About the Institute

At a Glance

The Institute of Sociology offers a broad spectrum of research activities, with particular focus on an analysis of transnationalization and Europeanization processes and international comparison, especially of European societies. This research and teaching agenda is implemented together with the Central Institutes for East European Studies, Latin American Studies, and the John F. Kennedy Institute for North American Studies as well as the Social Science Research Center Berlin (WZB) and the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW).

Members of the Institute are involved in the German Research Foundation (DFG) Research Unit studying European socialization processes, the Collaborative Research Center (SFB) “Affective Societies – Dynamics of Sociality in a World in Motion”, the Socio-Economic Panel (SOEP), and the National Educational Panel Study (NEPS) as well as at several graduate schools funded by the German Excellence Initiative. This research profile is complemented by a research-oriented master’s program "Sociology – European Societies," which is offered in English and German.

Council of the Institute (Institutsrat)

Professors: Katharina Bluhm, Sérgio Costa, Jürgen Gerhards (Managing Director), Christian von Scheve

Representive of research associates: Lisa Bankowski

Students' representative: Lars Mojem

Representative of non-scientific staff: Inga Ganzer

History

In an article Heiner Ganßmann presents a historical portrayal of the institute. As a student, research associate and later professor he was part of the institutes’ development from 1963-2009 and correspondingly participated in its creation.

Heiner Ganßmann (2013): Ein umgedrehtes U – Soziologie an der Freien Universität Berlin, in: Gesellschaftswissenschaften an der Freien Universität Berlin. V&R Unipress, S. 265-278 (only in German).

Postdoctoral lecture qualifications (Habilitationen)

The success of university institutes can manifest in different dimensions. For sure, one relevant dimension is if and to what extent an institute is able to educate its young academics and to position them on the labour market successfully. The Institute of Sociology does not have empirical information about all its graduates and their paths of career. But we know which persons made their postdoctoral lecture qualification ("Habilitation") at the institute and who became professors later.

This table lists those persons who made their postdoctoral lecture qualification in the field of sociology at Freie Universität Berlin, partly in cooperation with other institutes in Berlin (Max Planck Institute, Social Science Research Center, etc.) and who were able to get a professorship. Especially regarding the former years this list is surely not complete. Since the introduction of junior professorships appointments got possible without “Habilitation”. For the last five years the list also includes persons who were research associates at the institute and who were appointed to a junior professorship.

One can see: Until now the Institute of Sociology was very successful in educating and positioning young academics.

Über das Institut

Kurzporträt

Der internationale, vor allem europäische, Gesellschaftsvergleich und die Analyse von Globalisierungs- und Europäisierungsprozessen bilden den inhaltlichen Kern des Instituts für Soziologie.

Wir bieten einen auf Deutsch und Englisch studierbaren Masterstudiengang „Soziologie – Europäische Gesellschaften“ an. Die Vorlesungen und die meisten Seminare werden auf Englisch unterrichtet, einige Seminare werden auf Deutsch angeboten. Dieser forschungsorientierte Studiengang legt einen Schwerpunkt auf die quantitativen Methoden der empirischen Sozialforschung und profitiert von der Zusammenarbeit mit den Regionalinstituten Osteuropa, Lateinamerika und dem John-F.-Kennedy-Institut für Nordamerikastudien der Freien Universität einerseits und dem Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin (WZB) sowie dem Deutschen Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung (DIW) andererseits.

Angehörige des Instituts sind u.a. am Exzellenzcluster „Contestations of the Liberal Script. Weltweite Herausforderungen für liberale Demokratie und Marktwirtschaft als Ordnungsmodell“, am „Zentrum für Zivilgesellschaftsforschung“, an der DFG-Forschergruppe „Europäische Vergesellschaftungsprozesse“, am Sonderforschungsbereich (SFB) „Affective Societies – Dynamiken des Zusammenlebens in bewegten Welten”, am Sozio-ökonomischen Panel (SOEP), am Nationalen Bildungspanel (NEPS) als auch an mehreren Graduiertenschulen beteiligt.

Institutsrat

Professor*innen: Katharina Bluhm, Swen Hutter, Jürgen Gerhards (Vorsitzender), Christian von Scheve

Vertreter des Mittelbaus: Daniel Drewski

Studentische Vertreterin: Ines Schäfer

Vertreterin der Sonstigen Mitarbeiter: Saskia Fischer

Geschichte

Eine historische Darstellung des Institutes bietet ein Artikel von Heiner Ganßmann. Als Student, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und später Professor hat er die Entwicklungen des Institutes in der Zeit von 1963 bis 2009 miterlebt und das Institut entsprechend auch mitgestaltet.

Heiner Ganßmann (2013): Ein umgedrehtes U – Soziologie an der Freien Universität Berlin, in: Gesellschaftswissenschaften an der Freien Universität Berlin. V&R Unipress, S. 265-278.

Helmut Asche (2018): Die Entwicklungssoziologie an der FU Berlin. Eine Spurensuche unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der Schwellenländerforschung.

Habilitationen

Der Erfolg von Universitätsinstituten kann sich in unterschiedlichen Dimensionen manifestieren. Eine relevante Dimension ist sicherlich, ob und in welchem Maße es einem Institut gelingt, akademischen Nachwuchs auszubilden und erfolgreich auf dem Arbeitsmarkt zu platzieren. Das Institut für Soziologie verfügt über keine empirischen Informationen über alle Absolventen und deren Karrierewege. Wir wissen aber, welche Personen am Institut für Soziologie habilitiert haben und dann später zu HochschullehrerInnen geworden sind.

Die vorliegende Tabelle listet die Personen auf, die im Fach Soziologie an der FU, zum Teil in Kooperation mit anderen Berliner Instituten (Max-Planck-Institut, Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin u.a.) habilitiert und eine Hochschullehrerposition erreicht haben. Die Liste ist, insbesondere was die früheren Jahre anbelangt, sicherlich noch nicht vollständig. Seit Einführung der Juniorprofessur sind Berufungen auch ohne Habilitation möglich geworden. Für die letzten Jahre enthält die Liste auch Personen, die wissenschaftliche MitarbeiterInnen am Institut waren und dann auf eine Juniorprofessur berufen wurden.

Man sieht: Das Institut für Soziologie war bis dato sehr erfolgreich in der Ausbildung und Platzierung des akademischen Nachwuchses.

Soziologie - Euiropäische Gesellschaften