarbeit, die Synthese der Befunde, die wesentlichen Innovationen und Schlussfolgerungen sowie ihre Bedeutung für das Promotionsfach dargestellt werden. Die Dachschrift soll einen Umfang von mindestens 10.000 Worten haben und zusammen mit den Aufsätzen in gebundener Form dem schriftlichen Promotionsgesuch beigefügt werden.
    Der Zeitraum zwischen dem Datum der Veröffentlichung des jüngsten und dem Datum der Veröffentlichung des ältesten der eingebundenen Aufsätze darf sechs Jahre nicht überschreiten. Im Fall von Elternzeit verlängert sich der Zeitraum pro Kind um zwei Jahre bis zu maximal vier Jahre.

Institut für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie

 Fach Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie
  • Die Anzahl der Artikel soll mindestens vier betragen.

  • Mindestens zwei der Zeitschriftenartikel sollen in Alleinautorenschaft verfasst worden sein. Zudem muss der/die Promovend*in Erstautor*in von mindestens einem weiteren Zeitschriftenartikel sein.

  • Die Artikel sollten in etablierten Fachzeitschriften mit Begutachtungsverfahren entweder bereits veröffentlicht oder zur Publikation angenommen worden sein.

  • Die Aufsätze sollen in einem thematischen Zusammenhang zueinander stehen

  • Der einleitende Text, welcher die in die kumulative Arbeit eingefügten Einzelarbeiten übergreifend interpretiert, bewertet und diskutiert, sollte üblicherweise zwischen 40-50 Seiten umfassen.  

  • Mindestens eine(r) der beiden Gutachter*innen der Dissertation darf bei keinem der eingereichten Artikel Koautor*in sein.

 Fach Visual and Media Anthropology
  • Die kumulative Dissertation in Visual and Media Anthropology besteht aus einem schriftlichen und einem medien-gestützten Teil.

  • Die Anzahl der Zeitschriftenartikel soll mindestens zwei betragen.

  • Die Artikel sollten in etablierten Fachzeitschriften mit Begutachtungsverfahren entweder bereits veröffentlicht oder zur Publikation angenommen worden sein.

  • Zudem muss der/die Promovend*in Alleinautor*in von mindestens einem der beiden Artikel sein.

  • Der einleitende Text, welcher die in die kumulative Arbeit eingefügten Einzelarbeiten und die medien-gestützte Arbeit übergreifend interpretiert, bewertet und diskutiert, sollte üblicherweise zwischen 40-50 Seiten umfassen.

  • Der Umfang der medien-gestützten Arbeit ist wie folgt spezifiziert: es soll sich
    - entweder um einen Film mit mindestens 45 Minuten Länge
    - oder um zwei Kurzfilme handeln
    die jeweils in der Regie des/der Promovend*in entstanden sind und eine Einladung zu einem ethnographischen Filmfestival, einem Dokumentarfilmfestival oder einem anderen einschlägigen Filmfestival erhalten haben.

  • Mindestens eine(r) der beiden Gutachter*innen der Dissertation darf bei keinem der eingereichten Artikel Koautor*in sein.